LARGE FAMILY FRIENDLY COTTAGE IN CHIMNEY ROCK, NC

Sharon Ryan

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Contact the Manager

Sharon Ryan

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

LARGE FAMILY FRIENDLY COTTAGE IN CHIMNEY ROCK, NC

Chimney Rock Cottage Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedrooms + Game Room with addtl. sleeping, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Crimson Cottage is a delightful vintage cottage located in the heart of Chimney Rock Village.

WE HAVE A LOCAL MANAGER AND CARETAKER IF YOU NEED ANY ASSISTANCE DURING YOUR STAY!

Crimson Cottage is perfect for a family or group of friends who are looking for value and want to be in the center of activities. It is only a short stroll across the bridge over the Rocky Broad River to the quaint shops and restaurants of Chimney Rock Village, the entrance to Chimney Rock State Park, and to trout fishing along the beautiful Riverwalk. The sparkling waters of Lake Lure offering fishing, boating and swimming are only one mile away. With over 2100 square feet of living area, the cottage is comfortably furnished in a family friendly manner. NEW HIGH QUALITY MATTRESSES ADDED IN JANUARY 2013. Kids will love the huge upstairs game room with its own Cable TV/VCR/DVD player, twin beds, card table and Foosball table.

Enjoy a game of horseshoes in the large backyard, grill steaks on the charcoal grill, or have a picnic on the picnic table. Crimson Cottage has ample off-street parking for three cars.

ADDITIONAL RENTAL INFORMATION:

50% rent deposit plus $30 nonrefundable reservation fee plus 11.75% tax to hold reservation. Balance due 31 days prior to arrival. $350 security deposit required (held on credit card). Sixty (60) days notice required to cancel, with $50 cancellation fee. No refunds if cancelled less than 60 days prior to arrival date, unless re-rented.

PLEASE NOTE: We have a 5-night minimum in the busy summer months and a 3-night minimum on holidays the rest of the year. We turn over on Sat or Sun in the summer. However, sometimes scheduling allows us to accept less than a 5-night minimum in summer, so please don't hesitate to inquire. However, we always have a 2-night minimum. We are sorry, but we are unable to accept one-night rentals.

LARGER GROUPS CAN ALSO RENT OUR OTHER PROPERTY, THE 'RIVER ROSE COTTAGE' ON THE SAME STREET! THIS PROPERTY IS ALSO LISTED ON VRBO AND THE LISTING NUMBER IS 26821. COMBINED, THE TWO COTTAGES CAN SLEEP A MAXIMUM OF 14 PEOPLE. GREAT FOR A FAMILY REUNION!

Keywords: Vacation rental, cottage rental, cabin rental, Lake Lure Marina & Beach, Chimney Rock State Park, Chimney Rock, gem mining, zip lining, pontoon boat rental, fire pit.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Sharon Ryan (Property Manager)
Advertiser since 2003
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

About Sharon Ryan

This house is perfect for our family & friends. We like to be near the center of activities. It is only a short stroll across the bridge over the Rocky Broad River to the quaint shops and restaurants of Chimney Rock Village, the entrance to Chimney Rock State Park, and to trout fishing along the beautiful Riverwalk. The sparkling waters of Lake Lure offering fishing, boating and swimming are only one mile away. With over 2100 square feet of living area, the cottage is comfortably furnished in a family friendly manner. We love the huge upstairs game room with its own Cable TV/VCR/DVD player, twin beds and Foosball table.

This is our favorate vacation spot !!!

Sharon Ryan purchased this cottage in 2005

Why Sharon Ryan chose Chimney Rock

We love fishing, boating, swimming, running, and long walks. We chose this property because it is walking distance to Chimney Rock Village and only one mile to Lake Lure where you can fish, swim, rent a boat or take a walk or run along the walking trials. The house is large enough for our whole family and the location is perfect.

What makes this cottage unique

It is perfect for a family or group of friends who are looking for value and want to be in the center of activities. It is only a short stroll across the bridge over the Rocky Broad River to the quaint shops and restaurants of Chimney Rock Village, the entrance to Chimney Rock State Park, and to trout fishing along the beautiful Riverwalk.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Check-in was very accommodating. Starting kit of supplies was sufficient, and guide of surrounding attractions very helpful.
Apr 2014
  • 1 of 2

Why HomeAway

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.8
based on 14 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Large Family Friendly Cottage in Chimney Rock, NC
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 14 reviews
business
Large Family Friendly Cottage in Chimney Rock, NC
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p110939vb
-(828) 625-9500 (North Carolina, USA)
Chimney Rock Asheville Area
Columbia, South Carolina
5

Wonderful start to our Christmas break!

  • 5 of 5
We decided to visit during the first week of Christmas break, while school was out. We had 10 in all, 4 kids and 6 adults. I cannot say enough good things about Crimson Cottage, we had everything we needed. The kids loved the upstairs room while the adults had their own space downstairs. Close enough to walk to Chimney rock village, the river, great dining (Loved Laura's house). Drove up to Chimney Rock on Saturday and with the elevator out, we decided to trek it all the way to the top. So cold and windy but the view made it all worth it! On Tuesday we took a 1 1/2 hour horseback trail ride with Cedar Creek Stables, solidifying this trip as our family's best EVER!
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Owner's Response: Dear Parker Family, Thanks so much for writing such a wonderful review of Crimson Cottage. You were great guests and left the cottage in beautiful condition. We very much appreciate your taking such good care of it during your stay. We'd love to have you back again and to show our appreciation, we offer repeat guests in Crimson Cottage a 10% discount off a future stay. So plan on coming again in the summer when you can swim in Lake Lure, only a mile away, and take a boat cruise on the lake. We also offer discounts off a pontoon boat rental. Thanks again, and blessings for a very Happy New Year to the Parker family. Sharon and Heather, Distinctive Mountain Lodging
business
Large Family Friendly Cottage in Chimney Rock, NC
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p110939vb
-(828) 625-9500 (North Carolina, USA)
Chimney Rock Asheville Area
NOLA
5

Had a wonderful time at Crimson Cottage

  • 5 of 5
My sister and I rented both Crimson Cottage and River Rose Cottage for our family vacation in Aug of this year. We're twins and it was our birthday!! We loved both cottages. The kids loved Crimson Cottage's hugh game room upstairs cause they had their own space. WiFi was great to have and the location can't be beat! Very clean and charming and staff very helpful. Can't sy enough good things about the cottages and the area. Lots to do. Oh and I forgot - zip lining!! Yippee. most fun ever!
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Hi Lizzie, Thanks so much for writing a review on vrbo. We appreciate your family renting Crimson and River Rose Cottages. I know it is convenient to be able to walk to each cottage from the other. And glad you enjoyed our village, the lake and zip lining! Thanks for sending the zip lining picture. That was amazing! Remember repeat guests receive a 10% discount off a future stay at Crimson Cottage, so keep us in mind for your next vacation. Best Wishes to you and your family. Sharon and Heather
business
Large Family Friendly Cottage in Chimney Rock, NC
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p110939vb
-(828) 625-9500 (North Carolina, USA)
Chimney Rock Asheville Area
5

You CANNOT beat this!

  • 5 of 5
My family and my friend's family rented this property in July of 2013. We just got back a few days ago. I cannot say enough good things about it....and I know I'll probably leave some things out of this review. But, if you are trying to decide if this place is worth the price...and is it REALLY just a short walk into the town? Yes - yes - yes it is. You literally could throw a stone to the bridge from this house - the bridge is fun to walk over, too...my girls loved tossing rocks down below - then, once you get across the bridge - you're right there in the fun little town of Chimney Rock. Gem shops, General Store, Gem Mining, awesome restaurants- especially "Laura's" with the perfect expansive view of Chimney Rock, souvenir shops, a River Walk, and more are along the road. I have twin 3 year olds and we made that little walk to the town several times. I loved not having to get in the car! Lake Lure's beach is about a 5 minute drive away. Back to the house - it is immaculately clean (and I'm picky). There's a full dining room next to the kitchen. The upstairs game room is AWESOME - the kids LOVED IT. We had 8 people - it was more than enough room for us - in fact we laughed about how we felt like we were in separate houses at night time because we couldn't hear each other. The kids in our group ranged from 3 - 12 years. The downstairs has a large den with TV....WiFi is available. The master bedroom is huge. Up to date Washer and Dryer. Porch with lots of chairs...Lots of dishes to use. Mrs. Ryan was fantastic to work with - so pleasant on the phone. Plenty of room for two families like ours. I am thrilled to have spent time at the Crimson Cottage and cannot wait to go back! If you're like me and you are hoping you won't be making a bad decision using your hard earned money for this location - you will find that you made the right choice for your family! I couldn't believe all that we got to enjoy because of choosing this rental. Thank you, Mrs. Ryan for making our stay such a wonderful one. :)
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Angela, Thank you for your awesome review! Appreciative guests like you are why I love taking care of our houses. It's a great feeling when a family enjoys one of our vacation rentals, has a great time exploring all Chimney Rock and Lake Lure has to offer, and appreciates all the hard work we do to keep our vacation rentals sparkling clean and well maintained. It was a pleasure to have your family as our guests and we hope to see you again. And remember, repeat guests at Crimson Cottage receive a 10% discount off future stays. Blessings on your family, Sharon
business
Large Family Friendly Cottage in Chimney Rock, NC
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p110939vb
-(828) 625-9500 (North Carolina, USA)
Chimney Rock Asheville Area
Midwest
5

Star Upgrade -- New mattresses, very accommodating management

  • 5 of 5
I originally gave Crimson Cottage 3 out of 5 stars because of the poor mattresses -- but the management contacted me to let me know that they have purchsed new mattresses to replace the uncomfortable ones. I am impressed with the level of attention I recieved and everything I asked for was answered. They really do try to make your stay enjoyable.
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the Star Upgrade! That was very thoughtful of you to take the time to do that. We do take all comments and suggestions to heart and do everything in our power to improve Crimson Cottage, and all of our other vacation rentals as well. We are a small company with only 12 vacation rental homes in Chimney Rock, Lake Lure and Bat Cave, and we like to give personalized attention to all our guests in all of our homes. We love this business and take great pride in managing only the very best properties. We hope to see you again!
business
Large Family Friendly Cottage in Chimney Rock, NC
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p110939vb
-(828) 625-9500 (North Carolina, USA)
Chimney Rock Asheville Area
Slidell, LA
5

Loved Crimson Cottage and Chimney Rock!

  • 5 of 5
My family and I recently stayed in Crimson Cottage and we absolutely loved it! It's a charming older cottage, which reminded me of when I went to stay with my grandma when I was a little girl. It was extremely clean and well maintained, but the photos do not do it justice. There was plenty of room for my boyfriend and I, my parents, my brother and his wife, and my 2 teenage daughters, who loved the game room and even let us go upstairs a few times to play poker with them! The kitchen was equipped with everything we needed and we enjoyed roasting marshmallows in the fire pit in the back yard. We walked into to village and had some really good clam chowder for lunch at Medina's Village Bistro, which Heather (the lady who checked us in) recommended. It was so good, we went back there for dinner! The shops are really cutesy and we hiked in Chimney Rock Park. As my girls said, the views are awesome!! We noticed another review didn't like the beds, but we found them extremely comfortable. The manager told us they had recently bought new pillow top mattresses and they were very comfy. All in all, a great stay and we will definitely be back this summer so my Dad can walk to the River Walk to fish.
  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay in Crimson Cottage! You were great guests and we appreciate your taking such good care of our cottage. I'm glad you enjoyed exploring the shops in Chimney Rock Village and had fun in Chimney Rock State Park. Please do plan on coming back in the summer to enjoy swimming, boating and fishing on Lake Lure, which is only 1 mile from the cottage. We also have zip lining and lots of new hiking trails for you to explore. This winter, we are working on the Flowering Bridge so you will be able to walk across the bridge to Lake Lure and Morse Park. Thanks again and remember repeat guests at Crimson Cottage receive a 10% discount off a future stay.
business
Large Family Friendly Cottage in Chimney Rock, NC
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p110939vb
-(828) 625-9500 (North Carolina, USA)
Chimney Rock Asheville Area
Midwest
3

Worth the price for a large group, but some beds uncomfortable

  • 3 of 5
This place was neat for a large group with kids. There are actually 3 twin beds upstairs, and the kids especially enjoyed the spacious game room area and the poker set. Beware, however, of a few things: Several of the beds are just too uncomfortable to sleep on -- the queen mattress offers little support and some of the twins feel like box springs only. The home heats unevenly. Some of the floors are uneven and there is a mushy spot at the bottom of the stairs. It appears that the original home was added onto a time or two, which may account for the awkward layout. They do not provide soap, shampoo, or laundry detergent. If you are taller than 5'9, there is a narrow hallway in which you have to duck to avoid bumping your head.
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review on VRBO for Crimson Cottage. We sincerely appreciate your letting us know that some of the beds were uncomfortable as this is very helpful to us. We try very hard to make Crimson Cottage comfortable for our guests and had replaced the twin mattresses in the game room earlier this year. However, I agree that the queen and the daybed mattresses now need replacing also, so I will be shopping for mattresses tomorrow! You are correct that Crimson is an older home and has a quirky layout as some older homes do, but we hope that our guests will find it charming. We feel that it is a good value for a large family on a budget. In order to keep our rates low, we do not provide personal toilet articles or laundry detergent for our guests to do their laundry. Our confirmations state what we provide and what guests need to bring so that they know ahead of time and are not surprised. We also don't charge a departure cleaning fee as a lot of properties do, so we hope that guests don't mind supplying their own bath soap, shampoo, and detergent to do their own laundry.
We are very pleased that the children in your family enjoyed the upstairs game room. It is a great space for kids to spread out and play cards, checkers or use the foosball table.
We'd love to have your family visit us again and would like to offer a discount off any future stay in Crimson Cottage. And we promise to have new, top quality mattresses! Our best wishes to you and your family for a very Happy New Year!
Email Manager Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Asheville, NC
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Old Pavilion Riverside Bar & Grill
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Lake Lure Municipal Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
US Hwy 64/74A
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Medina's Village Bistro, Chimney Rock
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Lake Lure
Car: necessary

Walk over the quaint bridge and go trout fishing at the Riverwalk. Also fishing in Lake Lure is only a mile away. Pontoon boat rental available on Lake Lure.

Email Manager Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Manager Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Chimney Rock Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Early Fall
Sep 2 2014 - Sep 30 2014
2 night minimum stay
$175
$950
 
 
Fall
Oct 1 2014 - Oct 31 2014
2 night minimum stay
$212
$990
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 21 2014 - Nov 30 2014
3 night minimum stay
$212
$990
 
 
Early Winter
Dec 1 2014 - Dec 19 2014
2 night minimum stay
$175
$950
 
 
Christmas/New Year's
Dec 20 2014 - Jan 1 2015
3 night minimum stay
$212
$990
 
 
Low Season
Jan 2 2015 - May 31 2015
2 night minimum stay
$175
$950
 

Additional information about rental rates

Reservation Fee $30 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.75%
Notes $350 Security/Damage deposit required, which is guaranteed by your credit card at check-in. The $350 is not charged unless there is loss or damage, violation of rental policies or excessive cleaning required. We do not charge a cleaning fee as long as cottage is left neat & orderly. Refund if cancelled 60 days prior to arrival with $80 fee. Minimum age for renters is 25.
50% of rent + $30 reservation fee + tax due at time of reservation. Balance of 50% of rent + tax due 31 days prior to check-in, which is automatically charged to card on file on due date unless tenant wishes to use a different card. Sometimes shorter than minimum stays are available. Do not hesitate to inquire.
Email Manager Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Chimney Rock Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 2 bathrooms on main floor.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , New high quality pillow top mattress purchased in Jan. 2013
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , New high quality pillow top mattress purchased in Jan. 2013
    Game Room - 2 twin/ single , New comfy mattresses purchased in 2012.
  • First Floor has Master Bedroom with king size bed, 2nd bedroom with Queen size Bed and 3rd Bedroom with Double Bed. Upstairs game room has 2 twin beds. total of 5 beds. Pack And Play can be rented for nominal charge.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Boat ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
Notes:
Go for a walk across the bridge over the Rocky Broad River, just steps away, into Chimney Rock Village with all its quaint shops and restaurants. Fish at the River Walk. Hike up to Chimney Rock State Park or spend time boating or swimming on Lake Lure. This is an outstanding location !
Email Manager Contact Me

Other Vacation Properties

$850 - $950 per week
2 - 3 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$600 - $690 per week
2 - 3 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 12
$2,100 per week
2 - 3 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 10

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote