GARDEN, HAS TUBES, KAYAKS, SLIDE, ROPE SWING..NO OTHER HOME LIKE IT!!!

Nancy Loomis

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Contact the Owner

Nancy Loomis

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

GARDEN, HAS TUBES, KAYAKS, SLIDE, ROPE SWING..NO OTHER HOME LIKE IT!!!

Helen Cabin Rental Photos and Description

easy access to river, trophy trout, feather padded beds,3 kayaks, 6 tubes

Easy access to river no steep steps or driveways to river

Now with your private slide into the river

Easy Access to River ::: be careful, some homes have very steep banks to river.

GREAT FISHING very private

4 WELL MAINTANED KAYAKS: some have kayaks and canoes but do not guarantee their condition.

We even help you transport them for a small fee, 1st transport is free with a 4 night rental or more..

We live on same street as rental and are HERE to help you in anyway we can. We pride ourselves on our homes being clean and well maintained. We are not a management company like most rentals on this site, who just don't care about you or the property.(been told this by my renters!) We check our cottages often to keep them well maintained and our goal is for you to have a relaxing time during your stay. We are ALWAYS here to help you.

Come to the North Georgia mountains near Helen like it use to be. No crowds, very quiet.

Lots of wildlife, deer, turkey, beavers, and all kinds of birds and bunnies!!

VERY CLEAN Rental cabin

Large flat screen TV in living area.

The Garden Cottage rental on the River is a farmhouse style cottage is on 16 acres and is quiet w/ lots of wildlife.

Summer months in North Ga. Mountains are filled with family fun! So much to do at the cabin you may never leave. Spoil yourself with ultra-thick feather padded beds. Snuggle in the hammock on the huge porches overlooking the river! It has a large hot tub on screened in porch. Kayaks and private tube run, rope swings etc..

FREE::: 4 Kayaks, 6 Tubes, slide behind home, Rope Swing at end of small tube run in our backyard, for our guests only

To See a VIRTUAL TOUR of this home click on the web-link at the bottom of the page.

WONDERFUL WINERIES ALL AROUND US TO TOUR

This home has its own slide into the river behind the home

You will not find a cleaner home rental in this area!!

We supply all those things you normally have to buy with other rentals, laundry soap, toilet paper, elect dish soap, etc..We want our guests to relax not have to worry about the little things.

Fireplace in Living room and Master Bedroom

The Garden Cottage is more upscale then most homes for rent in this area & is decorated in an old farmhouse style inside with boarded walls & high ceilings. French doors in every room open up to the huge porches with river views. 6 tubes are supplied in the warmer months. We even have a tube run, rope swing ,slide & ..great swimming area.

There is a large flat rock to sit on in middle of river right in front of this cottage, perfect for lounging in the river. Wildlife comes daily and you can watch the deer and wild turkey in your backyard (not to mention Marshmallow the bear, who makes an appearance now and then). The cottage's land is length-ways on the river so you have over 1000' on the riv

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • Singles
  • Groups
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
Nancy Loomis (Owner)
Advertiser since 2003
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

Guestbook comments from the owner

Property Testimonials



Rating: 1 5 : 5 being best

By: Cindy & Marc Trestman

Loved the accommdations! Very Clean and very nicely decorated in a very cozy fashion. The screened in porch made it very comfortable to relax every day and night. reading and taking a jacuzzi! Our children also enjoyed it especially the smores we had at the fire pit over looking the very scenic river!

Service: 5 Value: 5 Atmosphere: 5 Overall: 5





By: Jo Ann Morris

We had a great time at Nana''s River Cottage. The deer came through the yard everyday and the river is so peaceful. North Ga. Mts. are very beautiful. The owners made our stay comfortable and enjoyable.

Service: 5 Value: 5 Atmosphere: 5 Overall: 5





By: Leni & Tom Weber

All we can say is WOW! We love it here! Very Clean! Lots of fun! We will be back!

Service: 5 Value: 5 Atmosphere: 5 Overall: 5





By: Julia & Luis Valenzuela

Peaceful, tranquil and beautiful. This is the place you can take a long nap on the porch and enjoy the sounds of nature. Or, if you want to go tubing, canoeing or fishing, it''s all there! The cottage is absolutely beautiful! This is the kind of place you dream about. We are looking forward to going back, and staying longer next time!( even saw a bear during there stay!, which is now named Marshmellow)

Service: 5 Value: 5 Atmosphere: 5 Overall: 5





By: Cheryl Knight

I have to say we absolutely loved this cabin, it was way beyond our expectations as the pictures just dont do it justice! (and we are VERY picky) The porches were awesome and huge with lots of comfortable sitting areas where we spent literally hours and hours hanging out in the fresh air and talking. My husband loved the fishing and we made a fire in the fire pit and made smores in the evenings after dinner! The beds are amazingly comfortable (which is rare for us to find) and we slept like babies after all that fresh mountain air! Helen was a hop-skip and a jump away, so we were surpised how peaceful and secluded the property was. Truly a pleasure and we can''t wait to go back for another trip! Thank you Nancy for your wonderful hospitatlity and your truly amazing cabin! -Cheryl, Scott, Stephanie and Kevin! Cheryl had written to me (Nancy) in an e-mail the following: We absolutely loved the cabin...it was way beyond my expectations and it was immaculate! The porches were amazing and I loved all your decorator touches and the details
Dec 2004
  • 1 of 1

Why HomeAway

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.9
based on 47 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Garden, has tubes, kayaks, slide, rope swing..no other home like it!!!
average rating of 4.9148936 based on 47 reviews
business
Garden, has tubes, kayaks, slide, rope swing..no other home like it!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118047
+1 706 219-4007
Helen North Georgia Mountains
Helen, Ga. USA
5

Nana's cottage

Nana's cottage
  • 5 of 5
We recently stayed in the cottage over the July 4th weekend. We had a great time, it is in a perfect location. We were able to tube right out of our back door. The guys fished with the kids as well. It was not crowded, we were able to tube with the smaller kids without any problems. She has everything you need there, just bring food. We Were planning on going into Helen for fireworks, but were enjoying ourselves so much, we opted not too.
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Garden, has tubes, kayaks, slide, rope swing..no other home like it!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118047
+1 706 219-4007
Helen North Georgia Mountains
4

The Garden cottage was clean and comfortable.

  • 4 of 5
My family of four stayed here comfortably for 4 nights in August 2014. The owners were friendly and handled rental business affairs professionally and to our satisfaction. The listing description was accurate with everything in good working order. The cottage was clean and overall exceeded our expectations. My wife loved that all we basically needed to bring was our clothes and food.

The river access was great and we really enjoyed tubing the river. Kayaks were used less, but nice to have. One of four kayaks had a broken seat that owner mentioned would be repaired soon. This was not a problem for us as we enjoyed leisurely tubing more. The campfire circle has great roomy bench seating around it. We look forward to returning some day hopefully in the not too distant future!
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you liked it here and would love to have you back..
Being at the end of a long summer with people using the kayaks all the time there is always some damage to them, we try to keep up but we had trouble finding the seat back to this kayak. The problem with the seat back was someone broke the plastic backing, the seat pad was still there and the kayak still was usable. Just the back moved around if you were not sitting in it.
.After a long search we finally did find the new back to the kayak and it came in end of last week. So will be fixed this week.
business
Garden, has tubes, kayaks, slide, rope swing..no other home like it!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118047
+1 706 219-4007
Helen North Georgia Mountains
St Pete Beach, FL
5

WONDERFUL VACATION

  • 5 of 5
Stayed at the Garden Cottage for 10 nights. Couldn't be any cleaner. Nancy & Robert pretty much thought of everything to make you comfortable when they built this cabin. The decks are close to 60 feet long. First floor with large hot tub is screened, second floor with bedrooms is not screened. Great idea with both decks.
Plenty to keep you busy here, in and out of the river. Fishing was good even in this warm weather.
Nancy & Robert were great to deal with. Robert even went kayaking with us. Just can't go wrong staying at the Garden Cottage.
Thanks Nancy & Robert for everything. Again we had a great time.
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Garden, has tubes, kayaks, slide, rope swing..no other home like it!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118047
+1 706 219-4007
Helen North Georgia Mountains
5

Absolutely Loved the Cottage

  • 5 of 5
We can't wait to go back to the cottage! Upon arrival, we were very impressed by how clean and beautiful the property was. There is easy access to the house as well as to the river. I noticed many of the properties on the river had a great deal of steps to access the river and very steep driveways....we were thankful that the Garden was just right given that I have twin 3 years and an 8 year old. There is endless fun at the cottage!! The boys loved the slide and tubing as well as jumping into the hot tub after a swim in the river! I enjoyed kayaking as well as the peace and family memories that were made playing by the river and roasting marshmallows by the fire pit. We enjoyed all the discoveries we made outside from seeing baby birds being hatched to little caterpillars and lighting bugs. I must also mention how much the boys and I loved Yonah....such a sweet little mountain dog (Nancy owns him and takes good care of him, but he loves the outdoors :-) ). Nancy was very kind and I enjoyed talking to her if I had a question. Nancy provided a great deal of information on the surrounding area, including how to get to the grocery store which I found very helpful. We will be visiting again and we highly recommend the cottage!! :-)
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Garden, has tubes, kayaks, slide, rope swing..no other home like it!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118047
+1 706 219-4007
Helen North Georgia Mountains
Longboat Key, Florida
5

A Perfect North Georgia Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
My wife and I had a terrific two week stay at the Cottage in May. We had a wonderful time and found everything to be in perfect order. We have a property on VRBO and appreciate a well maintained rental! We would definitely recommend Nan's.
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Garden, has tubes, kayaks, slide, rope swing..no other home like it!!!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118047
+1 706 219-4007
Helen North Georgia Mountains
3

Great Fishing!

  • 3 of 5
I am sure we are the only negative reviewers ever-we will totally own it. I am not sure if there was just a massive amount of smoking going on before we arrived but the house smelled like smoke. Luckily our last two days were warm enough and we could open the doors and get the air moving about. It was kind of hard relaxing with all of the notes...on what NOT to do. I felt a bit stressed and micromanaged. All of the dishes were put away dirty. Each time I would pull out a plate or bowl they were caked with old food. The margarita glasses are full of lipstick marks-luckily we do not drink;). The wreath above the queen bed is coated in dust- a lot of sneezing was done. Hammock upstairs has a hole in it. Just stuff that looks like it hasn't been loved in a bit. We also inheritted a dog while we were there. Sweet guy-he just freaked our three year old out a bit. He seemed lonely, followed us about, slept on the porch, sat with us by the fire pit. So if you are afraid of dogs (even though he is completely friendly) it might be a thing to consider. The fishing is spot on although the foliage makes it difficult. We tried the owners property once-gorgeous, by the way, but the neighbor down the river was unloading blue tarp fulls of leaves and brush from his yard into the water (I have pictures) fishing was impossible. The beds are cozy, the bathrooms are super clean. A few of the kitchen items could be replaced-cutting boards are severely shredded, cookie sheets, spoons etc...also we have a six month old who gets rocked to sleep, happy to see rocking chairs--but they are VERY VERY fragile. We fell in love with the river and I must say that is what this place has to offer. Gorgeous pristine water. Enjoyed watching otters and roosting turkey. I am torn about our indoor experience, however.
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: I’m so sorry you had a disappointing time! If you would have talked to me when you noticed these things we would have had the housekeeper come and fix it. I got an e-mail from u 3 days after u checked in to ask about fishing tips?? U never mentioned there was a problem?..1)There is NO SMOKING in the home. The last people at the cottage were my friends & non-smokers. No one was in the cottage for over 3 weeks before u came in? So no one was smoking in the home before u, not sure what you were smelling! I did notice when I cleaned it after u that someone had moved the logs in the master bedroom and they had burnt..maybe this I what you were smelling? 2) micro managing? Not sure what you are talking about here, We ask renters not to go on others property or make noise as respect for the neighbors & there r notes telling renters how to use things to help them. You are the 1st guest to say this? 3) Unfortunately some renters will put back dishes that did not become clean in dishwasher from time to time, instead of leaving them out so we can re-wash them. We do try to check this & sorry this was missed before your stay. 4) I noticed the wreath when I cleaned after you, (I had been in Fl. a few weeks) & took it down and washed it, this was taken care of before I ever read the review 6) The cutting boards are in very good shape, I even called & asked the renter that is there now , right after your stay, to see if they were ok!!. She said they are fine? 7) The hammock did have a huge hole in it, I checked it after the review. But up until you, no one told us about it. We have extras at our home down the street, so if you had let us know we would have replaced it for you asap. 6) Yonah, the dog you are talking about, is our dog!!! Very friendly and in fact if you read the reviews in the book at the home everyone loves him, he likes to visit with renters, sorry he was a problem for you. 7) There is a law about the river and a VERY high penalty for cutting the banks of it. This is to protect the quality of the water & keep the river cool enough for the fish & wildlife that it supports. We would never destroy the banks of the river for any reason. If you were a fisherman you would know that all good trout streams have untouched banks. This is why we have 7-8 lb trout in the backyard. 8) Rocking chairs are NOT fragile, one has arms that wiggle, has been like this since we got it, they won't break! Again,we are truly sorry your experience wasn't a good one.
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
100 Miles
Atlanta
Car: necessary

Tribute to Elvis, The Appalachian Trail, Alpine Helen, Unicoi State Park, Cabbage Patch-Baby Land General, waterfalls, gold museum, Historic Dahlonega.

Hiking, rock climbing, biking, golf, tennis, fitness center, gym, miniature golf, amusement parks, fishing, hunting, wildlife viewing, horseback riding, shopping, restaurants, live theater, cinemas, museums, sightseeing, swimming, boating, water-skiing, windsurfing, jet skiing, white water rafting, tubing, kayaking, sightseeing, boating, so much to see in our area.

Other Activities: white water rafting, Kayaking and canoeing, tubing..

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Helen Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
summer
May 15 2015 - Sep 14 2015
4 night minimum stay
$265
$1,700
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$225
From
$225
Thu,Fri,Sat
$1,505
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $650
Pet Fee $0
Tax Rate 12.0%
Notes There is a 3% fee for using a credit card.
Pet fee is $50-$150 depending type of pet and size
Cleaning fee is $85-$110 depending on how many are staying
We limit the rental to 7 persons max.
We supply limited transportation for kayaks to/from drop in point or take out, there is a limit depending om length of stay.

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Helen Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Mountain ...
  • River ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Family
  • Away From It All
  • Adventure
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Filtered Water
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Laundry Soap
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Shampoo
  • Basic Soaps
  • Toilet Paper
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Wireless Internet
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Sofa Bed
  • Internet
  • Sunbed
  • Free Long Distance
  • Free Local Calls
  • Baby Gate
  • Split-System Heating
  • Floorboards
  • Split-System Air Conditioning
  • Ducted Heating
  • Ducted Cooling
Kitchen:
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Stove
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen
  • Grill
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Microwave
  • Blender
  • Ice Maker
  • Pantry Items
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    2nd Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom - toilet , Sink
    Outside - outdoor shower
  • Bathrooms are done in a farm house style.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king , Feather padded beds
    Bedroom - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , Feather padded queen bed
    Living Area - 1 sleep sofa /futon , sleeper sofa
  • All main beds have feather padded beds, feather pillows and up-scale500-600 count linens.
Entertainment:
  • Television ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • CD Player
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
Outside:
  • Beach Towels
  • Small Cooler
  • Balcony
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Yard
  • Deck Furniture
  • Porch Furniture
  • Wood Deck
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
Suitability:
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • Singles
  • Groups
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • forests
  • live theater
  • coin laundry
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • walking
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • bird watching
  • horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • photography
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • spelunking
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • hunting
  • golf
  • water skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • rafting
  • mountain climbing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting big game
  • hunting small game
  • jet skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Free long distance phone calls in con.US only and wifi Large flat screen TV in living area Upgraded feather padded beds/linens, 2 fireplaces, DVD library, Showtime/Stars, ice maker, gas grill, tubes, w/tube run, great swimming area, Great fishing on property, 5-7 lb. trout, bass and brim.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Email Owner Contact Me