Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

BEAUTIFUL MOUNTAIN RETREAT MINUTES TO SKI RESORTS

Lucinda and Kevin Garvey

Advertiser since: 2006
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Owner

Lucinda and Kevin Garvey

Advertiser since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
77%
Calendar last updated:
November 2, 2014
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

BEAUTIFUL MOUNTAIN RETREAT MINUTES TO SKI RESORTS

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Overview

Locust Lake House Rental Photos and Description

3 BR, 2 BA, sleeps 8

Christmas Rental 3nts/4days. $900

NYE Rental 3nts/4days $1300

WIRELESS INTERNET AVAILABLE: . Escape to the Poconos in this beautiful spacious contemporary home, nestled in a wooded community walking distance to the lake.This rustic home features 3 bedrooms, 2 baths, plus a 20x20 sleeping loft equipped with TV/VCR/DVD/ and video library.In addition, the loft offers a Foosball table & X Box System with many games - great entertainment room for children or adults.This home includes cathedral ceilings in the family room with a grand stone fireplace in the family room.The open design of the large upstairs loft, downstairs family room and dining area allows you to entertain your friends and family while enjoying the endless views.The dining room opens to a screened porch overlooking a private wooded area where you can watch the many deer and wildlife that prowl the area.From the porch, stroll onto the peaceful deck were Adirondack chairs await you to relax and absorb the views.

We pride ourselves on giving you all the comforts of home and never having a unhappy customer. (See Comments)...

The Many Amenities Our Home has to Offer!: There are two wonderful features with this home. One includes the oversized loft area upstairs, complete with large sitting area for watching TV/DVD, playing foosball, playing X Box or spreading out on the spacious rug to enjoy the many board games provided. In addition, there are two full size futons for extra sleeping which are very comfortable! The next great feature is our screened porch which opens up to the cedar deck complete with patio furniture and rustic Adirondack chairs on the deck (seasonal). Both areas overlooking the a tranquil wooded haven. When staying at the house we spend most of our time out on the deck with our coffee in morning hours and a glass of wine in the evening hours watching and feeding the deer. It's truly wonderful!

There are four ceiling fans throughout the home which provide plenty of air circulation and keeps the home cool in the summer months.

Many Activities in the Poconos: The Pocono Mountains offers a variety of activities for every season. In the winter, you can visit the nearby ski resorts of Big Boulder/Jack Frost. They offer downhill skiing, snowboarding and tubing for every skill level. Nearby Tannersville offers outlet shopping and Jim Thorpe offers fine dining and quaint shops. For those NASCAR fans, Pocono Raceways in minutes away.

In the summertime, Whitewater rafting and Mountain Biking along the Lehigh River/Gorge is great fun. Horseback riding or Paintball is also close-by for the more adventurous. Hickory Run State Park offers many different hiking trails for every member of the group. Nearby Camelback has the most amazing water park for endless water fun.

Other recreational facilities in the community include: A baseball field, a basketball court, volleyball beach courts, shuffleboard, boccie ball, playground, and picnic areas.

In the fall, the Pocono Mountain foliage is unlike anything your see anywhere. The colors are never ending!

Locust Lake Amenities: This community includes 5 lakes, 3 with white sandy beaches and lifeguards throughout the summer. The home is 3 short blocks from one of the beautiful lakes were you can relax on the beach or canoe/ swim in the lake.

There is a snack bar, playground, and picnic area at each lake. Also during the summer months, the recreation committee has activities planned for almost every day, including arts and crafts. Other activities held throughout the summer include movies, bingo night and teen dances.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Lucinda and Kevin Garvey (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2006
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

Sent to me on May 6 by Craig G.



Did not want to leave your house!! We had a wonderful, relaxing weekend at your home and can't wait to come back again next year. Thanks again for your hospitality!! Your home was very clean and cozy. And what I nice most is we could have a quiet day at the lake, or head out and do one of the many activities around you. Hiking was the best,,,,the views were amazing. Thanks again!
May 2014
  • 1 of 3

Why HomeAway

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.9
based on 44 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Beautiful Mountain Retreat Minutes to Ski Resorts
average rating of 4.909091 based on 47 reviews
business
Beautiful Mountain Retreat Minutes to Ski Resorts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118518
+1 -609 458-8684
Locust Lake Poconos
5

Wonderful location! Great time!

  • 5 of 5
We had family travel from Texas to meet us in this winter wonderland! They had never played in the snow and they had the best weekend! The house was perfect for two families with kids. There was room for everyone and playroom loft could not have been better. The kids hung out and loved their own "space". The owners were helpful from beginning to end (which lasted a little longer because my son left his nintendo ds. Lucinda FOUND IT after much searching and mailed back to us. He was thrilled) . The house was more than comfortable ,the neighborhood was perfect and it's close to everything from restaurants to great skiing. Thanks for the wonderful vacation!
  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Christine! Hope to see you again in the near future!
business
Beautiful Mountain Retreat Minutes to Ski Resorts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118518
+1 -609 458-8684
Locust Lake Poconos
5

Great Fall Weekend!

  • 5 of 5
Had a great time at your cozy Pocono house. Amenities were great and we loved sitting by the fire every night. We cooked one night and grilled the other. We found your home to be very comfortable and in a prime location. Also loved that your home was in a quiet area. Thanks again for your hospitality!!
  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for leaving a response about your stay. We are so glad you had a great weekend and you had great weather! We hope to see you again in the future.
business
Beautiful Mountain Retreat Minutes to Ski Resorts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118518
+1 -609 458-8684
Locust Lake Poconos
5

One of Our Favorite Places!

  • 5 of 5
Hello Lucinda and Kevin
We have been staying at your place for the last 5 years and I have never wrote a review. After reading the last review, I think you just got a bad egg! Ive rented several places over the last 13 years and I've never had the wonderful accommodations your home provides. You make renting very easy and your home is always clean and comfy! We were just there in July for a week and love going back every year. We vacation with two other families. One family stays with us and the other rents down the street. The family down the street is always jealous and wishes they could stay in your place. Just thought I would chime in because I felt that review was WAY off base. See you next year!!
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Linda!! We always love having you and your family at the house. You take such good care of our home. Unfortunately she was a bad egg...my poor cleaning lady did double time after they left. I've been very lucky over the last ten years to have wonderful renters like yourself but every once in awhile you get a tough one...lol. Thanks again for taking the time to write a review. I look forward to seeing you again next year!!

Best Regards
Lucinda
business
Beautiful Mountain Retreat Minutes to Ski Resorts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118518
+1 -609 458-8684
Locust Lake Poconos
1

Sadly Not as Described

  • 1 of 5
This could have been a nice stay, but it had not been cleaned in a while and it was not as described.
There was only one full bath downstairs and a powder room upstairs, not two bathrooms as described.
Toilet paper and paper towels were not provided as per description of property. A used roll of toilet paper downstairs and upstairs and a used roll of paper towels in the kitchen.

The entrance porch, outside porch and enclosed porch had not been cleaned in a while.
Neither was the downstairs carpets either. I had to vacuum them to get the crunch out.
There were cobwebs all over the house and it had a musty damp smell, even after we aired everything out.

The kitchen faucet and bathtub faucet were leaking. There were no oven mitts, one sharp big knife and one small dull paring knife. The two manual can openers were broken.

We did not see a telephone anywhere as described, but the WiFi worked well.

The living room furniture was not the same as in the picture on this site. The guest book was completely full since Feb. 2013.

The activity book was outdated and the posted Association rules as well.
For example, garbage and pick-up of recyclables was every Monday.

I am writing this review this way only because the owners did not even respond to my email. I would not recommend this rental.

After the our kids left, we decided to leave early.
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm very sorry you didn't feel comfortable in our Pocono home. We work very hard to accommodate our renters in every way possible.
As described in our information letter, paper products are not supplied. I do wish I could supply them but it does get very costly. We do however leave enough to get you started.
We do have two bathrooms in the house. One is a full and the other is a half bathroom. The listing does reflect this and we did discuss this on the phone before you rented our home.
There were two oven mitts in the bottom kitchen draw. The knives and can opening were in the utensil draw in working condition. I'm not sure why you had a problem.
We have an excellent cleaning lady but I will pass along your complaints. I must say though we always receive so many positive letters on the cleaning. I've gone up to the house many times after her cleaning and I've always been pleased.
The picture on the website of our livingroom is a little different. We purchased new furniture last year for that room. I'll make sure to update.
Because our home in located in the woods, cobwebs are a never-ending fight! As quick as I sweep them from the porch, they're back up a few days later. Its part of the mountain charm!
In the mountains, businesses come and go every year. I have to update our binder every year.
Unfortunately, I didn't receive your email and if I had, I would have called you immediately to rectify the problem. That's just the way we do business. I do hope we hear from you in the future. Thank you for the feedback...good or bad we want to hear it. This allows us to make changes where they are needed which makes our home that much better!
business
Beautiful Mountain Retreat Minutes to Ski Resorts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118518
+1 -609 458-8684
Locust Lake Poconos
5

Great Weekend!

  • 5 of 5
Hi Lucinda

We had a great time at your mountain house. Perfect location! The house was very nice and comfortable. Thanks for all your help! We will be back again next year.
  • Submitted: May 12, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you had a great time. I look forward to hearing from you next year!
business
Beautiful Mountain Retreat Minutes to Ski Resorts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118518
+1 -609 458-8684
Locust Lake Poconos
Virginia
5

Mountain Living!

  • 5 of 5
Just wanted to say thank you for sharing your mountain retreat with our family. We've been coming to the mountains for 20 years now and I have to say...your home was the nicest! Never stayed in LLV before and just loved it. Best community we ever stayed in. Thanks so much for being such a great sport and helping us out with our little problem. I dont think any another owner would of done what you guys did for us. We promise to be back next year!!
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hello Rachel

We are so glad you had a nice time at our mountain home. It was certainly a pleasure working with you. We look forward to hearing from you again next year!

Lucinda Garvey

Map

Map

Nearest Beach
0.2 Miles
Locust Lake
Car: necessary

Locust Lake has a perfect locate to all activities and attractions. This property is conveniently 10 minutes away from Jack Frost/Big Boulder Ski Resort, Split Rock Lodge & Galleria (movie theater, bowling, miniature golf, golf course, arcade & movie rental, Comedy Club & fine dining) In addition, Camelback Ski/Water Park, Pocono Raceway, Horseback Riding, Paint ball, whitewater rafting, golfing and outlet shopping are all within 10-20 minutes away. Great festivals are held throughout the year that are well worth investigating (Blues fest, Beer fest, Wine fest, etc.). Split Rock Resort Water Park and a the new Jack Frost Golf Club are ten minutes from the house.

This village is adjacent to a main highway, Route 940, only 5 miles from Route 80 and 10 miles from the Northeast Extension of the Pennsylvania Turnpike. It is close to a shopping center containing an excellent food market and a variety of stores and great restaurants.

Other Activities: Horseshoes, Volleyball, Badminton, foosball table, XBox, hiking, deer watching, outlet shopping, water park, skiing, horse racing, paint ball, golfing, horseback riding, atv rental

Photos

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rates & Availability

From $230 Per night

Locust Lake House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall
Oct 5 2014 - Dec 7 2014
2 night minimum stay
$230
$750
 
 
Winter
Dec 13 2014 - Mar 8 2015
2 night minimum stay
$275
$800
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$250
$850
 

Additional information about rental rates

Notes $500 - $850
Fall Season:
Sept - Nov $500 (Friday-Sunday)
$800/week

Winter Season: (non-holiday)
$550/ 2nights
$625/ 3nights
$700/ 4nights
$900/week

President's weekend. 2/14-2/17 $800. ($100 additional night)

Mid-Week Winter Specials! $500(any 2 nights Mon-Thurs) flexible check-in/out

New Year's Eve $1200 (3days/2nights $400 security deposit )


Spring Season:
April - May
$500/week
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Amenities

Locust Lake House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake ...
  • Mountain ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 9 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , downstairs
    Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , upstairs
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Upstairs Bedroom - 1 queen , large room with bathroom
    Bedroom - 1 queen , very comfortable room
    Bedroom - 3 twin/ single , bunk bed and twin
    Loft - 1 double , 1 sleep sofa /futon , over sized loft with plenty of space to add sleeping
  • The cottage has three wall-to-wall carpeted bedrooms, all with new comforters, pillows, alarm clocks and extra blankets in each closet. The upstairs master bedroom has a country feeling with a comfortable queen bed, lighted ceiling fan and private bathroom. The second bedroom, decorated in sea green with a deer theme has a queen bed, ceiling fan and large closet. The third bedroom has bunk beds and an additional single bed for relaxing or sleeping. This home also features a large loft/recreation area with 2 full futons for extra comfort and sleeping.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Ski & Snowboard
  • Tennis
  • Tennis Court
  • Wood Deck
  • 8 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting big game
  • hunting small game
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
2 queen beds, 1 twin, 1 set of bunk beds, 2 full futon, 2 bathrooms, Complete Activity Book w/numbers and locations of area attractions, screen porch w/patio furniture, outside deck w/Adirondack chairs, seasonal barbacue, professional Foosball table, X Box System w/games, 2 large TV sitting areas, DVD/VCR, video/DVD library, iron & board, full service kitchen w/ blender, hand mixer, toaster, microwave, coffeemaker, picnic table w/horseshoe pit, ceiling fans and stationary fans in all rooms, new comforters and pillows in all rooms, board games for all ages, gas BBQ grill, local telephone service, washer & dryer, plenty of parking, large private corner lot, very clean home.

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote