I NEVER write a bad review and don't enjoy doing so this time but I depend on people to give me their honest feedback so I had to respond. This rental is not as pictured. We found out after the fact, that this villa has been "rebranded" to escape negative reviews. The villa was previously known as Little Plantation. We found the villa to be over priced. If the owner reduced the price, this is an adequate rental with a nice view of Coral Bay but it wasn't as advertised. The rental lacked amenities like; guide books and simple things like batteries in remotes, working smoke detectors, warm showers, kitchen consumables, beach toys, beach chairs... The television was small and was situated in a hallway so it was difficult for 5 of us to gather and watch television together. When we arrived the DVD player and VCR didn't work. The laundry room was locked because we were told renters use too much water. The owner did unlock the laundry room at our request and did replace the DVD player. Unlike other rentals in St. John, this villa lacks any potable water so you have buy all drinking water. Please note that this villa does not have a dishwasher. On the positive side, the owner went out and bought a few board games when we asked if she had any and the pool was clean. The owner also provided a vacuum cleaner at our request. We have come to expect certain amenities at this price at St. John. We visit St. John every year and have stayed at many villas and this is the ONLY one we've been disappointed by. We usually rent well in advance but this time we decided to make a spontaneous trip. We go to St. John for the beaches and vistas; not for the villa but don't be fooled, this ten year old villa is overpriced and the living area is tired.
Owner's Response: As the saying goes - 'you can't please everyone' - even when they bring extra people they don't feel they need to pay the extra charge for (as advertised), and I let it go. BAD START. Yet I also gave him his security deposit back before he checked out, realizing I was dealing with a very disturbing and dangerous character. Normally there is a forty five day wait to return security deposits, but in this case, it gave him the opportunity to immediately post his review. For someone who didn't like the "run down villa" , as he called it, he never left the property. I know this due to running back and forth for every little thing he requested. It became a game to him. Not sure what he means "rebranded". The location of Little Plantation is at least one square mile, with many villas. Property here is divided into territories. Bottom line - time to get a bigger tv. Hot water showers are very hot. Third shower located outside - yes, cold water. Those who don't watch tv during vacation, in a warm location, usually like cold showers. DVD player works when plugged in. Did upgrade DVD player. AA batteries for remote in bowl above tv. Laundry room was opened the next morning when the water truck delivery came. Smoke detectors work. I believe he spent his whole time going over the villa, and never saw St. John.
Helpful votes: 4/5
Did you find this review helpful?