Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Maui Sunset Beautiful Oceanside 1 Bedroom/2 Bath Condo

Kyra Hanson

Member since: 2001
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Bedrooms 1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 6 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Kyra Hanson

Member since: 2001
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
April 1, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Maui Sunset Beautiful Oceanside 1 Bedroom/2 Bath Condo

Bedrooms 1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 6 - 7 nights


Kihei Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, 1 Bedroom + two Convertible beds in LR, 2 Baths


This nicely renovated condominium has a view over the resort's beautiful grounds to the ocean. Good architecture and concrete construction keep the units in this well managed resort quiet and private. Free internet service through Time Warner. Great new 55' LG Smart TV.

Ideally located in sunny Kihei and is perfect for a couple or small family.

Photos show the most recent renovations.

Relax at the resort or try some of the many great places and things to do nearby.

There are so many fun things to do but here are a few of our favorites:

* While still on mainland time (the first couple of days) when you wake up in the dark, drive up to the top of Haleakala (allow 50 minutes) to see the sunrise from the top of this extinct volcano. You can even arrange in advance to bike down the volcano.

* Good beaches, snorkeling, and other ocean activities, the Ocean Centre, golf, groceries, shopping, and restaurants are all close by.

* There is a beautiful oceanfront municipal golf course at Waehu (good value) and also some good restaurants and shopping on the airport (north) side of the island, as well as a Swap Meet on Saturday mornings (great place to get fresh produce and souvenirs). A drive to shop down Front Street in historic Lahaina (on the West side) and see the pageant (Ulalena) at the Arts Centre is well worth while (each of these is about 40 minutes drive).

* Get out on the water with a charter catamaran snorkel trip to Molikini and Turtle Town and (in winter months) watch the whales along the way.

Keywords: Condominium, 'Maui Sunset' & Kihei

More Details
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Kyra Hanson (Owner)
Member since: 2001
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
April 1, 2015

About Kyra Hanson

I am a Calgary Mom with children who love Maui.

Kyra Hanson purchased this condo in 2002

Why Kyra Hanson chose Kihei

This unit became available from a lady we had met at the pool over the years.

It is well located so that we are not bothered by traffic noise and we can see kids running on the soft grass,

coming from the pool or barbequing down below. It is on the B side, so it does not get too hot in the afternoon. We have always liked the layout and when we renovated, we extended the breakfast bar and added other personal touches that our guests appreciate.

What makes this condo unique

Our unit is very well equipped beach themed holiday home. The floors are Pergo and easy to keep clean. We just installed a beautiful new tile shower and pebble tile entrance flooring,

We have nice new covers for the beds and the appliances are quite new. There is a new 55 ' Smart TV.

The complex has the biggest private pool in Kihei, weight room, outdoor shuffle board,

croquet, putting green, tennis court and excellent seaside park for watching sunsets.

It is close to good beaches, shopping and restaurants.

The people staying at the Maui Sunset always seem to be friendly and in holiday mood.

Guestbook comments from the owner

This was a perfect family holiday. The condo was equipped with everything we could need.

Our kids loved playing barefoot on the on the soft grass and watching the Disney videos when they

had a little too much sun. The floors were easy to keep clean. The decoration in the condo matches

the Maui holiday feeling we had. After a week it felt likehome and noone wanted to leave. We will be back.
Apr 2010
  • 1 of 1

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 6 - 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 5 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Maui Sunset Beautiful Oceanside 1 Bedroom/2 Bath Condo
average rating of 4.2 based on 6 reviews
Washington State

Big Disappointment at Maui Sunset

  • 1 of 5

We have stayed at Maui Sunset twice before and really like the place. Not this unit. The owners themselves were great as far as the rental process went. The unit presents itself as a family condo, not a rental condo. The furnishings appear to be mostly garage/estate sale finds so there is no unity in the furnishings. The lanai table is old and beat up, however the chairs are new. Sadly, the chairs don't fit the table size-wise so it we couldn't eat outside comfortably. The linens are cheap and mis-matched. Two closet shelves in the master bedroom are taken up with stained pillows. So glad that we brought our own! The curtain in the bedroom is sheer so the outside light shines right through, making it difficult to sleep. The ceiling fan in the front room either doesn't work or needs a battery. There is a nice tv, however the rest of the electronics are junk - not what I would expect in a rental unit. There was an array of mis-matched dishes, glasses, and silverware. The dishwasher did a very poor job cleaning the dishes and needs replacing. Cleanliness is absolutely lacking in this unit, evidenced by ants all around the microwave. I would not recommend renting this unit to anyone.

  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Lynda's review comes as quite a surprise. All of the people who have rated our condo before gave it 5 out of 5. We were there in December and there were none of these problems. The repeat renters who were there for a month before Lynda's week in our condo found none of these problems. Our check-in instructions ask people to call or email if they find anything that needs attention. We live on the mainland and depend on this. We always immediately correct any problem that is identified. Lynda did not contact us at all during the week she was there. Now that we have heard this from her we are immediately investigating. Since Lynda's week at our condo, we now have a sliding screen door that is off the track (something that has happened a couple of times before when people drinking on the lanai yanked it open too fast) and other repairs to do that were apparently not needed before her arrival. None of our prior renters complained that the light coming through the curtain woke them up. We expect that they were not sleeping during daylight hours. None has complained before that our condo is a family condo, even though more than half of our renters do not bring children. We do have booster seats, a stroller, beach toys, children's DVDs etc that are available for use by families with children. Our check-in instructions explain that the wall switch for the ceiling fan must be kept on and that it is operated with a remote. We don't believe that Lynda read this, given what she first said by email to us. As everyone else has said, this is a beautiful condo with everything that one could ask for while on vacation in Maui. If people let us know that something needs attention, we always address it immediately.

Great view and location.

  • 5 of 5

The location was in the middle of Maui, could travel anywhere in a short time. Condo had everything you needed and up-to-date. Would definitely return next year.

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Great to have you back again and glad that you enjoyed the renovations.
Sunnyvale, CA 94087

Well Equipped Maui Sunset Condo

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I have been to Maui numerous times and this is the first time that we have been there in January. We have been there during the summer and fall months. We went there to celebrate our 42nd anniversary. We were fortunate enough to find this lovely and comfortable one bedroom, two bath condo. It had everything we needed to make our stay quite enjoyable. It was our home away from home for six days. The owners have done a great job in maintaining their condo. We would love to stay there again. Also, the grounds and the pool at the Maui Sunset are also well-maintained and the location is perfect to view the wonderful sunsets. We can't wait to return!

  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Calgary, Alberta, Canada


  • 5 of 5

We were very fortunate to have the opportunity to stay at the Hanson’s condo during our first visit to Maui in early March. Great condo - good facilities - wonderful location and great view! Truly all the comforts of home. The condo was clean, very nicely decorated, comfortable and spacious. The kitchen had everything we needed and more. We especially enjoyed the convenience of the in-house washer and dryer. The setting is truly beautiful. We were able to watch spectacular sunsets and the whales from our balcony. Wow! The grounds were immaculate with ample parking, a nice pool and excellent BBQ facilities (plus a host of other amenities) - a great place to meet people.

The owner and his family are super nice and a pleasure to deal with and we would recommend this unit unreservedly. Five stars for value! Thanks again for a wonderful stay

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Best area in Hawaii and perfect condo for our needs

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed in the Hanson condo four times, I believe. Each time for about a month. Need I say more? Maui Suunset probably the best in most respects of all places we have stayed at in the islands, this marked our 40th year traveling there.

Yes to all the questions. As far a places eat, this shore has an abundance. It is fun to contemplate where we are going to eat next when we go the gourmjet route. Maui Taco and Kehi Kitchen we like best for breafast and lunch.

I have recommended this particular complex twice on Travel Advisor.

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kenny likes that our kitchen is so well equipped. He is not alone in believing that the Maui Sunset is the best place to stay in Hawaii.


Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Kahului (OGG)
Nearest Barpub
0.4 Miles
Many good ones within 2 - 5 minutes drive
Nearest Golf
1.5 Miles
Many excellent course nearby 5 - 20 min. drive
Nearest Train
20 Miles
Sugar Cane Train (Lahaina)
Nearest Motorway
0.7 Miles
Mokulele (crosses the island)
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Many good places nearby 2 - 15
Nearest Beach
0.05 Miles
At the resort - many excellent beaches nearby
Nearest Point of Interest
Maui Sunset
Nearest Point of Interest
Long's Drugs in Azeka S.C.
Nearest Point of Interest
Car: recommended

Kihei's Largest Private Pool, Hot Pool (jet spa), Tennis Courts, Putting Green, Shuffle Board Courts, Croquet, Exercise Room, Barbecue Grills, Plenty of Opportunity for meeting Other Friendly People, Golf Courses, Restaurants, Aquarium, Ocean Activities, Beaches, Groceries, Etc, Biking Down the Volcano


Rates & Availability

From $1,050 Per week

Kihei Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Winter (except Christmas time)
Jan 2 2015 - Apr 30 2015
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 13.42%
Enter dates to see total


Kihei Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (3)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Sauna ...
  • Shared Hot Tub
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • parasailing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Fully-Equipped Kitchen, Private Lanai (balcony), New Pergo Flooring throughout is easy to keep clean, 2 Phones (1 portable), Answering Machine, CLEAR Internet service with LAN connection if you bring a laptop, All New Appliances, 2 TVs, 2 VCRs, Stereo with CD Player, Microwave & Coffee Maker, Quiet Dishwasher, Easy to Clean Stove, Large Refrigerator, The condo has all the towels & linens you will need, including beach towels, There are also beach toys, mats, a beach umbrella, coolers and boogies boards for guests' use, There is a large breakfast bar with plenty of eating or working space, In addition to the Queen size bed in the bedroom (which has its own bathroom) there are 3 new futons (which serve as sofas or beds) dresser end tables & plenty of cupboard space for storage of your things, The second bathroom also has a shower, Hot Tub, Pool & Gas Grills (BBQ) shared

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

$931 - $1,225 per week
4 - 7 night min stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 2
$838 - $1,155 per week
4 - 7 night min stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$931 - $1,225 per week
4 - 7 night min stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 4

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote