From
£150
Enter dates to see total
Email Owner Email

Amanda Richards

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

MOUNTAIN CHALET IN THE HEART OF GLENCOE VALLEY

Glencoe Chalet Rental Photos and Description

4 bedroom, 2 bathroom, sleeps a maximum of 8

Superbly situated chalet in the heart of the Glencoe valley and next door to the Clachaig Inn, famous for its real ale and good food (Featured in The Week - Britains cosiest pubs!). Excellent access to skiing, climbing, sailing, angling and many other activities and only a short walk to Signal Rock and the Glencoe information centre.

'An excellent cottage in the most beautiful location. Lots of space with a real family feel'

'We had the most perfect holiday in Scotland! Thank you for sharing this wonderful cottage with us!'

'Here again for another year...the cottage was warm and well equipped...'

'Excellent accommodation. Regular home from home. Not the first time we've stayed and will not be the last'

'...cosy cottage, great views....'

'great wee place next to the best pub in Scotland'.

The cottage stands in one corner of its own grounds of approximately one acre which is mainly scrub and rocks with a terrace to sit on and looks out to the surrounding hills. It is next to a busy pub which provides real ale, a huge choice of whiskeys and excellent food. The accommodation is warm and comfortable and has extra storage for boots and climbing equipment.

Room sizes:

Sitting/dining room 19'10 x 18' max (L shape)

Kitchen 11'10 x 9'8 max

Bedroom 1 13'9 x 11'8

Bedroom 2 11'9 x 11'8

Bedroom 3 11'9 x 7'7

Bedroom 4 9'11 x 7'10

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets considered

Amanda Richards

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2002
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Property Reviews

Mountain chalet in the heart of Glencoe Valley
average rating of 4.1666665 based on 6 reviews
business
Mountain chalet in the heart of Glencoe Valley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1143
+44 07932006861
Glencoe Fort William & Lochaber
5

A great base to walk the Highlands

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We have been regular visitors over the years.The chalet has been recently upgraded and is very comfortable and warm. Wonderful place to base yourself for walks including Ben Nevis.The pub next door has fine music and friendly clientele.We hope to be back again next year and we would recommend the property to anyone considering a holiday in the Highlands.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mountain chalet in the heart of Glencoe Valley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1143
+44 07932006861
Glencoe Fort William & Lochaber
4

Nice cottage. Stunning location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We have been going to Clachaig cottage for a few years now - usually in October.
The cottage itself has improved year on year (the kitchen was refitted, a new roof was put on, a new hot water supply and so on). The cottage is huge with 4 bedrooms, 3 toilets, 2 bathrooms and a spacious lounge/diner. Frank and Jessie (the couple that look after it) are always very friendly and obliging - nothing is too much trouble.
The setting is stunning - nestled in the mountains of Glencoe. The Clachaig Inn is next door - for a drink or decent pub meal.
The location is ideal for walking or a base for seeing the Highlands - we do both.
We keep going back and have booked again for 2014 - that will be our 8th visit - enough said.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Mountain chalet in the heart of Glencoe Valley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1143
+44 07932006861
Glencoe Fort William & Lochaber
north east
2

of mice and mould

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
After reading the reviews of the cottage we were really looking forward to our stay there, despite it being more expensive than we have usually paid for staying in this are. The first thing that struck us upon entering the cottage was the very strong smell of mould/damp, this was especially bad in the bedrooms and we noted that upon leaving, all our clothing/baggage had picked up this smell. My partner who is asthmatic had problems during the night due to damp atmosphere.
It also became apparent that we were not the only occupants as the cottage seemed to have its own resident family of mice, note to owners ultrasonic rodent deterrents do not work. All in all very disappointed in the property and feel that the price did not reflect the poor standard of accommodation.
Owner's Response: We are sorry to hear you felt our cottage was expensive, it does sleep eight comfortably so it is priced at very good value for a larger group rather than only two. We are very concerned to hear of your worries about damp, I do wish you had called our housekeeper when you arrived who is always available, and would have dealt with any problems right away if she had been made aware. The cottage has been fully booked all summer and nobody else has mentioned anything amiss, indeed we have checked since receiving this and the current guests are extremely happy with everything, but we shall investigate fully to be doubly sure, thank you for bringing it to our attention.
Helpful votes: 1/3
business
Mountain chalet in the heart of Glencoe Valley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1143
+44 07932006861
Glencoe Fort William & Lochaber
5

Fantastic holiday - fabulous location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
We had a wonderful time, staying in late August and early September. The chalet is situated in a stunning location, deep in the Pass of Glencoe. It’s ideal for walks along the Pass (or up to the ski slopes) or for driving trips further afield. We drove as far as Portree on the Isle of Skye and back in a day, taking the ferry to Skye from Mallaig. We drove along the shores of Loch Ness and took a boat trip out of Fort Augustus, which is a charming town. It was well worth driving around as the scenery in the West Scotland/Glencoe area is out of this world.

Mention must be made of the chalet’s neighbouring pub, The Clachaig Inn, which is warm, friendly and well stocked with good beer and whisky, serving tasty and good value food. The main bar is round the back, as opposed to the Lounge bar which is at the front. Given good weather, sitting outside for lunch whilst looking at the hills is a complete joy.

The chalet’s facilities are good. The kitchen appears to be brand new as do the dishwasher, washing machine and tumble dryer. We can confirm that, as Conrad and Amanda have said, the TV has been replaced and is brand new. Jan Dutch is correct that the signal is not so good, but this has nothing to do with the TV and more to do with the mountainous location of the chalet! We recommend that future guests bring their own DVDs to the chalet which look great on the new TV and DVD player.

We’re surprised that Jan Dutch found the sofas to be back breaking. We found the sitting room and the sofas to be comfortable and easy to relax in. But there again, there were only two of us!

We’ll be back soon.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Mountain chalet in the heart of Glencoe Valley
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1143
+44 07932006861
Glencoe Fort William & Lochaber
4

"Great Place" (but.....)

"Great Place" (but.....)
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We (family, 6 adults from Holland) had a very good and nice holiday in one of the most beautiful parts of Scotland.
The chalet was good with a perfect equipped kitchen, good beds.
But sadly the sitting room was very poor. A old-fashioned TV-set with hardly a signal, too small for 8 persons with very bad (back breaking) benches. The (nice) ‘Living room’ as showed on the picture on the internet site could we not find in the chalet, sadly.
But most of de days we were outside enjoying Scotland.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. The TV has now been replaced and the website has been updated to remove the old picture of the living room.We shall speed up our sofa replacement plan! We are very pleased that you liked the rest of the chalet so much. Best wishes Conrad and Amanda
Helpful votes: 5/6
Email Owner Email

Map

Car: necessary

The West Highlands offer a wealth of scenery, history and adventure. Every year new attractions arrive making this the ideal destination for those seeking thrills, families with children and anyone looking for the peace and quiet of the hills.

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Glencoe Chalet Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Minimum Stay
 
low
Jan 7 2014 - May 31 2014
£150
£550
3 nights
 
 
high
Jun 1 2014 - Sep 30 2014
£150
£650
3 nights
 
 
low
Oct 1 2014 - May 31 2015
£150
£550
3 nights
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee £15.00
Notes Ring or email for full details. Also please ring for rates for Christmas and New Year
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Glencoe Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Heating
  • Towels Provided
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
Kitchen:
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Grill
  • Stove
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • 4 Ring Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom - toilet , tub
    Bathroom - toilet
    Bathroom - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • 2 doubles, 2 twins
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • Audio Tape Player
  • VCR
  • Television
  • DVD Player
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Lawn / Garden
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
Leisure Activities:
  • walking
  • horseback riding
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • skiing
  • mountain biking
  • water skiing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
  • golf
  • mountaineering
  • cycling
  • sailing
  • fishing
Notes:
Linen and towels are included free. Dogs are charged at £15 each per week.
Email Owner Email

Other Vacation Properties

$485 - $1,030 per week
3 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 5