Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Northwoods Luxury - Private Lake, Gourmet Kitchen, Sauna!

Heidi Schaeffer

Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Heidi Schaeffer

Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
May 26, 2015
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Northwoods Luxury - Private Lake, Gourmet Kitchen, Sauna!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

Spooner House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Amazing cabin located on 170 acres! Private lake, views, gourmet kitchen, jacuzzi bathtub, satellite TV (movie channels), 2 bedrooms with queen beds, 2 bathrooms, cedar sauna, hiking, cross country skiing, biking and more. Located 30 miles west of Hayward and 12 miles northwest of downtown Spooner in the beautiful northwoods of Wisconsin.

This is a 5 star accommodation. You won't be disappointed.

The kitchen features stainless steel Jenn Air appliances and is well stocked with pots, pans, dishes - everything you need to make great meals & an outdoor stainless gas grill. There is satellite TV with movie channels, DVD player and CD player with iPod docking station.

You will enjoy privacy and solitude on this 170 acre retreat with rolling hills, trees and private trails. Our comfortable cabin has beautiful hardwood floors and ceilings, maple cabinetry, natural tilework & a gas fireplace with beautiful views of nature from the open plan living space.

Families with children 6 yrs +, or active couples will be comfortably accommodated in this new house. Our location offers you a secluded Northwoods feel that is still close to both Spooner and Hayward.

Keywords: lake home, cabin, cottage

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets considered
Heidi Schaeffer (Owner)
Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
May 26, 2015

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.9
based on 26 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Northwoods Luxury - Private Lake, Gourmet Kitchen, Sauna!
average rating of 4.8846154 based on 26 reviews
Wausau, WI
5

Great place !

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I spent a great time at Heidi's place. The owner is easy to talk to. The house is nicely prepared for guests. Great area; very quiet and around of the nature. We had such a nice time there. Our dog was "in heaven" with amount of space for running and playing outside. The lake is amazing. The only one thing that we didn't expect was the fact that the paddle boat was not prepared for the season. We really were counting on using it; however, we still had a great time there. I definitely would recommend this place to everyone. Thank you Heidi for this wonderful opportunity of being there and enjoying the nature.

  • Submitted: May 19, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
3

Peaceful Loacation, but disappointing

  • 3 of 5

We were here for a long family weekend. The house is in a nice peaceful setting, however it seems that maintenance is not a big priority. The house was cleaned, but not very well. The 2nd bathroom is in the garage, not the main living area. The pier was not maintained and broke. It sank when you stepped on the first part of it so you had to walk through the water. There were two canoes, although one was non-usable, and the paddle boat was full of water/leaves/dirt so that was non-usable as well. We were able to use the row boat to get some fishing in, unfortunately we caught one small bass the entire weekend. After reading everyone's reviews, we were expecting a great weekend, but were really disappointed with our stay.

  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry that you found the downstairs bath not to your cleaning standards. This is something that is not normally missed and we contacted our housekeeping to always double check that area. Note that we were not contacted about any of these issues and thus were not able to try to address them will the guests were there. With regards to the dock, we normally get that area and the boats set up during April as most years, there is still some ice and snow on the ground. There was also very high water last year and thus extra planking was added. This will be removed and adjusted as needed based on the water level. Our maintenance person has been contacted to address the dock issues. We do everything we can to keep the property well maintained, however we do need time in the early Spring to get everything ready for summer and late April through early May is when outside work is done. The same happens in the Fall when we need to do leaf cleanup, etc to prep for the winter.
Minneapolis, MN
5

So relaxing

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful property, so relaxing. Lovely lake, the cabin was beautifully furnished. The gas fireplace was wonderful on a dreary day to keep you warm while reading a good book. We enjoyed the sauna after a hike on a cold morning, so nice to come back and warm up. Easy drive to Hayward for some shopping and then great supper club selection on your drive back. We will be back.

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
5

So relaxing

  • 5 of 5

This was our second time at this cabin and we just love it. It is so relaxing and we like all of the property to explore with our dog. We saw lots of deer! The house is furnished so nicely with great linens, towels, cooking utensils, etc. We will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
SW metro area of the Twin Cities
5

Quiet and fantastically relaxing

  • 5 of 5

We don't get away enough. But when we do we love coming here. This time I was most looking forward to the quiet and was not disappointed. Sequestered in such a beautiful, soft, and secluded place, relaxation is virtually mandated.

  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Mason City Iowa
5

Will be back!

  • 5 of 5

From the moment we pulled into the drive we were in love! Ten wonderful days of beautiful views and comfort. The home is nicely appointed and the kitchen was a great gathering place and comfortable to cook in (need steak knives...but that's all) Nice cook wear and plenty of the little gadgets you tend to forget. We made use of everything! From the game closet to the canoe and sauna.Our kids came up over the weekend and there was plenty of room, beds and bedding for the seven of us. Owner was very easy to work with and as they say it is a small world we found we had a mutual friend who will undoubtedly bring me back up to the area for another visit! Enjoy the trails and the fishing (catch and release) and I hope we can carve a few days out next year to enjoy it again in the summer! However, going in the fall was amazing, great county roads in the area to do a little leaf peeping and Spooner and Hayward are less then 20-30 minutes away. Lunch at THE SHOP was excellent and a nice win at the casino in Danbury was pretty great too! Cant say enough, it was truly wonderful

  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Tom and Dianna and so glad you enjoyed your visit. Yes, it is a small world - I spoke with our mutual friend and she couldn't believe it either. Have made note about getting some steak knives. Heidi

Map

Nearest Airport
130 Miles
MSP
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
What the Heck (serves food)
Nearest Golf
12 Miles
Voyager Village
Nearest Motorway
8 Miles
Hwy 70
Nearest Restaurant
1.5 Miles
McKenzie Landing
Car: necessary

NW WI is an outdoor paradise! Lots of mountain bike, snowmobile, ATV and Xcounty ski trails close by.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $160 Per night

Spooner House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Mid Season 2
May 1 2015 - Jun 5 2015
2 night minimum stay
$185
$1,050
 
 
Summer 2015
Jun 6 2015 - Aug 30 2015
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,450
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $5 per night, per additional guest
 
Mid Season
Sep 1 2015 - Oct 31 2015
2 night minimum stay
$180
$1,050
 
 
Low Season
Nov 1 2015 - Dec 22 2015
2 night minimum stay
$160
$800
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$225
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $100.00
Refundable damage deposit $150.00
Pet Fee $20.00
Notes A confirmation with directions, lock box code and information on the place and area will be sent once deposit is received. Please allow up to 24-48 hours to receive the confirmation.

Pet fee is a minimum of $20 for a weekend and up to $50 for a week long stay for one dog and will be added to quote. We allow up to 2 dogs. No cats as owner is highly allergic. Cabin is strictly no smoking.

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Spooner House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Large, two person custom tiled shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Convertible bed(s) - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , In addition to the pullout sofa, there is a twin roll away.
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children ...
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Private Trails for Hiking, Biking, Cross Country Skiing & Snow Shoeing. Snow mobiling trails nearby, off premise. Two golf courses near by.

Other Vacation Properties

$750 - $850 per week
2 night min stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$875 per week
3 night min stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$290 per night
5 - 7 night min stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 10

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote