Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

ST MAARTEN COTTAGE, MORE THAN JUST A HOLIDAY A VERY SPECIAL PROPERTY.

Robert

Advertiser since 2005
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english, spanish
Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Contact the Owner

Robert

Advertiser since 2005
Speaks english, spanish
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

ST MAARTEN COTTAGE, MORE THAN JUST A HOLIDAY A VERY SPECIAL PROPERTY.

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

Overview

Oyster Pond Cottage Rental Photos and Description

1 bedroom, 1 bathroom, sleeps 2

The Cottage in St Maarten, ideal for truly romantic, peaceful Caribbean vacation. The St Maarten Cottage at Oyster Pond Estates is part of the Estate Chateau Jeca, a fully gated property in secured gated community . The Cottage offers privacy and beauty. Styled after an old West Indian cottage every detail is included; lap board siding, and traditional wood shutters painted in Caribbean colors.

Don't be fooled by the old traditional style, the cottage contains a modern kitchen with stainless steel appliances; micro wave, wall oven and cook top. The entire cottage is air-conditioned. There is cable with 2 flat screen TVs, 2 stereos, Ipod docking station, wireless Internet. The bathroom is built into the hillside with exposed rock and includes large vanity, sink and self contained shower all from Travertine stone. Amenities include outdoor jacuzzi, sculptured pool bordered with stone and views of Oyster Pond, the Atlantic Ocean and Anguilla.

Three private terraces allow for plenty of relaxing time. Also, you can take time to meander in the lush gardens using one of the many stone paths, or maybe chat with Tina the African Grey. Annie,a pomeranian, that will greet you everyday.

Dawn beach is minutes away and about 20 minutes to Orient Beach (our nude beach) on the French side.

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Robert (Owner)
Advertiser since 2005
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english, spanish

Guestbook comments from the owner

Robert-





The Cottage is an indoor/outdoor architectural masterpiece. Robert has done an amazing job creating this very unique environment and the view from the deck off of the bedroom is fabulous. The interior of the cottage is nicely appointed and very interesting. You are provided with a private entrance off of the road by way of an electronic and secure gate and can park your car just a few steps from the front porch.



Robert is very responsive to emails and was even kind enough to look into what happened to an old friend I had met in Grand Case some years ago. Sadly the news was not good.



The daily morning walk into Oyster Pond is a great way to start the day but be aware that the walk back can be a challenge! Our only disappointment was that Robert was stateside during the first part of our stay so we only had one opportunity to sit down and chat with him. This is a very nice place!





Scott
Jan 2013
  • 1 of 1

Why HomeAway

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.9
based on 32 traveler reviews

Write a Review
St Maarten Cottage, more than just a holiday a very special property.
average rating of 4.90625 based on 33 reviews
business
St Maarten Cottage, more than just a holiday a very special property.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p107440
-1 866 978 5829
Oyster Pond St Maarten / Saint Martin
Salem, OR
5

Wow!

  • 5 of 5
My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our 12 night visit to beautiful St. Maarten. It was our second visit and we managed to see most of the island. Oyster Pond was a great location to be based for exploring the entire island. The cottage was perfect for our needs, private,clean, restful and very well maintained. We really appreciated the supplies in the fridge, as we arrived in the afternoon and Grand Marche, the supermarket was closed. There was a storm on the way and Robert made sure we had extra water and everything else we might need. There were so many great restaurants, beach bars and beaches but our favorite beaches were Pinel Island, Friar's Bay and Happy Bay, Le Galion and Baie Rouge. I would recommend that visitors bring bug spray as there were quite a few mosquitoes which seemed to get worse days after a rainstorm. Robert had that covered as well by providing a citronella candle and some special wrist bands that helped keep them away. When we arrived Robert greeted us and showed us around the cottage. He stocked the fridge with beer, soda, etc. The cottage itself is really, really nice and modern. Full kitchen if you want to cook, and really cool sunken shower, with very good AC both upstairs and downstairs. WIFI if you want to keep in touch with the world, which we did (had to limit myself to one hour a day...vacation after all). Property is gated and secure, not that St. Maarten is dangerous anyway (the "Friendly" island). We loved sitting on the porch day and night reading and enjoying the awesome view and tremendous landscape. I wish I could steal Robert's guys to do my landscape! The pool was wonderful and private. Robert makes sure you have it all to yourself during your stay, although we wouldn't have minded sharing with his very personable granddaughter. I would definitely recommend this property. The only negative, and this is beyond anyone's control, is the loud music from the "gentlemen's club" about a mile away at the bottom of the hill. A few nights when they opened their doors the music was really loud. Not every night though and it wouldn't keep me from renting this excellent property again. Just a minor irritation that ear plugs (also supplied by Robert) resolve. Thanks to Robert, his family, and staff for a wonderful stay! And have fun with Bella (new puppy) who we'll be looking forward to meeting on our next stay.
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Guys glad you enjoyed your vacation and look forward to your next visit.

Mosquitoes do breed in the hills when we have rain. However, for 9 months (not July, August and September) since being on the Windward side the breeze keeps them at bay. However,
the wrist bands work well. The island as a whole has a program where they periodically spray
areas.

Finally the "gentlemen's club" has strict limits on noise, however, during holidays (emancipation day), and now elections(August 29) they have outdoor activities. Sorry for that inconvenience. Glad plugs did their job.

Just a note our above neighbor is the Police Commissioner. lol

P.S. I picked the plants and located them. My gardener just dug the holes (hahahaha)

Stay well,
Robert .
business
St Maarten Cottage, more than just a holiday a very special property.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p107440
-1 866 978 5829
Oyster Pond St Maarten / Saint Martin
Where do you live?
4

Our Stay At Oyster Pond

  • 4 of 5
What a beautiful sneak away on St. Martin. From a day on the beach- the cottage seems like a tropical garden. The plants, landscaping and view are lovely. We had everything we needed.
We would highly recommend the Cottage to any lovebirds looking for a private getaway.
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
St Maarten Cottage, more than just a holiday a very special property.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p107440
-1 866 978 5829
Oyster Pond St Maarten / Saint Martin
Stouffville, Ontario, Canada
5

SPECTACULAR VIEWS

  • 5 of 5
We arrived at the cottage for a 10 day stay. Jan 30th to Feb 10th 2014 Driving directions from the airport that were given by Robert were PERFECT and we easily found the property.
Robert and Luna were waiting to greet us when we arrived. He showed us through the cottage and all the particulars around the pool and hot tub - then we did not see him again. (if needed - he is just a quick text or email away) Luna however was a daily greeter and a wonderful dog to have a visit with.
We traversed the entire island during our stay, seeking out different beaches and shops etc. Philipsburg has wonderful shopping- just go on line and fine out when the cruise ship schedule is- and go on the days that they are not in port. We had most of the shops to ourselves and likewise for lunch- lots of seating and space.
Our fav beach is Friar's beach. The waves are calm and its really lovely there. A bit hard to find, but a gem when you finally make it. Stay and have lunch- it's delightful.
The cottage itself is very comfortable and EXACTLY as pictured on the VRBO website. I do not have any complaints about this property- except that you will fall in love with the area and find it hard to leave when your vacation comes to an end.
Most nights were spend star gazing while in the hot tub, listening to music or having a glass of wine, there was beyond wonderful.
Lastly, on the day we were leaving Robert had been into town and realized there was a road issue that would cause us some concern with getting back to the airport. He explained an alternate route to me that was clear and easy to follow- and that allowed us to deliver our rental car and return to the airport with lots of time to spare and stress free.
Thank you Robert for opening your property to travellers, looking for a rejuvenation to their souls. We would LOVE to return!!
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Cottage and
on St. Maarten. Also your kind words are appreciated.

We hope that indeed you decide to come and visit again. Good luck
with the new home.
business
St Maarten Cottage, more than just a holiday a very special property.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p107440
-1 866 978 5829
Oyster Pond St Maarten / Saint Martin
5

Future renters Beware!!! Part 3

  • 5 of 5
Addiction rules...

Robert, I must say thank you once again for your warm welcome and for a wonderful third-time-around-stay at your cozy little peace of paradise. We depart well rested with beautiful memories to cherish on those remaining winter weeks ahead of us.

Our morning coffee on the upstairs patio with nothing but the vista all around and the lights at night In the manicured garden, while enjoying the spa, were moments that we've truly come to enjoy. We did also share a few good times with our brave friends and with family, who defied the cold weather, to join us this year, on the Island, and had wonderful meal at Big Fish, down next to the marina, and at La Voile Blanche, Orient Bay.

We've traveled around the world, and found something special in SXM, something worth coming back. The cottage is one of the reasons we feel the need for more.
Why must you say ?
Because it is very well maintained and has all the comforts of home. Prepare yourself to have an amazing time !

We leave with a smile on our face, knowing that we will be seing you again next december for 4 additional weeks in paradise.
Until then, take care and enjoy your home sweet home.

With anticipation,

Mireille and Stéphane.
  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Guys good to see you again and look forward to your next stay. As always appreciate your kind words and pleased you enjoyed your time at The Cottage.
business
St Maarten Cottage, more than just a holiday a very special property.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p107440
-1 866 978 5829
Oyster Pond St Maarten / Saint Martin
Greenville, NC
5

Wonderfully Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
I don't even know if I have the words to articulate how wonderful our vacation was. I was even sick the last two days and it was still that great! My husband and I arrived for our 8 day vacation on 11/21. After a long day of travel, Robert's directions were spot on. We arrived with Luna there waiting to greet us. Robert took us on a tour of the cottage and property and explained everything we needed to know. Then we never saw him again. Not that we would have minded, that's just how private it is. Any time we had questions, we emailed and got quick, warm responses. The cottage is perfect for a couple and has all the amenities of home. We even traveled to the fish market and cooked at home several times. The island is breathtaking. The cottage was quaint and romantic and exactly what we were hoping for. Robert was the perfect host. And Luna was the perfect compliment. Make sure you pick up some bologna for Luna. She came every morning for her daily treat. The only thing I would change, coasters. The cottage needs coasters. The furniture was so nice I was always afraid I would leave drink rings through the paper towels. Thank you so much for such a wonderfully perfect vacation!
  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Guys,

Glad you enjoyed yourself. Thank you for the kind words.
Coasters are going in tomorrow. Lol

Hope to see you again in the future.
Robert
business
St Maarten Cottage, more than just a holiday a very special property.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p107440
-1 866 978 5829
Oyster Pond St Maarten / Saint Martin
5

Perfect romantic getaway

  • 5 of 5
We were hosted here at the Cottage guest house of Chateau Jecca. It was the perfect getaway for our 15th anniversary. Every piece of that cottage was so well planned out and beautifully made - it was the perfect ambiance. The multi-level design made it very spacious on the inside, and we never felt cramped. The grounds of the estate are stunning tropical gardens, craftsman stonework and breathtaking views of the rural part of the island on the facing hills, and Caribbean below. Quiet and private and perfect. The guests have total access to the pool and hot tub and privacy while doing so. Luna the German Shepherd puppy is a lovely quadrapedal ambassador and cohost. The loving care that the family has given the property for so many years comes through for guests as beauty in every direction you turn your head. We loved the second floor bedroom balcony for evening wine and cheese and the tropical garden encased front porch for coffee. The owner, helped my husband arrange to have anniversary champagne and roses waiting for us upon arrival. He was wonderful to deal with as we planned the trip, and we absolutely will return to this spot. The Cottage has become the new default setting for where to go for the just-the-2-of-us getaway. Great experience all the way through thanks to the professionalism in the business arrangements and the lovely personalities on site during our stay. Gorgeous, private, perfect, romantic spot. Venez ici, restez ici, revenez ici - parfait!
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words. So
Glad you enjoyed your stay.

You guys were perfect guests.

Map

Map

The Cottage located in a secured, gated community on a gated property. On site care-taker, maintenance/gardner, housekeeping every other day. Oyster Bay Beach is only a couple of minutes from The Cottage, Orient Beach (nude beach), a 15 minute drive. Restaurants, casinos, duty-free shopping minutes away. St. Maarten half Dutch and half French gives you two cultures on 35 square miles. From The Cottage view 3 countries, Dutch (St. Maarten), French (St. Martin) and English (Anguilla).

Photos

Photos

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Oyster Pond Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Low Season
May 1 2014 - Oct 31 2014
3 night minimum stay
$140
From
$140
Fri,Sat,Sun
$980
 
 
High Season
Dec 15 2014 - Mar 15 2015
3 night minimum stay
$200
$1,400
 

Additional information about rental rates

Notes From $980 per week
200/night December 15th - March 14th
175/night March 15th - May 31st
140/night June 1- October 31st
175/night November 1- December 14th
Includes all taxes and every other day housekeeping services
200/night December 15th - March 14th
175/night March 15th - May 31st
140/night June 1- October 31st
175/night November 1- December 14th
Includes all taxes and every other day house

Amenities

Amenities

Oyster Pond Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Accommodation Type:
  • Guest House
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Bottled Water
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Filtered Water
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Safe
  • Security System
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 3 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - toilet , shower
  • The bathroom is fully equipped and finished in travertine vanity and floor and wall tiles. There is of course hot water and a full shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom - 1 queen
  • Bedroom is air conditioned and has a ceiling fan. There is a flat screen TV with cable service, an Ipod docking station and safe. There are two private balconies that view the Atlantic Ocean and Oyster Pond.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Gated Community
  • Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • marina
  • nude beach
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
1 queen size . Jacuzzi, sculptured rock pool.

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote