Sherry Rich

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Bedrooms 5
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Contact the Owner

Sherry Rich

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


Big Boulder House Rental Photos and Description

5 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 12 Comfortably! Large 2 story home

We have air conditioning!

NEW: DVR Capability...don't miss that football game, movie or show to go shopping. Record it and watch it when you return to the house.


LARGE house, five bedrooms with queen and/or full size beds, two baths. Two-story home with cathedral ceilings, sleeps 12 comfortably.

On each level: living room with queen size sleeper sofas, love seat and chairs, digital cable TVs with VCRs and CD players, DVD players. Telephones, radios, large front deck with large picnic table, large private back deck off master bedroom. Beautiful stone fireplace (upper level) & wood burning stove (lower level). Water filtering system. Electric heat with separate thermostats in each room for your individual comfort.

Kitchen: Fully equipped. Flat surface stove, refrigerator, dishwasher, blender, coffee maker, large electric griddle, washer & dryer, iron, large microwave. Large counter top with bar stool chairs (4).

Dining room: large trestle table with captain's and mate's chairs (8).

Recreation room: Pool table & Foosball game. 5 sets of slider doors for views of the woods and wildlife. 3 miles from Big Boulder area and 5 miles from Jack Frost WHERE H2O WATER PARK IS LOCATED, 20/25 minutes to Camelbeach at Camelback ski area. Near the Outlet Mall -20-25 miles to casinos at Mt.Airy.

200 Acre lake with beach, clubhouse with video game room and pooltables, snack bar, playground, tennis courts, basket ball court.

Great for Get-Togethers/Family Reunions: Stay In Touch..

This house is beautiful and very large which makes it very comfortable. A great place for your family and friends reunion or multiple family get-togethers. Everyone has plenty of space to share time and enjoy. Relaxing environment yet lots of fun activities close by.

Minutes to Hickory Run State Park for hiking and biking and paintball. Great restaurants and near to Outlet Mall as well as quaint little shops to find that 'one-of-a-kind' special something in Jim Thorpe (14 miles away). Casino at Mount Airy Lodge is just 35 minutes away.

Horseback riding is close by and we are close (4 miles) to white water rafting and skirmish and paintball as well.

Quiet and Relaxed Atmosphere in a heavily wooded area: Our house is close to Hickory Run State Park where there are hiking trails, biking trails and beautiful flora and fauna. We are close to Penn's Peak Entertainment Center and Roadies Restaurant, Near Pocono Raceway. Come on over to our house for your get-away vacation.

Something for everyone to do or just relax/enjoy.

More Details
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Sherry Rich (Owner)
Advertiser since 2005
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 5
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.



based on 13 traveler reviews

Write a Review
average rating of 4.1538463 based on 13 reviews
+1 610 623-5359
Big Boulder Lake Harmony Area

Ideal Vacation

  • 5 of 5
My family and I have vacationed at this spot for several years this week was one of our best. The home has always been clean, neat and well maintained each and every time we have rented. We love the beach area, and the play area for our grandchildren was delightful. The home owners have gone out of their way to see that we were completely satisfied. the recommendations they provided for restaurants and other activities were very helpful.
We are so looking forward to returning next year and we would highly recommend this property to our family and friends without hesitation.
Thank you for a great time.
EB, Lancaster, PA
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
+1 610 623-5359
Big Boulder Lake Harmony Area

House met needs - Good Owner Communication

  • 5 of 5
When searching for a place for my wife, friends, I to stay over President's day weekend, we were looking for a place that could accomodate 11 people, had wi-fi, the normal kitchen amenities, had recreational amenities, and was close to the slopes (we went to Camelback). This place met all those needs and was a far better rate than anything else I had found in the area. I was a bit hesitant after reading the previous review regarding pests, but I called Sherry prior and shave be the rundown of what occured. That said, I should mention that none of us saw any rodents, which was actually surprising as it was absolutely FREEZING outside.

I give our stay 5 stars because the only things that I could possibly complain about are aesthetic. The home is outdated as far as decor and the pool table could use some attention, but I knew that going into it from the pictures. Everything we wanted was there and the Owner (Sherry) even warmed the place up before we got there which was extremely appreciated after a 5 1/2 hour trip through a snow storm. All the functions of the house worked great. The first thing the first person said to me when they walked in the house was wow...this is nice...good job.

My group ranged from 26 to 33 years of age and we all had fun. When we were done with board games, we hung out down stairs and played pool and foosball. The wi-fi never went down, the kitchen had plenty of plates, cups, and utensils, and there were extra pillows provided in each room. The two bathrooms were also a major convenience as we all hit the showers once we got back from the slopes.

All in all, I did not hear complaints about the homes functions. If you're looking for the Ritz, this is not the place, but if you're looking for a cost effective, near to the slopes, fun and well functioning place to stay in, this would be it.
  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review. We are glad that you and your group had such a wonderful time at our house. It was sooooo cold when you were headed up to the house I wanted you to be able to get in and feel the warmth as soon as you got there so I had the heat increased for you and I am glad that you appreciated that. I try to be as amenable as possible and I try to meet all of your needs so that it is a true vacation and the house is a place for relaxation. I look forward to having future business with you and yours. Best regards.
+1 610 623-5359
Big Boulder Lake Harmony Area

Great Location, Great House! - Tom T.

  • 5 of 5
My friends and I rented this house for the weekend to go skiing. We got rained out but that did not stop us from having fun and enjoying this great home. I'd say the key points to this home is how spacious and maintained it is, also the location. We had plenty of room and Big Boulder is a 10 minute drive down the street. The owner Sherry was very helpful with everything, directions, questions, and needed information. So other people gave this house a negative review, they are wrong! This house has a pool table, foosball, 2 showers, plenty of space, it's great! We will rent again and I would recommend this house to anyone. Thank you Sherry for everything!

Tom T.
  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Tom:

Thanks so much for your wonderful review. The only thing I have no control over is the weather but I think there is plenty to do in and around the house to allow you to still have a great getaway! Your review is proof of that. I look forward to working with you again.

Take care.
+1 610 623-5359
Big Boulder Lake Harmony Area

Great home- great time!

  • 5 of 5
My family rented this home for a week right after Christmas and we loved it. It felt just like home to us with all of the amenities we could possibly have needed. It was clean and neat with plenty of space for us - 4 adults and 3 children. The downstairs game room was perfect for the kids so the adults could do our thing upstairs. The only time we went out was to go to the indoor watermark and the food store. The owner was very accommodating before our trip and went over and above to make sure all of our questions were answered. I would highly recommend her home for anyone that likes to hang out together- we had a blast!
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Dale and Family:

We are thrilled that you had such a good time in our home. We really do try to make it your "home away from home."

You were great to work with and I look forward to working with you again.

Take care and be well!

Best regards,
Sherry Rich
+1 610 623-5359
Big Boulder Lake Harmony Area

Horrific Conditions - Unsanitary and uninhabitable

  • 1 of 5
This property is infested with mice and squirrels!! We called the owner after our arrival to advise of mouse droppings throughout the house. We found excrement in the kitchen cutlery drawers, dresser drawers, on tables, and on all the floors. We cleaned it from everywhere we found it, but to no avail. Because it kept reappearing we knew they were still present. It was so bad that our children were bringing it onto our bed covers from walking on the floor with their socks and then climbing up on the beds. The owner appeared accomodating at first and sent over her pest control expert. The exterminator confirmed that the property was infested and also that the owner's were aware of it and were only willing to do minimal repairs to try to fix the issue. But it obviously didn't work. Much of our group left early. The stench of rodent urine and excrement when you walk in the bottom level is overwhelming. I have 2 children with asthma that where bothered. The owner assured us she would do the right thing during our stay and now will not return our calls. We are suing the owner and advising all Pa agencies. DO NOT take this place even if it's free!! We rent every year in the Poconoes and have never once had an issue anywhere except here.
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: You know it is really amazing what people will do to get money back. I stayed at the house the weekend prior to their stay and the lady who drops off the rental packet was in the house the day before their arrival.I was there again immediately after their stay and herein lies the REAL problem. They left food in the drawers of the kitchen and a whole cabinet full of food which I charge for because it is trash and I have to haul it away. They broke my coffee table and said they didn't feel it necesary to tell me because they thought it was a cheap table (I suppose you understand the kind of people we are dealing with here!) They said they had been staying in the Poconos for years and never had anything like this. I wanted to ask why they weren't staying where they stayed last year but I already know the answer-they want money back! First let me say that I called the renters and spoke to the person who signed the lease agreement 4 hours after their arrival and she said that they were "pleasantly surprised" which I thought was rather condescending but did not ask what she meant by that. The next morning I got a call from her husband telling me there were mice and I immediately called an exterminator who responded in less than 3 hours. I believe they let the mice in when unloading the suitcases and such and leaving the slider door wide open to unpack their cars. They claim that I knew I had mice because I have electronic pest control devices which repel mice. The husband has called me every day after that for the first week demanding money back and threatening me telling me that I don't know who I am dealing with and I will be sorry because he is an executive and could "buy all of Towamensing Trails." Why are you renting? He said his two little girls have asthma and so he bought gum and candy to help them breathe...?They stayed the entire time of their rental.He actually asked the exterminator if they should leave and he said NO that it was NOT an infestation and it was safe. The husband told me some of his group left and I believe that is the reason he wants money back-to repay them. I believe they left because he is obnoxious and demanding and making everyone hysterical. When I sent an email to the wife she forwarded it to him and he responded and sent it back to her who then sent it to me. That is very sad to have to live like that with a person like that. For what....a lifestyle? Anyone is free to call me about this.
+1 610 623-5359
Big Boulder Lake Harmony Area


  • 5 of 5
This rental has been my home away from home most of my adult life and my husband and I have had the privilege of staying here many times in the last 26+ years and even brought our babies here when they were young. We love the fact that it is so close to Jim Thorpe and all the ski areas too. We love the privacy, the decor and all the amenities that this home has to offer. We have stayed here with our friends and also extended family as well. We have always arrived to a very clean, open layout and inviting atmosphere. My husband has particularly enjoyed using the weber grill as it is the same as we use at home. And any time we have had any questions the owners have always been most accommodating and easy to reach. I will continue to rent here and will also recommend this property to my friends and family. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to stay here as many times as we have and we look forward to staying and enjoying this home many more years to come. - Kim & Tom F.
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Email Owner Contact Me



Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Allentown Bethlehem Easton (ABE)
Nearest Train
20 Miles
Mt. Pocono
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
903 & 534
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
at our community lake
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Nearest Ski
3 Miles
Big Boulder and Jack Frost - approx. 10-15 minutes
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Murphy's Loft
Car: necessary

Minutes to Big Boulder/Jack Frost ski areas in the Lake Harmony Area. Near Camelbeach area. Hiking, biking, paint ball, whitewater rafting nearby. Restaurants and shopping outlet mall. Close to Penn's Peak Entertainment Center and Roadies. Near Mount Airy Casino. Close to the quaint, Victorian and beautiful, historic town of Jim Thorpe.

See beautiful trees and woods and deer in our yard. Wild turkeys strolling down the road and wildlife all around. Beautiful yard full of trees.

Other Activities: paint ball, theater, shopping, dining, sightseeing, basketball, viewing wildlife. hiking and biking in Hickory Run State Park. Did I mention shopping at the Outlet Mall.

Big Boulder and Jack Frost are approximately 3 miles and 5 miles respectively, (8-10 minutes away) where festivals and lots of activities are always happening. Camelbeach area is approximately 25-30 minutes away.

Email Owner Contact Me



Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates


Big Boulder House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Non-holiday weekend
Jan 3 - Mar 16
2 nights
May 22 - May 27
3 nights
Jun 6 - Aug 24
2 nights

Additional information about rental rates

Notes $845 -$1100
$1100 Holiday weekends thru Monday (9:00 a.m. Friday through 9:00 p.m. Sunday/Monday).
All rentals require a $400 fully refundable security deposit and $5 per car registration as required by our POA.
$845 NON-holiday WEEKEND rentals are Friday 9:00 A.M. thru Sunday 9:00 P.M.
$1000 NON-holiday WEEKLY rental is Friday 9:00 A.M. thru Thursday 9:00 p.m.
$400 refundable security deposit due immediately. Final full rental fee plus $5 per car fee due within 10 days after initial contact and commitment.
Email Owner Contact Me



Big Boulder House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Mountain ...
  • Rural ...
  • Town ...
  • Lake ...
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Alarm System
  • Ducted Heating
  • Living Area
  • Air Conditioning
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking Off Street
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Security System
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Wood Stove
  • Wireless Internet
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Pantry Items
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dishwasher
  • Blender
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Stove ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 12 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom - toilet , shower
  • All bathrooms are CLEAN
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom - 1 queen
    Bedroom - 1 queen
    Bedroom - 1 queen
    Bedroom - 1 double
    Bedroom - 1 double
    Other - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Upstairs living room
    Other - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Downstairs living room
  • Nice and roomy. Each bedroom has a bed, dresser and/or chest of drawers (master bedroom has 1 dresser and 1 chest of drawers). All bedrooms are very nicely decorated and cozy. All bedrooms and sofa beds have blankets and pillows supplied for your convenience. You need to bring your own sheets and towels and kitchen towels and washcloths.
  • Books for Kids
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • Stereo
  • Game Room
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Foosball
  • Pool Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
  • DVD Player ...
  • Tennis Court
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Barbecue
  • Wood Deck
  • Gated Community
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Golf ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Boat ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • In Ground Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • theme parks
  • museums
  • live theater
  • water parks
  • autumn foliage
  • marina
  • festivals
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • horseback riding
  • walking
  • antiquing
  • outlet shopping
  • sight seeing
  • gambling casinos
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • sledding
  • photography
Local Services & Businesses:
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • laundromat
  • ATM/bank
  • medical services
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • pier fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • ice skating
  • whitewater rafting
  • hiking
  • mountain climbing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • tennis
  • rafting
  • equestrian events
All of the bedrooms are LARGE - 4 measure 10' x 12' and 1 measures 11' x 13'. There's 3 queen size beds, 2 full size beds, 2 queen size sleeper sofas (1 in each living room).
Email Owner Contact Me