Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.


S. Hertzberg, advertiser, has been with CyberRentals/ Homeaway since 1998

Member since: 1998
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, french, Francais/courriel
Bedrooms 3
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

S. Hertzberg, advertiser, has been with CyberRentals/ Homeaway since 1998

Member since: 1998
Speaks: english, french, Francais/courriel
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 24, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


Bedrooms 3
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


Stowe Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description


[Also NOTE: rate chart design/format may result in rate errors. Please inquire directly for accurate information.]

Wi-Fi Internet access. EASILY ACCESSIBLE, EXTRA-CLEAN 3 bedroom, 2 bath, mid-19th century farmhouse on 2+ hilltop country acres...and maybe a glimpse of our neighborhood DEER that visit regularly! Furnished with antique accents and immaculately maintained. Fully equipped, cook's delight kitchen. Modern, warm, spacious interior has hardwood and ceramic tile floors, plus slate entry mudroom. Wood stove-fireplace + covered porch for summer dining. Perennial gardens, small apple orchard, barn. Dramatic views from our hilltop location minutes from Stowe Village, Alpine and cross-country skiing, and Stowe's famous all-seasons Recreation Path. 5 minutes to Stowe Village. Generally less than 15 min. to Mt. Mansfield skiing. 40 min. to Lake Champlain and Burlington, VT. Proximity to Boston and Montreal. INTERIOR PHOTOS/slide show--SEE LINK BELOW. Think fallow field, country road and covered bridge, or evergreens drenched in snow -- that's Deer Hollow! NO PETS OR SMOKING PLEASE.

ALLERGIES? Please Note: Pets and smoking are strictly prohibited. All efforts have been made to maintain a reduced-allergen environment.

Any season, Stowe offers excellent facilities to visitors from all over the world. From the highest peak in Vermont (Mount Mansfield) for pristine skiing to a championship 18-hole Golf Course with a view of Mount Mansfield in the distance, you'll be enchanted by Stowe...and you'll be back. DEER HOLLOW AT STOWE offers you rural vistas combined with the comforts of home, and access to all of Stowe's magic within minutes...and maybe a glimpse of the neighborhood *Deer* that visit regularly!! Experience Serendipity: Happy and unexpected discoveries made by accident... or, BY RESERVATION! Interior by ZAN KAYE.

No pets or smoking, please. (Note:JetBlue flies to Burlington, Vermont.)

COMMENT FROM VISITOR: Deer Hollow really did give us the best of everything. Close to Stowe town but also far enough away to feel isolated, a beautiful log fire on wintry nights and in general a place of calm escape. I'll never forget sitting by the fire reading Robert Frost at night, then walking out the next morning through the landscape of his poetry - perfect fields of snow, still roads overhung with branches and an incredible light on the horizon between the distant trees.

ANOTHER COMMENT: We usually try to go somewhere completely different every time for our vacations, but we both agreed we'd be tempted to come back. We've never rented a house that was so spotless or so well equipped, either. Thanks!

aND ANOTHER: Deer Hollow is spacious and very clean, a house with a personality and at the same time easy to feel at home in and we would like to thank Susan for her hospitality + we did see a DEER!

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
S. Hertzberg, advertiser, has been with CyberRentals/ Homeaway since 1998 (Owner)
Member since: 1998
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, french, Francais/courriel
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 24, 2015

About S. Hertzberg, advertiser, has been with CyberRentals/ Homeaway since 1998

When I speak with anyone who inquires about DEER HOLLOW AT STOWE, I tell them about the continual efforts that are made to provide an extra-clean environment, and an especially comfortable vacation experience. As a recent guest from the UK reported, "Everything was as Susan described, and spanking clean." See many INTERIOR PHOTOS at the website slide show. I'll look forward to your visit!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Dear Susan, We had a wonderful vacation. We enjoyed all the comforts and conveniences of your awesome vacation home and neighborhood!….Your kitchen was fabulous to cook in—as we ate all our meals in (or on the porch ;-)

We hope we can stay here again in the future. Thanks again.
Aug 2006
  • 1 of 6

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 3
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 12 traveler reviews

Write a Review
average rating of 4.75 based on 18 reviews
Brighton, UK

Summertime in Stowe

  • 5 of 5

Susan's cottage is well situated, just a few of miles out of Stowe, both for the peace of the mountains and for the high-life. Stowe proved a lively place even in the 'low' summer season. There's a vast choice of places to eat and drink there, although with such a high-spec kitchen we often ate in - and one evening even entertained friends and family. The place is wonderfully spacious. Everything was as Susan described, and spanking clean. The weather was perfect and we enjoyed breakfast and after-dinner drinks on the porch, entertained by butterflies, birds and dragonflies. Our young American nephews insisted we visit Ben and Jerry's icecream factory and the Magic Hat brewery - free samples included! And we particularly enjoyed a visit to Montpelier. We would definitely recommend 'Deer Hollow' in the summer months to other non-skiers like ourselves.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: JenandDave cheerfully discovered that Deer Hollow is the picture-perfect place to stay when visiting Stowe or the surrounding areas. In Stowe, the hills are often "alive with the sound of music" because there is almost always a festival or market happening each weekend during the summer: music, food, garden, hot-air balloons, antique cars, etc. (During the winter ski season, the roads are extremely well-maintained to accommodate visitors and locals alike.) I personally take extra-care of the house to make sure your stay is perfectly comfortable. Experience the night silence and daytime beauty of Deer Hollow at'll be quite pleased! JenandDave...come back during the fall PEEK season--I'm sure you'll love it!

Quiet Accomodations

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Susan's in the summer of 2014, with 4 adults, and 3 children (incl. a 9 monthes old one).

The house is very well situated close to Stowe town center. It is well taking care off, and absolutely immaculate. I particularly liked that the kitchen is well apppointed, which was great for us since we enjoy home cooked meals! The yard was also great to let the kids run and play and we enjoyed it very much.

On the down side, there is no railing on one side of the stair case. This is not a big issue, but famillies with small children should be aware. Lastly, we have been renting houses through Home away from home many times, and I felt that the reservation/ house takeover process could have been easier.

This being said, we had a great time and would recommend this property for others visiting Stowe.

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway

deer hollow a nice quiet place to go

  • 5 of 5

We got to deer hollow because our other rental did not work out. susan, the owner was great ! She got us into deer hollow on short notice! The property is on a very accessible road but far from any hustle and bustle....we woke up to a beautiful setting but not too far from the stowe mountain road. I would highly recommend staying at deer hollow.

  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kudos! I'm really glad things worked out well for you. I manage the property myself and want to be as helpful as possible, from initial inquiry to check-out. When guests arrive after dark, they are always impressed the next morning by Deer Hollow’s beautiful setting, no matter the season. (They also love the fabulous views on the way to and from the Village.) It was a pleasure to welcome you and your family to Deer Hollow—hopefully you’ll come back to experience another spectacular season in Stowe. Right now, I’m heading out for a walk in the brilliant sunshine…there’s three feet of snow and it’s 12° F!

Great place, really cute, beautiful area

  • 5 of 5

Great little country house! Very clean and comfortable.

  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Deer Hollow truly is in a beautiful and peaceful setting, right down to the uncommon stand of ancient oak trees on the property. And, VERY CLEAN & COMFORTABLE is absolutely my aim! I’m very happy you enjoyed your stay at Deer Hollow. Come back again to explore the surrounding area—there are so many things to see and do!

Ideal location for 3-generation family holiday

  • 4 of 5

Deer Hollow is well described in the literature and provided perfect accommodation for us grand-parents travelling from the UK to spend time with son, wife and 2 grand-children (9 and 7) who had travelled to Vermont from California. We wanted a peaceful location but one where we could go out and visit interesting places in the area.

The owner was there to meet and greet us and show us the amenities. We were reassured by this in that it showed the level of care that she has for her house which was well appointed and beautifully clean.

We enjoyed renting bikes, visiting Cold Hollow Cider Mill, Morse Maple Syrup Farm, boating/kayaking on Westbury Reservoir, visiting Ben & Jerry's Ice Cream factory. We didn't eat out much, preferring to snack while out and then have a meal together when returning to base.

The whole holiday was very special with only a couple of hiccups:

1) It was promised that the grass would be cut but it wasn't during our week's visit and this curtailed outdoor games etc. with our grand-children. Disappointing

2) Both the payment of the rental fee and re-payment of the security deposit were very costly in bank charges when paying and receiving to/from the UK and took the edge off what otherwise was a brilliant holiday. Perhaps if we could have had the facility to pay by credit card this hassle and extra cost may have been avoided or lessened.

I would recommend this property for a peaceful outdoorsy holiday for people who like countryside and fresh air (which we do).

  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: As with many UK visitors in the past, Richard and family really enjoyed their stay at Deer Hollow and its easy-access to all area activities. Located in a highly scenic and tranquil setting, Deer Hollow also invites lazing on the covered porch to read or just to watch the butterflies flit by. I would like to note that the grass did not get cut as promised during Richard’s stay because of a number of overlapping and unfortunate occurrences and some miscommunication: there had been continuous, excessive rainfall for many weeks before Richard’s arrival and the grass could not be cut; as well, our property manager had two personal problems at the time: she was hurt in an auto accident, and her lawn-care equipment had broken down. There is, however, a large open area under the ancient oak trees that shade one side of the house (see photos) where the grass never grows much at all, and that area can always be used for outdoor activities. Regardless of these things beyond my control, I apologized to Richard for any inconvenience. I would also like to note that while it is the case that there are bank charges to both me and visitors from the UK when transferring money, these vary tremendously depending on which bank is used by each visitor. Some banks’ fees are minimal. In an effort to try to minimize these costs for Richard, I accommodated all requests to explore various options. This resulted in at least 24 emails—rereading them, including those written after Richard’s return to England, they are all very positive about the family's stay at Deer Hollow and the return of the security deposit; It was clear that we had both been very cooperative. I am exploring other payment options for future guests.

Cozy stay near Stowe

  • 4 of 5

My friends and I ( 3 couples) stayed here for the winter holidays overlapping 2013 New Year.

1) Location: Excellent - 10min from a grocery store. 25min to Stowe mtn. Useful to have a 4wd vehicle, but even the "dirt road" leading up to the house gets paved in storms (there was a massive one after we got there) and there is a designated snow plow for the drive way.

2) Space: Great 3 bedroom, but one has 2 double beds which could be awkward if the group is composed of all couples, but we worked through it. Some of the locks on the bathrooms and bedrooms need to be replaced and we notified the owner who will fix it. Having a kitchen was great since we didn't feel like going out every night, and it was well stocked with all the necessary dishes. The heater makes a loud creaking sound in one of the bedrooms, but we dealt with this by having heater on to get the place toasty before bedtime and then turning if off for the night.

3) Cost: Relative to other places we looked at, this was a great deal and quite convenient. We were a little wary of wiring money rather than provide a credit card number for the cost of the stay, but I can only tell you that it all worked out. The deposit paid for in cash was refunded very promptly, though it required a trip to a bank branch (since my Citi ATM wouldn't accept a Canadian check).

4) Owner: Susan clearly loves her house and rightly wants you to take care of it properly. If your group is like ours, and you're looking for convenient access to the mountain, enjoy cooking together and a glass of wine and board games, this is probably a great place for you. Susan also went the extra mile to send us back a bed sheet we had left behind and followed up with us to make sure we had everything we needed. We couldn't have asked for more in terms of responsiveness and consideration.

5) Connectivity - one minor issue is that there is no cable or wifi. We relied on our smartphones so email and looking up restaurant reviews wasn't too taxing, but you should be aware of this if you are looking to do extensive work and don't have a data connection that you can tether to your laptop.

Overall: we would definitely recommend this cabin to those looking for convenience and charm.

  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dan, thanks very much for taking the time to write a comprehensive review. ONE CORRECTION: THE HOUSE IS NOW WiFi CONNECTED. [You had offered to remove your Comment #5 but unfortunately could not find the way to accomplish that on the Homeaway website.] Dan and friends visited Stowe during the New Year holiday period. The town is always bustling then, and the times you noted to get to various places can be affected. Normally, it takes me 5 minutes to get to the Shaws Supermarket, which marks the beginning of the actual Village. Stowe's Mt. Mansfield area generally takes me 15-20 minutes to get to when there are regular traffic levels in town. Deer Hollow is always easily accessible: Town roads are all attended to regularly, especially in snow storms, and Deer Hollow's driveway is maintained by the property manager. The only exception to that is what's referred to as "mud season" (a 5th season, dependent on the level of snow melt in early spring, which is annually evident to varying degrees!). Yet, I have always driven a front-wheel drive car to get to the house. The last mile is a hard-packed dirt road that is regularly maintained by the town's graders and plows. Re: door locks and noise in one bedroom from heating system...I will investigate possible solutions. I also want to add the following note you sent me in an email after your stay: "The house was great, very conveniently located to the town and not far from the mountain at all. We love your decor and the fireplace. Also, the sleds were great! We used them on the hill behind the elementary school and it was a great experience." I'm really happy that you and your friends thoroughly enjoyed your Deer Hollow/Stowe experience. Please come back again--maybe during another season--for a completely different Stowe adventure. If it's not winter, you may also want to explore the surrounding villages or Burlington on Lake Champlain... and don't forget Montreal!


Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Burlington International Airport
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Stowe Country Club
Nearest Train
14 Miles
Nearest Motorway
14 Miles
Exit 10/Route 89
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
40+ in Stowe; many others in surrounding areas
Nearest Ski
5 Miles
Mt. Mansfield, Stowe
Nearest Beach
13 Miles
Waterbury Center State Park; Elmore State Park
Car: recommended

Enjoy cross-country skiing just down the road, or hike/bicycle to Sterling Valley Gorge. Scenic drives, spectacular Fall Foliage. Downhill skiing, snowboarding, snow shoeing, dog sledding, horse-drawn sledding, & horseback riding. Golf (18 hole or mini-golf), canoe, kayak. Fish, swim, sail, scuba in lakes, rivers and pools (majestic Lake Champlain). Mountain Gondola & Mount Mansfield hiking/skiing (highest peak in Vt). Public: ice-skating rink, indoor pool and gym, tennis courts. Public access full-service health/sport club facilities and yoga classes. Boutique shopping and Stowe Farmer's Market. Varied restaurant options or home food delivery. Art museum, ski museum, theater, films. Stowe Festivals (sum/fall) = music, garden, food and wine, crafts, balloon, automobile and antiques. Stowe has it all...almost endless entertainment & dining options, plus the rural tranquility of Northern Vt. and proximity to picturesque Lake Champlain -- and Montreal, Canada's cosmopolitan showplace.

Other Activities: Canoe or kayak trips, ice skating, dog sledding, snowboarding, snowshoeing, many summer and fall festivals, horseback riding plus spectacular Fall Foliage...and Much More.

Golf: 18-Hole championship course open to the public with spectacular views of the surrounding mountains and Mt. Mansfield, the highest peak in Vermont.

Ski: Mt. Mansfield is the highest peak in Vermont and home to excellent east-coast skiing. Natural and man-made snow provide a long season for great skiing experiences. Trail-side amenities available include internet access, Gondola and mountain-top dining.


Rates & Availability

From $178 Per night

Stowe Farmhouse Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Reduced Rate_SKI WKs $212-$278
Mar 1 2015 - Apr 30 2015
7 night minimum stay
WEEKLY SPEC'L $178 to $238
May 13 2015 - Jul 26 2015
7 night minimum stay
August & FOLIAGE $212 to $278
Jul 27 2015 - Nov 23 2015
7 night minimum stay
Dec 11 2015 - Dec 16 2015
5 night minimum stay
Dec 17 2015 - Jan 6 2016
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Notes STANDARD RATE for 2 occupants >> reduced to $288/night [3-night min.].
Special rates for LONGER STAYS: wEEKLY NON-HOLIDAY $212-278/nite [Winter, Foliage & Aug.] $178-238/nite [May 13-July 26].
Labor Day holiday period [Sept.3-8, 2015] HOLIDAY RATES APPLY_3 nite min.
ALL HOLIDAY PERIODS $488/nite for 2 occ. OR $568/nite for 3-6 occ.[inquire about minimum stays and special offers]
NOTE: rate chart design&format may result in rate errors.
Enter dates to see total


Stowe Farmhouse Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • farmhouse
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Resort
  • Rural
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom - toilet , shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom - 1 queen
    Bedroom - 1 double
    Bedroom - 2 twin/ single
  • All bedrooms are furnished with comfortable all-cotton sheets, blankets, quilt covers, and pillow shams. No feather blankets or pillows are used. Bedroom floors are carpet-free and are finished in rustic oak (area carpets in living room and den only). Floor mats are provided for your convenience. Maximum effort has been made to maintain a reduced-allergen environment. (Smoking and pets are always prohibited).
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Tennis ...
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Yard
  • 6 garden chairs
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Wood stove in brick fireplace and sound system in living room. Den at opposite end of house with 32" LED TV, DVD player and film library. 100% cotton linens, blankets, towels, sofa/covers. Hardwood, ceramic tile, and slate flooring. Covered porch, new gas BBQ, and outdoor furniture (2 tables, many chairs). Kitchen & bedroom fans. Indoor closet for skis. Every effort has been made to maintain a reduced-allergen environment. [PETS and SMOKING are strictly prohibited]

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote