1890S VICTORIAN COTTAGE, 1 BLOCK FROM THE BEACH

Ken

Advertiser since 2004
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay nights

Contact the Owner

Ken

Advertiser since 2004
Speaks english
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

1890S VICTORIAN COTTAGE, 1 BLOCK FROM THE BEACH

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay nights

Overview

Overview

Avon-by-the-Sea Cottage Rental Photos and Description

2+ Bedrooms/2 Bathrooms (Sleeps 5)

This Victorian Seashore cottage has been standing 1000 ft. from the Atlantic Ocean since approx. 1880. It has all the modern amenities and was totally redecorated within the last 2 years. One of its most enjoyable features is the patio and side yard adjacent to the newly installed french doors of the dining room. The front porch is surrounded by lush plantings to give a cozy feeling while curled up with a book as the rest of the world passes by. The first floor has a bright living room (with TV and home theater system), a newly redone and well equipped kitchen (microwave oven, coffeemaker, etc.), a comfortable dining room with large french doors opening onto the side yard, and a full bath. Up the stairway is a very bright, roomy master bedroom (w/ king-size bed that can be separated into 2 searate twins), a half bath, a 2nd bedroom w/ double bed and a mid-bedroom with a captain's twin bed. There is also a large outdoor shower, a charcoal grill, washer/dryer, and air-conditioning.

This cottage has a homey, comfortable feeling, like the old seashore homes had in an earlier time. The little town of Avon is full of architectural gems and has a wonderfully old-fashioned boardwalk where people jog, stroll, or sit and watch the ocean from early morning until night but is not busy with commercial establishments or hustle and bustle. All forms of water sports (surfing, boating, and fishing) are available as are nearby golfing, tennis, live music, theater, and fine dining. In this family-oriented town the beach is white sand and very clean with an excellent surf. A pretty lake with swans defines one end of Avon while the Shark River defines the other end. It's a 5 block walk inland to town and minutes drive to larger shopping centers.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Ken (Owner)
Advertiser since 2004
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

1890s Victorian Cottage, 1 Block from the Beach
average rating of 3.5 based on 2 reviews
business
1890s Victorian Cottage, 1 Block from the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p116807
+1 -908 464-0486
Avon-by-the-Sea Jersey Shore
Brooklyn, NY
5

Perfect Vacation Spot

  • 5 of 5
We just got back from a four-night stay at this lovely beach house. It was our first house rental and was a delightful experience. The house is exactly as pictured: gorgeous landscaping outside and a cheerful decor inside.

It is small—650 square feet—but well designed and worked well for our group of two adults and three children, ages 2, 3, and 9. The outdoor space off the kitchen helped make it more spacious.

The location is perfect, just a block from the beach on a quiet street.

The owners were quite accommodating. They left out some toddler toys since they knew we had kids, and were flexible with out check-in/check-out times and were always happy to answer questions.

Although there is no parking included with the house, we had no trouble finding street parking, even in the middle of the day.

The kitchen was fully equipped, and even had such extras as a basket of lobster picks and crackers.

A very comfortable, pretty house that made for an ideal family vacation.
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
1890s Victorian Cottage, 1 Block from the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p116807
+1 -908 464-0486
Avon-by-the-Sea Jersey Shore
2

Disappointed

  • 2 of 5
Very misleading and a poor value for the cost. Very little provided- we were charged for electricity, internet access and we had to buy our own toilet paper. I have had better service in a cheap hotel by a highway and this was considerably more money than that. The location was great but overall the experience was disappointing.
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We had been unaware of this review until recently since we have always gotten such positive verbal reports on the property (for 12 years), so never thought to look at this section. It is quite a puzzling review because when we spoke to this individual while she was in the cottage, the response was entirely positive; they loved the place, the decor, the location, how clean it was, no problems or complaints at all. It was apparently a month later when she saw the electric charge ($13.05) that this burst of fury occurred but she chose not to contact us, complain, or ask for any resolution. It seems deeply sad and unfair that someone can smear another's unblemished reputation and not even mention any complaints so one has no chance to resolve this issue..

Further confusion results from the fact that all charges are reviewed and agreed to before the stay ( and in print in the contract that she signed). Again why wouldn't she have mentioned any objection at that time or when we called to find out how the stay was going? We could easily handle the very minimal electric charge by raising the rent of everyone by that amount but have resisted doing so because it seems unfair to charge everyone the same amount when some people leave the AC on with windows/doors open and others are so careful and considerate, so we go to the extra trouble of having the meter checked at beginning and end of each visit.

Regarding the toilet paper and comparison to a cheap hotel. Well, a rental home is NOT a hotel (we also don't supply bed linens, towels, or room service) and since people are told what is supplied and what is not, this is the first time anyone EVER confused us with a hotel. Although most rental homes don't supply paper goods, I actually do make a point of leaving extras at the beginning of the season that I think would be helpful (i.e. dish soap, paper towels, scrubbies, clingwrap, toilet paper) but have no control of what is available or whether people replace it by late July when this person rented. Our cleaners do an excellent job but it would be unrealistic to expect them to do shopping during the Sat. change-over.

So, I guess if someone wants to smear another without ever talking to them directly or, in fact, praises the place over the phone while here but writes something of this sort online, this lady has succeeded but I hope this explanation will allow people to decide if her complaints make any sense.

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Newark
Nearest Beach
300 Metres

Avon-by-the-Sea is a small seashore village that is very quiet, safe, and friendly but also very close to major travel attractions. It's a rare situation when you can be biking along quiet seaside streets and then drive a mile and get on a train for New York City with all its exciting cultural events and every form of entertainment (there is also a high speed ferry that goes into NYC from a port 30 min. from Avon). We find the contrast delightful, it feels like the best of both worlds. 20 minutes inland brings you to N.J.'s horse racing at Monmouth Racetrack while 20 minutes in another direction leads to Seven Flags/Great Adventure Amusement Park. Gambling casinos and world class entertainers can be seen in Atlantic City (1 hour), The Garden State Performing Arts Center is 1 hour, historic Philadelphia 'Birthplace of the Constitution' is 1. 5 hours drive and the lovely college town of Princeton is 1 hour away as are the lovely Johnson Sculpture Gardens.

Photos

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rates & Availability

Avon-by-the-Sea Cottage Rental Rates

Notes

  • $5000-$9800/month
  • 2009:
    $5000/month, $1,600/wk (June)
    $9800/month, $2,800/wk (July)
    $9800/month, $2,800/wk (August)

    September 2009 and beyond - Contact us for rates
Available
Unavailable
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Book It Now or updated calendars.

Amenities

Amenities

Avon-by-the-Sea Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Floor Area:
  • 650 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom - toilet
    Outdoor - outdoor shower
    Bathroom -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • 1 king, 1 full, 1 twin, 1 sleep sofa.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote