Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

SECLUDED BEACH HOUSE IN WILD HORSE 4WD AREA

Brenda DiBenedetto

Advertiser since: 2005
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps20
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms5
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Brenda DiBenedetto

Advertiser since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
60%
Calendar last updated:
December 10, 2014
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

SECLUDED BEACH HOUSE IN WILD HORSE 4WD AREA

Sleeps20
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms5
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

Carova House Rental Photos and Description

- 6 Bedrooms, 5.5 Baths, sleeps 16-20

UNLIMITED WIRELESS INTERNET ACCESS

This house is located in the 4WD Wild Horse beach area - We are located approximately 9 miles past the end of the paved roads

This cottage is just a short walk to the beach - and a short walk to the canals behind the house w/a public boat ramp. The top deck has Rocking chairs, 3 hammocks on the middle deck and 2 hammocks on the lower deck outside the fenced-in pool area. The pool area has a hot tub, lounge chairs and Andirondack chairs.

The Great Room/kitchen/dining room and foosball area are on the top floor - with views of the Ocean to the Sound. Upstairs the kitchen has 2 dishwashers, smooth-top cookstove, large center island with 6 bar stools, and side by side refrigerator with ice-maker. The dining room has a 10 foot table that seats 16 guests- perfect for cracking crabs that can be caught in the canals that are located just one block behind the house. We have over-stocked the kitchen with every amenity we could think of. You will not run out of dishes, silverware, coffee cups or wine glasses - even with the largest groups.

The upstairs also has a Master bedroom with a King size bed and private bath. All the bedrooms (except the middle floor bunk room) have their own slider door access to the deck that allow you to access the pool/hot tub privately from each room. The lower floor has a game room with pool table and 2nd kitchen.

OBX MAGIC - by Karli DiBenedetto age 9

In the Outer Banks during the night, it's nice to lay awake without fright

With the breeze in your hair, laying there without a care

Dreaming what you will do tomorrow, dreaming without sorrow

Horses to see, places to be

Going here, going there, going anywhere

Laying on the beach, grabbing shells within reach

It's time to go, didn't you know

My heart sank when I was forced to leave the Outer Banks.

We hope you enjoy your stay at our Cottage as much as our family does.

Please view our other houses that are located a short walk (2 blocks) from this house - enter house #354723 or 3495265ha in the search box

Keywords: cottage, beach house

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Brenda DiBenedetto (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2005
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
60%
Calendar last updated:
December 10, 2014

About Brenda DiBenedetto

Brenda, Jim, Brad, Karli, Austin & Cleo DiBenedetto, we live in Chester County, Pennsylvania.

Brenda DiBenedetto purchased this house in 2003

Why Brenda DiBenedetto chose Carova

Carova Beach is a quiet secluded beach and we fell in love with the area. The first time we walked over the dunes at night and we could see every star in the sky, I knew that we would buy a home in that area. We love it so much that we are building another new home on the canals in 2010 (this cottage will be 1000' to the beach but still offer the quick water access to the canals). We love to explore,fish and crab in the canal system that leads out to the Albermarle Sound.

What makes this house unique

We love to be able to drive onto the beach with all of our chairs, coolers, dogs and toys, Hang out on the beach until late in the evening and spend time with friends and family one day and the next day spend it exploring and fishing in the canal/sound. It is a small community and we enjoy our friends that we have met.

Guestbook comments from the owner

14 hour drive and quickly learned about low air pressure in the tires. Beautiful views of dunes, horses, and deer!! Beach was fun with lots of shells. Fish all headed to sunny Florida for the winter. Dolphins showed up to say it. Everyone was friendly, even Skeeter our trash guy was a blast. Thanks for a great stay
Oct 2014
  • 1 of 40

Why HomeAway

Sleeps20
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms5
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.5
based on 11 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Secluded Beach House in Wild Horse 4wd Area
average rating of 4.5454545 based on 51 reviews
business
Secluded Beach House in Wild Horse 4wd Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p74815vb
-(610) 383-7313
Carova Outer Banks
Akron, Ohio
5

Terrific beach – Loved the location

  • 5 of 5
We loved staying at the Tern and Stumble Inn. It is great to be able to drive to the beach with your supplies rather than carry them. The horses were on the beach with us. It is a fabulous place to stay and I have been coming here for a couple of years and plan on returning as often as possible. Brenda has always been great to work with and very accommodating. We highly recommend staying at the Tern and Stumble Inn.
  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Secluded Beach House in Wild Horse 4wd Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p74815vb
-(610) 383-7313
Carova Outer Banks
Lansdale PA
5

Great Home – Enjoyed our stay, totally relaxing.

  • 5 of 5
Our group had a wonderful time at the Tern and Stumble Inn. It’s a great home in a wonderfully magical setting. Where else can you see horses at the bottom of the steps. The owners are great to work with and helped us with arrangements. We loved our stay at the Tern and Stumble Inn and are already planning our next stay.
  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Secluded Beach House in Wild Horse 4wd Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p74815vb
-(610) 383-7313
Carova Outer Banks
2

Poor upkeep, difficult owner, not worth the money

  • 2 of 5
Although my family still had a wonderful time during our trip, there were many problems with the house and it is definitely overpriced. My family stays at the Outer Banks every summer, and we've never had this many problems. The main problems were:

- It was not very clean when we arrived
- There was a leak in the vent directly above the toilet in the master bathroom and it would intermittently drip water making the whole area wet.
- There was a broken table in the master bedroom that was turned upside down when we got there
- One of the hammocks outside was broken and unusable
- There was no blender (just the top part of one but no base)
- Pretty sure the waffle iron was also broken but we didn't attempt to use it
- The wifi was very sporadic and often wouldn't work. We would re-cycle the router and it would work briefly but then stop again.
- The drawers in the refrigerator in the main kitchen were broken and completely unusable so we had to take them out of the fridge and just stack food in the areas
- Even with a small amount of groceries it took the refrigerator almost a full 24 hours to start to feel cold. We ended up throwing out some food because we were worried it was spoiled.
- Several of the drains were very very slow to drain making it very difficult to use the sinks and bathtubs

We didn't complain during our stay because we just wanted to enjoy ourselves as much as possible while we were there. I emailed the owner this list the day we left and she didn't respond at all. It is > 30 days after we checked out and we still haven't received our security deposit back because the owner claims the house was too dirty and they had to do "extra" cleaning. (Although we left the house in a definitely reasonable condition and have never had this problem with the 3 other outer banks beach houses we've rented. I wish we had taken pictures on check out.) It might have something to do with the fact that her "cleaning crew" that we saw as we were packing up the cars out front was 1 man in flip flops with dirty long hair who seemed high or very sleepy or both. I'm not surprised that it would take 1 man several hours to clean an entire beach house that held 9 people.

If after this review you're still thinking about renting, you should know that the good parts about the house are that the location is great - not too far from the beach at all, and the pool and hot tub are nice and were serviced regularly. It's also nice that it's pet friendly.
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately VRBO will not allow us to name the guests that stay at our home. I would if I could because she should be absolutely embarrassed by the way they treated our home. Her first email 2 days after her check out said "My family loved our week in the outer banks!" She wrote a bad review only because I responded to let her know that we would not refund her deposit in full after she stayed at our home. Her group left our house in such a mess that we had to hire 2 additional cleaning crews to clean up their mess. They checked out of the house almost 2 hours late and they left their pet at our house - they had to turn around to come back and get their pet. As unbelievable as that is, I did say that they left their pet and I was trying to call them to let them know but the phone #'s she had provided had been disconnected. When we received the email we had already taken care of the items that they listed on the review above. Reviews are important to us but this one is a joke. We take care of all items as soon as we are informed of any issues and we address our guests requests immediately to improve their stay. Laura and Ashton P of Philadelphia PA (BTW Ashton IS an attorney!)
business
Secluded Beach House in Wild Horse 4wd Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p74815vb
-(610) 383-7313
Carova Outer Banks
Columbus, Ohio
3

Dirty and poor upkeep.

  • 3 of 5
Our family felt very mislead by all of the great reviews of this property. The cleaning was horrible. One room smelled of puke, there were mouse droppings in the dressers, there were cob web webs filling the corners of the ceiling, and I could keep going. The yard was littered with random debris, old bottles in the bushes, and the fish cleaning area was totally busted and had rusty nails hanging out of it. I do not recommend staying here.

On the bright side the area is awesome. Our family had never been to Corova and didn't know what to expect. The 4x4ing factor was awesome. Pulling up on the beach with a truck full of gear every day, was again, awesome. We loved our trip despite the shock of the first day and shape of the accommodations. A few minor repairs and a better cleaning would change this place to a 4-5 star stay.
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately this review was posted 4 months after the guests stay and we do recall addressing their concerns the moment that we found out about the problems. Our cleaners were back in the house on Sunday morning to address their concerns. It is our job to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible and we are always striving to do so.
business
Secluded Beach House in Wild Horse 4wd Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p74815vb
-(610) 383-7313
Carova Outer Banks
Ohio
5

Grammie/Poppa and the troops

  • 5 of 5
This is a beautifully decorated house with paintings done by the owner. We had a terrific time...in spite of very high temperatures (102-106). With the ocean and the pool...one can always dunk in water!
We had ourselves,our two daughters with their hubbies and 7 grandkids. The boy grandkids LOVED
the lowest floor which had 4 bunk beds in one room, a kitchen in the outer room along with foosball and a pool table. With a freezer down there they were all set to microwave pizza rolls, dig into popcycles and in general be pretty autonomous until later in the day when they would go 3 flights up to the main kitchen/dining/family room area and eat dinner with us. They called that downstairs area their 'man cave'....with swimming pool right outside their back door.
Our girl grandkids were on the 2nd floor...which holds 3 'master bedrooms'...meaning king sized beds in each room plus another room of 4 bunks. The upper floor has the master bedroom. There are 5 1/2 bathrooms throughout. LOVED the wandering horses...which came within 2-3 feet of one of our grandsons. He was sitting on the beach...stayed very still...and the horse walked right up to him.
Renters should be reminded to never feed or touch these beautiful wild horses. They are very tame and unafraid of humans, cars, etc. but we should all leave them totally wild.
A full-sized mannekin of "Pirate Jack" hangs in the front window and the Corolla Tour Buses stop out front each day and point him out. He stayed connected to his rope and didn't raid our suitcases....(smile).
It's a beautiful house in a beautiful setting. Owners were very helpful in answering questions via email or phone and allowed us to 'go early' (check in time is normally 4 pm) which was a TREMENDOUS help in getting unloaded, getting food purchased and put away and in general settled in before nighfall.
The listing was accurate regarding the location, the photos accurately reflect the rentals' appearance and amenities, it was clean and well-maintained and I would highly recommend this property to a friend or relative. Near-by small towns of Corolla and Duck offer unique shops. The property is 1/2 hour 'down the beach' (literally....no paved road) so one needs a 4 wheel drive to navigate that sand !
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Secluded Beach House in Wild Horse 4wd Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p74815vb
-(610) 383-7313
Carova Outer Banks
La Grange, KY
5

Awesome vacation home!

  • 5 of 5
We absolutely loved this house! The area is so peaceful and beautiful. It was awesome to wake up and see the wild horses grazing around the house. The beach is absolutely gorgeous, area is not too crowded and close enough to town to go and do things if you want to. We loved just hanging out at the house and enjoying the wildlife and ocean! Thank you, Brenda, for being so accommodating and helpful! We hope to return soon!
  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children

Map

Nearest Airport
70 Miles
Norfolk INternational
Nearest Barpub
10 Miles
Tim Buck II Shopping Center - Several Bar/Pub/Rest
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Currituck Club
Nearest Restaurant
10 Miles
Tim Buck II Shopping Center
Car: necessary

Corolla lighthouse, Whalehead Club, Wrights Brothers Memorial Museum, Ocracoke and Hatteras day trips, golf, kayaking, miniature golf, surf fishing, wildlife encounter tours, shopping, fine dining, para sailing, paddle boats, tennis, windsurfing, hang gliding, snorkeling and diving, jet ski and wave runners.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $242 Per night

Carova House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring 2015 5/2-23
May 2 2015 - May 22 2015
7 night minimum stay
$1,695
 
 
Memorial Day Week 2015 5/23-30
May 23 2015 - May 29 2015
7 night minimum stay
$1,995
 
 
May 30-June 6 2015
May 30 2015 - Jun 5 2015
7 night minimum stay
$2,295
 
 
June 6-13, 2015
Jun 6 2015 - Jun 12 2015
7 night minimum stay
$2,695
 
 
June 13-20, 2015
Jun 13 2015 - Jun 19 2015
7 night minimum stay
$3,395
 
 
June 20-27, 2015
Jun 20 2015 - Jun 26 2015
7 night minimum stay
$3,495
 
 
In Season 2015 6/27-8/22
Jun 27 2015 - Aug 21 2015
7 night minimum stay
$4,095
 
 
Aug. 22-29, 2015
Aug 22 2015 - Aug 28 2015
7 night minimum stay
$2,695
 
 
August 29-Sept 5, 2015
Aug 29 2015 - Sep 4 2015
7 night minimum stay
$2,295
 
 
Sept 5-12 2015 Labor Day Week
Sep 5 2015 - Sep 11 2015
7 night minimum stay
$1,995
 
 
Fall 2015
Sep 12 2015 - Oct 3 2015
7 night minimum stay
$1,750
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$315
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning Fee $155
Tax Rate 12.75%
Notes Pet Fee - $100/per pet (if more than one pet please call or email with request) $500 security deposit is refundable
In Season Saturday - Saturday check in/out
Minimum stay in off season is 3 nights $315/night - Weekly off season rates please call or email for details.
50% of balance is due at time of booking and the remaining 50% balance and security deposit is due 30 days prior to arrival

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Carova House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3300 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beach View ...
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Fireplace
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 -
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 20
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king
    Bedroom 4 - 1 king
    Bedroom 5 - 2 bunk bed
    Bedroom 6 - 2 bunk bed
    Den - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • King size beds 4, Bunk Beds 4 sets of bunk beds (8 twins total) pull out sleeper sofa in middle floor den & pull out sleeper sofa in great room, Child Beds (1) play pen and pack and play, Baby Cribs (1),
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Pool Table
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Fish Cleaning Table
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
Charcoal Grill (BBQ) Beach Chairs & Toys, Air-hockey, Darts, Board Games, Books, Nintendo Games, Videos, 2 Coffee makers, 2 microwaves, Basketball hoop, Bedrooms Top floor - 1 Master bedroom king with private bath, 2nd floor 1 Master bedroom king with private bath, Sat TV, 1 King bedroom with hall bath, 1 King bedroom w/Jack& Jill Bath, 1 Bunk w/ two sets of twin bunks room that shares Jack & Jill bath, Den with Sat TV, VCR & Nintendo, Lower Level - 2nd Kitchen with refrigerator, ice-maker, air hockey and darts, 1 Bunk Room with 2 sets of twin bunks and full bath, All rooms are have access to the double deck, pool & hot tub, The Pool & hot tub have an outside pool cabana, shower, foot wash and fish table

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote