Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

SECLUDED UNIQUE NATURAL VACATION HOUSE

Murray family

Advertiser since: 2006
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Murray family

Advertiser since: 2006
Speaks: english
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

SECLUDED UNIQUE NATURAL VACATION HOUSE

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

Overview

Chilmark House Rental Photos and Description

Two bedrooms, two lofts, fold-out couch: sleeps 8

Located at end of a dead-end dirt road on 1.5 acres with tall pines and oaks. Modified saltbox, owner designed & built in 1978 for potential active solar. First floor has a large country kitchen, living room, bathroom with antique claw foot bathtub & w/d, & 2 decks. Second floor has 2 bedrooms with hand-made bed frames & highest quality futon mattresses. Third level has 2 sleeping lofts with double mattress & queen futon on floors. Natural wood, wood beams, oak & long leaf yellow hard pine floors, natural white plaster walls, 8 antique stained glass & leaded glass windows, French doors, & 2 small opening skylights. Comfortable antique-style furnishings, picnic table, charcoal grill, outside hot and cold enclosed shower, wood stove, & phone. Supplied with natural laundry, hand soap, & cleaning products. No interior paint, Formica, & plastic.

Ocean side of South Rd. Ten minutes drive to the very desirable Lucy Vincent Beach.

Includes cleaning.

Lower rates because of some unfinished aspects.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Murray family (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2006
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english

Why HomeAway

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

Secluded Unique Natural Vacation House
average rating of 1.0 based on 1 reviews
business
Secluded Unique Natural Vacation House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p117303
+1 -6178683018
Chilmark Martha's Vineyard
Los Angeles
1

bugs and mice

  • 1 of 5
I rented this house in July for 11 days and and left after two. To make a long story short the house is in terrible shape and has bugs; large ants and sow bugs that look like little armadillos that were all over the walls and foor. I must have seen 30 to 50 of the sow bugs on the last night I stayed there, and countless ants over the two days. There are holes in the walls, I have photos, and we saw a mouse crawl into one on our last night. I have a two year old child and felt that the house was in too bad of shape and invested with pests to stay. I wish I could post pictures on this site. To be fair the owners told me it was an unfinsihd house and had structural problems and I accepetd the lack of doorknobs, rotting wood on the decks, broken plumbing etc. (I have photos) In the end it was the pests that drove us out. When I called to ask for refund the owners wanted to come and fix the the problem, which seemed absurd to me, what were me and my family to do while they tried to get rid of the bugs and mice? I asked for a refund and received none. I don't know what else to say. The owners seem to think my experience was acceptable, that there are bugs and mice in the woods (there house is in the woods.) I do not agree and feel it is unaccptable to rent this house in the condition it is in.
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our house was rented for 11 days to this tenant with his acceptance of the following:
•Some interior unfinished aspects (cosmetic, not structural) (Our low rent per week for Chilmark reflects this.)
•Two exterior windowsills and a few shingles need replacing. (The work had been postponed due to a death in our family.)
•The bathroom sink hot water faucet suddenly needed replacing. (We gave him a $100 discount.)

When we called him after he arrived, he said that everything was fine. We never did get a call from this tenant with a complaint. After two days he instead sent us an email. By the time we saw it and called him right away, he had already left. He did not want a solution. He would not allow us to remedy the situation.
His email stated that he could live with the house, but not with the sow bugs and the mouse.

We told him that the sow bugs only eat vegetation, carry no diseases, are harmless to humans, and apparently temporarily came into the house because of torrential rains. We confirmed this with the Chilmark Board of Health. He informed us that he saw one mouse only once and never saw any mouse droppings.

Despite our pleadings to arrive the day after and immediately fix the sow bug and mouse situation, he insisted that he would not consider that option.

No tenants before or after this tenant have seen any insects, mice or mouse droppings, nor has our weekly cleaning person. After this tenant left, before anyone else arrived, someone considering a future rental looked at our house. We told him what this tenant had said so he and his wife actually searched for mice, mouse droppings, sow bugs, and ants; they still found nothing.

This tenant said that we must think it is acceptable to have insects and mice in our house. We never thought such a thing and we told him so.

This tenant had 3 relatives with 3 different houses on the Vineyard and, when he left our house after 1 weekend, he told us that he was staying there. Renting our house in Chilmark allowed him access to Lucy Vincent Beach, the most beautiful town beach on the island. He did not return the sticker to the town hall until we requested it a week later. Despite this he wanted all of his rent returned.

We have been renting our house for 35 years, have many returning tenants every year, and no tenant this summer either before or after this tenant had anything but praise for our house.

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
4 Miles
Edgartown Airport
Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
Oak Bluffs or Edgartown
Nearest Ferry
5 Miles
Steamship Authority
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Oak Bluffs Golf Course
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Home Port
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Lucent Vincent Beach
Car: recommended

Renters in Chilmark are allowed to purchase a sticker to use Lucy Vincent Beach and Squibnockett Beach. Lucy Vincent Beach is the most desirable beach on Martha's Vineyard. It has fine white sand, clay cliffs behind the beach, and access to Chilmark Pond which is great for swimming and children. The beach itself drops off gradually so that the waves roll in and it is possible to body surf. This is very different from the beaches in Edgartown such as Katama and South Beach where the waves crash at the edge of the water and it is necessary to either be in the water or out of it. It is a ten minute drive to Chilmark's Menemsha Beach where people go to watch beautiful sunsets on the water.

Photos

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rates & Availability

From $1,575 Per week

Chilmark House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Base Rate
7 night minimum stay
$1,575
 

Additional information about rental rates

Fees And Taxes August weeks are $1575. July rates are $1550. Rates for June, September, and October are less. Please call for the rate for a specific week.
Notes August 30 to September 6 and September 6 to September 13 available at a significantly reduced rate!!! Please call for lowered rate.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Book It Now or updated calendars.

Amenities

Amenities

Chilmark House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Laundry Soap
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Lobster Pot
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
2 queens, 2 full. Very secluded & private.

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote