Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

St Maarten Cottage, more than just a holiday a very special property.

Robert

Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, spanish
Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Contact the Owner

Robert

Member since: 2005
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
April 23, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

St Maarten Cottage, more than just a holiday a very special property.

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

Oyster Pond Cottage Rental Photos and Description

1 bedroom, 1 bathroom, sleeps 2

The Cottage in St Maarten, ideal for truly romantic, peaceful Caribbean vacation. The St Maarten Cottage at Oyster Pond Estates is part of the Estate Chateau Jeca, a fully gated property in secured gated community . The Cottage offers privacy and beauty. Styled after an old West Indian cottage every detail is included; lap board siding, and traditional wood shutters painted in Caribbean colors.

Don't be fooled by the old traditional style, the cottage contains a modern kitchen with stainless steel appliances; micro wave, wall oven and cook top. The entire cottage is air-conditioned. There is cable with 2 flat screen TVs, 2 stereos, Ipod docking station, wireless Internet. The bathroom is built into the hillside with exposed rock and includes large vanity, sink and self contained shower all from Travertine stone. Amenities include outdoor jacuzzi, sculptured pool bordered with stone and views of Oyster Pond, the Atlantic Ocean and Anguilla.

Three private terraces allow for plenty of relaxing time. Also, you can take time to meander in the lush gardens using one of the many stone paths, or maybe chat with Tina the African Grey. Annie,a pomeranian, that will greet you everyday.

Dawn beach is minutes away and about 20 minutes to Orient Beach (our nude beach) on the French side.

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Robert (Owner)
Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
April 23, 2015

Guestbook comments from the owner

Robert-





The Cottage is an indoor/outdoor architectural masterpiece. Robert has done an amazing job creating this very unique environment and the view from the deck off of the bedroom is fabulous. The interior of the cottage is nicely appointed and very interesting. You are provided with a private entrance off of the road by way of an electronic and secure gate and can park your car just a few steps from the front porch.



Robert is very responsive to emails and was even kind enough to look into what happened to an old friend I had met in Grand Case some years ago. Sadly the news was not good.



The daily morning walk into Oyster Pond is a great way to start the day but be aware that the walk back can be a challenge! Our only disappointment was that Robert was stateside during the first part of our stay so we only had one opportunity to sit down and chat with him. This is a very nice place!





Scott
Jan 2013
  • 1 of 1

Why HomeAway

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.9
based on 37 traveler reviews

Write a Review
St Maarten Cottage, more than just a holiday a very special property.
average rating of 4.918919 based on 38 reviews
Seattle, WA
5

Can we just move in?

  • 5 of 5

I don't have enough words to tell you how great this cottage is. We loved the quiet seclusion, the great view, the property (oh my gosh - the gardens!), and the beautiful cottage itself. The wonderful design and layout of the cottage, the comfort of the a/c and the fans, the gorgeous bathroom (we're getting that shower fixture at home - what an inspiration), and ...did I mention the view? We also loved the private pool! And Bella the German Shepherd was so sweet - well, except when she stole my husband's sandal and chewed it up (note to all: don't leave your shoes on the porch to dry, no matter how sandy!).

Bob was great, very helpful and available, and super thoughtful with all the amenities he provides. What an amazing place! If we get back to St Martin, we're definitely planning to stay at the Cottage again. Thank you so much, Bob.

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Guys, so glad you had a great vacation and appreciated The Cottage. Thank you for your kind words and look forward to seeing you sometime in the future. All the best for the year, Robert
5

Future renters beware !!! Part 4

  • 5 of 5

Addiction rules...STILL

Forth year in a row at the cottage, and we were sooooo glad to be back this year !

See you next year Robert, thanks for everything, and we do mean every-thing !

Need I say more ?

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Guys, always love having you and look forward to your next visit. Stay well and Happy, Robert
5

Relaxed & Refreshed!

  • 5 of 5

Hi Robert

Just wanted to thank you, your family & staff for a wonderful 10 day stay. Your landscaping & grounds maintenance is impressive and were a real treat compared to our current minus 40 temps back home!

The accommodations certainly meet/exceeded our expectations and what was promised on your website.

This was our 4th trip to St. Maarten and must say it was our best! It was great to get away from the hustle & bustle of the major tourist areas and enjoy the peace & tranguility of the Oyster Pond countryside!

As we head over for 10 more days on the island in the Simpson Bay Area, we do so refreshed & completely relaxed!

Thanks again for all you did to make our stay a wonderful & memorable get away!

We will be in contact in the near future to book another stay!

Ken & Janice Kennedy

Manitoba Canada

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
5

Perfect place to stay in St. Maarten

  • 5 of 5

What a lovely cottage! It definitely exceeded our expectations. Robert welcomed us with beer, wine and water. Very nice touch. Location is perfect, 3 minutes from the Dawn beach and right on the border with French side.

Many thanks to Robert for making our vacation very pleasant. Will be coming back-can't wait!

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to your next visit. Robert
5

Celebrated out 10th Wedding Anniversary!!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I decided to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary on St Maarten and luckily found this gem of a cottage. We were able to stay for a week and let me tell you still did not get to see the whole island. This place is so beautiful and the people so nice and helpful we really enjoyed ourselves. Robert was fantastic to work with and made everything so easy (first trip out of the country so that was a bonus). The pictures on the site do not do the cottage or property justice. Getting out everyday on our adventures and meeting new people that either were on a cruise or staying at a resort let us know we made the best choice. Robert and his staff were always available if needed and if not you didn't see him so we were able to get the privacy we wanted. We took an excursion with Captain Alan for snorkeling and had a fantastic time, went to Anguilla for the day and visited Shoal Bay which words just can' t describe, lounged at Pic Paradis and my husband went zip lining which he said "rocked", and soaked up some sun on Pinal. We were able to go to some more places but those were definitely the best. Robert, thank you again for your hospitality and hopefully we will be able to return.

Regards,

Jason and Jessica

  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jessica and Jason, Thank you for the kind words and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to seeing you both again in the future if it is in the stars. Robert
Salem, OR
5

Wow!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our 12 night visit to beautiful St. Maarten. It was our second visit and we managed to see most of the island. Oyster Pond was a great location to be based for exploring the entire island. The cottage was perfect for our needs, private,clean, restful and very well maintained. We really appreciated the supplies in the fridge, as we arrived in the afternoon and Grand Marche, the supermarket was closed. There was a storm on the way and Robert made sure we had extra water and everything else we might need. There were so many great restaurants, beach bars and beaches but our favorite beaches were Pinel Island, Friar's Bay and Happy Bay, Le Galion and Baie Rouge. I would recommend that visitors bring bug spray as there were quite a few mosquitoes which seemed to get worse days after a rainstorm. Robert had that covered as well by providing a citronella candle and some special wrist bands that helped keep them away. When we arrived Robert greeted us and showed us around the cottage. He stocked the fridge with beer, soda, etc. The cottage itself is really, really nice and modern. Full kitchen if you want to cook, and really cool sunken shower, with very good AC both upstairs and downstairs. WIFI if you want to keep in touch with the world, which we did (had to limit myself to one hour a day...vacation after all). Property is gated and secure, not that St. Maarten is dangerous anyway (the "Friendly" island). We loved sitting on the porch day and night reading and enjoying the awesome view and tremendous landscape. I wish I could steal Robert's guys to do my landscape! The pool was wonderful and private. Robert makes sure you have it all to yourself during your stay, although we wouldn't have minded sharing with his very personable granddaughter. I would definitely recommend this property. The only negative, and this is beyond anyone's control, is the loud music from the "gentlemen's club" about a mile away at the bottom of the hill. A few nights when they opened their doors the music was really loud. Not every night though and it wouldn't keep me from renting this excellent property again. Just a minor irritation that ear plugs (also supplied by Robert) resolve. Thanks to Robert, his family, and staff for a wonderful stay! And have fun with Bella (new puppy) who we'll be looking forward to meeting on our next stay.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Guys glad you enjoyed your vacation and look forward to your next visit. Mosquitoes do breed in the hills when we have rain. However, for 9 months (not July, August and September) since being on the Windward side the breeze keeps them at bay. However, the wrist bands work well. The island as a whole has a program where they periodically spray areas. Finally the "gentlemen's club" has strict limits on noise, however, during holidays (emancipation day), and now elections(August 29) they have outdoor activities. Sorry for that inconvenience. Glad plugs did their job. Just a note our above neighbor is the Police Commissioner. lol P.S. I picked the plants and located them. My gardener just dug the holes (hahahaha) Stay well, Robert .

Map

The Cottage located in a secured, gated community on a gated property. On site care-taker, maintenance/gardner, housekeeping every other day. Oyster Bay Beach is only a couple of minutes from The Cottage, Orient Beach (nude beach), a 15 minute drive. Restaurants, casinos, duty-free shopping minutes away. St. Maarten half Dutch and half French gives you two cultures on 35 square miles. From The Cottage view 3 countries, Dutch (St. Maarten), French (St. Martin) and English (Anguilla).

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $140 Per night

Oyster Pond Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Mid Season
Mar 15 2015 - Apr 30 2015
3 night minimum stay
$175
From
$175
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,225
 
 
Low Season
May 1 2015 - Oct 31 2015
3 night minimum stay
$140
From
$140
Fri,Sat,Sun
$980
 
 
Mid Season
Nov 1 2015 - Dec 14 2015
3 night minimum stay
$175
$1,225
 
 
High Season
Dec 15 2015 - Mar 14 2016
3 night minimum stay
$200
$1,400
 

Additional information about rental rates

Notes From $980 per week
200/night December 15th - March 14th
175/night March 15th - May 31st
140/night June 1- October 31st
175/night November 1- December 14th
Includes all taxes and every other day housekeeping services
200/night December 15th - March 14th
175/night March 15th - May 31st
140/night June 1- October 31st
175/night November 1- December 14th
Includes all taxes and every other day house
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Oyster Pond Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Accommodation Type:
  • Guest House
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Bottled Water
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Filtered Water
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Safe
  • Security System
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 3 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - toilet , shower
  • The bathroom is fully equipped and finished in travertine vanity and floor and wall tiles. There is of course hot water and a full shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom - 1 queen
  • Bedroom is air conditioned and has a ceiling fan. There is a flat screen TV with cable service, an Ipod docking station and safe. There are two private balconies that view the Atlantic Ocean and Oyster Pond.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Gated Community
  • Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • marina
  • nude beach
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
1 queen size . Jacuzzi, sculptured rock pool.

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote