Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

LOVELY OTIS RESERVOIR LAKE COTTAGE...

G. Thresher - CyberRentals Member since December 2006

Advertiser since: 2006
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 90 nights

Contact the Owner

G. Thresher - CyberRentals Member since December 2006

Advertiser since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 5, 2014
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

LOVELY OTIS RESERVOIR LAKE COTTAGE...

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 90 nights

Overview

Otis Cottage Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedroom - 1 Full Bath - xtra Vanity/sink/mirror in BR

Charming, totally updated cottage located only 200 steps to our private association sandy beach and picnic area.There is also a small play area and sandbox with toys for the children..The water quality of this Resevoir is unbelievable..Enjoy peaceful water views and tranquil sunsets from the three season sun/screen porch or the open deck..If you have a boat, a private boat mooring is included for your stay..Use of a shared dock for loading/unloading passengers/fishing/sitting etc.is included..This cute cottage is close to all Berkshire attractions, yet located on a dead-end street for your privacy. Renters are always welcome to view property before reserving.

P.S. Rate quotes given by Homeaway are often unreliable..Please email me for the correct rates.Thankyou!

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
G. Thresher - CyberRentals Member since December 2006 (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2006
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 5, 2014

What makes this cottage unique

'Almost waterfront' location limits the direct motorboat/jetski noises and cost of direct waterfront properties.without sacrificing a view of the waterfront and beach area.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 90 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.6
based on 14 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Lovely Otis Reservoir Lake Cottage...
average rating of 4.571429 based on 14 reviews
business
Lovely Otis Reservoir Lake Cottage...
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119271
+1 -+1 8607459237
Otis Berkshires
5

Great place to stay right by the beach.

  • 5 of 5
Just returned from a week at this Otis cottage. We could have easily have stayed longer.The place was really comfortable and we quickly felt very much at home. This is the place for a quiet, peaceful get away.
The porch is a great place to have your morning coffee and look out at the lake. The grill was used often, as well as the picnic table out front which is in the shade after 2 o'clock. Very peaceful sitting on the front lawn.
Great beach right across the street. The water is crystal clear and the bottom is very clean. No muck.
I would definitely consider a return visit to this cottage. My family of 5 felt very at home and really enjoyed our stay.
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Steve!
business
Lovely Otis Reservoir Lake Cottage...
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119271
+1 -+1 8607459237
Otis Berkshires
5

Cozy and comfortable cottage!

  • 5 of 5
We have family in the Otis area and looked online for suitable accomadations for our family of four.We found this on Homeaway(which we have used many times) and contacted Gary the owner for rates and availability.He answered all our questions in a friendly mannor and our checkin,stay and checkout was flawlesss.Our security monies were returned within 5 days.
The cottage was clean and quite comfortable with a great fall view of the Resevoir steps away.My husband used the kayak provided and did some fishing while I went shopping at the nearby Lee Outlet Stores.We visited our family,took some road trips to nearby attractions (dont miss the Norman Rockwell Museum) and overall had a very relaxing and pleasant experience.We will be returning in the Spring and Summer as this was the perfect home away from home!
  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Great to hear from you!
Best,
Gary
business
Lovely Otis Reservoir Lake Cottage...
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119271
+1 -+1 8607459237
Otis Berkshires
5

Wonderful place to vacation!

  • 5 of 5
We made arrangements with the owner over the phone to stay at this cute lakeside cottage located directly accross from a clean private beach.The water quality was the best I had ever experienced.Picnic tables,adirondack chairs,a shared boat dock and a large toy box filled with toys were there for everyones use.
It was the end of the summer season but a hot spell allowed us to
swim alot and catch quite a bit of fish.
The cottage was clean and very suitable for my wife and two children.There was a trunk full of movies to watch and also SAT TV. There are so many things to do within a short drive of Otis Resevoir.
Jacobs Pillow,Tanglewood and the famous town of Stockbridge.Also the Otis Town Library has a free museum upstairs.The whole town had a Mayberry RFD theme to it.
Quite a nice change from the big city!
The only regret we have is that we couldnt stay longer!
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Nice to hear from you Bob!
business
Lovely Otis Reservoir Lake Cottage...
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119271
+1 -+1 8607459237
Otis Berkshires
5

4 North Lake Ave Otis

  • 5 of 5
My family and I had a great time at this rental. It is located right across the street from a nice beach with crystal clear water. While at the cottage, we went to Tolland State Forrest and enjoyed all it had to offer! Cottage was very nice. Plenty of room for a family of four!
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thankyou for sharing your your vacation experience!
Gary
business
Lovely Otis Reservoir Lake Cottage...
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119271
+1 -+1 8607459237
Otis Berkshires
Long Island, New York, USA
1

Dirty, damp, infested with bugs, moldy

  • 1 of 5
Here at the moment - run. This has been a horrible experience for my family. Had originally booked for 2 weeks. First red flag- owner wouldn't accept payment through website unless I paid the fee. He talked a good game so I went ahead. Got a call from owner a month before I got here, owner asked me to leave early as he forgot he had a BBQ planned and then did not want to adjust the price because he said I was no longer eligible for the weekly rate, after he asked me to leave. I offered to stay until Thursday to accommodate him. That was the second red flag. I asked at that point to cancel. Owner left very nasty message on my voicemail and refused to work with me. Third red flag. We arrived yesterday and called owner immediately. The cottage is very dirty, damp, moldy, and outdated. The smell of mold is overpowering. We are sick to our stomachs. Fans and dehumidifiers everywhere so owner is clearly aware of problem. It is infested with fruit flies but owner says he had them all over his house too - that's just the way it is. Then he tried to blame it in the people who just left. The pillows and coverlets are filthy and stained and owner told me he doesn't wash them or the mattress pad. He asked if I thought hotels wash them - yes I do. The property is not what you see in the pictures. They are clearly from years ago. The deck is peeling, the front window broken, walls are stained and damaged, furniture is shabby, dirty and stained. Some of the outdoor furniture is broken and the picnic table has seen better days. The inside hasn't seen a coat of paint in years. I will post photos on main website and will be sending them to Homeaway and Verbo. Boats that are advertised are filthy - can't be used, as is inner tube. There is no place to dispose of trash. Owner would not tell me where the dump is and said I should call town hall. I have asked owner to refund money but am still waiting for a response. Owner does not return calls or texts. Run as fast as you can from this place. Owner says nobody else has ever complained and doesn't know what I'm looking for. I find that very hard to believe. I thought I was coming to a pretty little cottage to stay on a vacation with my family. This owner does not act in good faith. He denied all of this but I have the pictures to prove it. I worked hard to save for a nice vacation and it is so upsetting and disappointing. I wish I had googled his name before I paid my money not after. Bad.
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sadly this bizarre review by someone who voluntarily checked out early
and later demanded a full refund for her remaining days.
She then posted this incredible tale of lies because we do not refund for that situation.
I have been with Homeaway since 2006 without any negative issues.
We have rented to scores of satisfied tenants since then and have many truthful reviews
posted to date.

Thankyou,
Gary
business
Lovely Otis Reservoir Lake Cottage...
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p119271
+1 -+1 8607459237
Otis Berkshires
3

Nice Cottage

  • 3 of 5
I would like to say we did have a very nice time and the property is in a picturesque location. The proximity to the lake was great and the water was crystal clear, just as advertised, and a lot warmer than we were expecting. We really enjoyed use of the row boat and kyack. We caught a ton of fish, which was stated in one of the other reviews and was one of the top reasons why we booked this cottage. The place was small but had everything we needed. However, there were a few things that were missing from the Overview and from the other reviews which are just good to know (not necessarily good or bad):
1) There is no linen service
2) There is no trash removal service, so you have to remove any trash from the premises yourself and you do not have access to the town transfer station
3) The lake was great but it has a rocky bottom, not a sandy bottom as specified in the Overview
4) There are security cameras on the outside of the house
5) The last picture on this site was for a neighboring dock which belongs to another family and is for their private use only
6) We think we saw the other beaches that the Overview mentioned, but none of them were as good as the beach closest to the cottage

Overall we had a very nice time and would consider staying here again.
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your input! However we want to correct that trash can be brought to the Otis transfer station and that the last two pics are indeed
our licensed dock area #4527 which is shared by 3 other families.
Best,
Gary

Map

Nearest Airport
22 Miles
BDL
Nearest Motorway
6 Miles
Rt. 90
Car: recommended

Enjoy Otis Reservoir 1200 acres of absolute pristine water to powerboat, water ski, fish,canoe, or just relax. Cottage has small rowboat boat and kayack for renter's use. A boat mooring and use of a private association beach and dock located directly across the street from the cottage..Waters edge is 200 feet from front doorstep..This is a very peaceful and safe community area for couples or small families.Email for current rates.

Other Activities: power boating, swimming, kayaking,great fishing, fall foilage.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $83 Per night

Otis Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter
Oct 3 2014 - May 16 2015
90 night minimum stay
$2,500
 
 
Summer
Jun 13 2015 - Sep 7 2015
3 night minimum stay
$199
$1,095
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Notes Rental specials for Long Weekends ..Please verify your rates with me as Homeaway calculator is often inaccurate.
Minimum rental fee is $450
No cleaning charge!..Every renter vacating property to leave cottage in clean and ready
to re-rent condition or security is not refunded.
Thankyou!
Credit cards accepted only for last minute reservations..
No refunds on confirmed reservations.
Travel insurance may be purchased through Homeaway.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Otis Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 950 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Bathroom - toilet , Lav sink in BR
    Bathroom - toilet , shower , and sink /vanity
    Half Bathroom -
  • Full compact bathroom includes new fiberglass shower,lav sink/vanity and toilet.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , pull out couch
    Master BR - 1 queen , Comfy temporpedic mattress..
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , Convienent vanity with sink and mirror in bedroom
  • One queen temperpedic bed with SAT TV in master bedroom and window A/C..One double bed w/separate bath sink and vanity in 2nd bedroom..pull out couch in living room. Two easy chairs in screen/sun porch with SAT TV and DVD/VCR player.Chest full of movies to watch.Various board games and movies to watch. Picnic table with umbrella in front yard. 2 Adirondack chairs and beach chairs on property.. small 10' rowboat w/oars and kayak for your use. Tubes/snorkeling/fishing/swimming/boating at beach allowed Picnic tables and childrens sandbox with toys at beach area..Shade and sun on beach area..Enjoy the pristine water quality with no weeds,muck or lilly pads. Otis Resevoir is known for its natural beauty and #1 drinking water quality.Email for other details.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Boat ...
  • Boat Dock
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Sand Box
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 3 garden chairs
  • 3 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • forests
  • live theater
  • museums
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting small game
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Shared Boat dock for loading and unloading and a private powerboat mooring provided, for renters use..Crystal clean water swimming just steps from cottage..Sandy beach.wih no weeds,algae or muck on lake bottom surface..Large sandox and toys for the tots,picnic tables for everyone..Hiking and biking trails minutes away. Power boat rentals across lake at Camp Overflow.A kayak and small rowboat on premises.

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote