COASTAL TIN MINER'S COTTAGE WITH SEA VIEWS BETWEEN ST. JUST & ST IVES

Micheline Gunter

Speaks french, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Micheline Gunter

Speaks french, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

COASTAL TIN MINER'S COTTAGE WITH SEA VIEWS BETWEEN ST. JUST & ST IVES

Boscaswell Cottage Rental Photos and Description

2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom, sleeps a maximum of 5(2 adults,3children)

The cottage is made of 3 foot thick granite stone with a flagstone floor partly covered with rugs. It is tastefully decorated retaining its original rustic charm. At the heart of the main living area there is a wood and coal burning stove with the sofa to one side and dining table and chairs to the other. There is also a flat screen colour TV and DVD player. The kitchen is off one side with all basic equipment, small cooker, fridge freezer, microwave oven, and toaster. Off the other side of the living area is the full bathroom with bath and shower hose, and heated towel rail. The two bedrooms are upstairs with views of the sea. One double and the other with bunk-beds, that can be put side-by-side if required. The windows are all double glazed, there is a storage heater and wall mounted electric radiators in each room. The garden has a paved area, raised seated area (with glorious views of the sea and sunset) and small lawn. There is a spectacular coastal path 5 minutes walk from the cottage which leads along the cliffs to sandy coves, Geevor Tin Mine (with lovely cafe and spectacular view) and Pendeen Watch Lighthouse. A wood burning stove at the cottage makes the romantic setting complete.

Surrounding Area: Peaceful, quiet village with a short walk to the corner shop and two pubs and post office in Pendeen. Penzance is 15 minutes drive away for shopping, trains, buses, restaurants and tennis. The Geevor Tin Mine is also a short walk away. And the Pendeen Watch Lighthouse is on the way to our closest beach, Portheras, about a 30 minute walk from the cottage or few minutes drive to park by the lighthouse and lovely walk to the beach. St. Ives and the Tate Gallery are 25 minutes drive away on a dramatic coastal road with spectacular scenery, cliffs, wild flowers and ancient standing stones. Also many birds and wild life, idyllic beaches, surfing, horse riding, fishing, sailing and trips to the Scilly Isles. The wonderful Eden Project is an easy 45 minute drive away, and many gardens including The Lost Gardens of Heligan. Also bird, seal, and butterfly Parks (brochures are in the cottage). And, of course, there is picturesque Mousehole with great restaurants, and lastly Land's End.

Many wonderful restaurants in the area. : See list of restaurants available in the cottage or request from owner by email. The restaurants change over the years so I'd rather give you up to date recommendations!

Review of cottage: Sent: August 25, 2007

Dear Micheline,

Many thanks for making our holiday in Cornwall memorable. Your cottage is fabulous and I will keep your email address on file for the next time we come to Cornwall. We loved everything about our holiday despite the weather the first week and the M5 shutting down and the children think it is far better than going abroad. As for the cottage it is a charming dream of a place.

Hope you have many happy years there. (My reply: Yes, we have had 30 very happy years of going to the cottage!)

More Details
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • children welcome
  • pets considered

Micheline Gunter

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 1996
Speaks french, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

We are a family of three generations who live in London and all of us take turns at the cottage as there are now too many of us! It's been a very special and much loved place for us for over 30 years. Almost all our friends have been to visit the cottage and several have found their own properties near us. Some have even moved permanently to Cornwall. It's a magical place!

Micheline Gunter purchased this cottage in 1978

We rented the property in the summer of 1977 and immediately loved it. The owners worked at Leach Pottery in St. Ives and the cottage was filled with wonderful pots. Leach tiles still surround the kitchen sink. The Geevor tin mine was still working then and we loved all the history of the area.

We loved the fact that it was a working village and not touristy when we bought it and it's still unspoilt. We like the view of the sea the most and being so near the most stunning coastal paths, coves for watching seals and basking sharks, and those amazing sunsets over the sea. We love those granite stone walls, the wood burning stove, and cosiness of the cottage.

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

3.8
based on 12 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Coastal Tin Miner's Cottage with sea views between St. Just & St Ives
average rating of 3.8333333 based on 12 reviews
business
Coastal Tin Miner's Cottage with sea views between St. Just & St Ives
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104
+44 (0)20 8444 0551
Boscaswell St Ives area
London
4

Great little cottage

  • 4 of 5
Very accessible to stunning coastal walks and beaches to discover. Only draw back is some of the village looks like a council estate.
  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2008
  • Stayed: Apr 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Future renters: We agree with this review but would like to say that the council estate looking part of the village is the upper part of Boscaswell and not seen at all from the cottage in Lower Boscaswell which are mostly 200+ old cottages like ours as you can see in the photos or newer bungalows with the required granite stones on the exterior.

We've owned the cottage for 30 years now and would never part with it!
business
Coastal Tin Miner's Cottage with sea views between St. Just & St Ives
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104
+44 (0)20 8444 0551
Boscaswell St Ives area
5

Lovely cottage, great view

  • 5 of 5
Dear Micheline,

we just wanted to wish you and your family a happy new year and many more lovely days in Tin Miner's Cottage. We stayed in Boscaswell in the beginning of summer 2012 and I am afraid we never found the time to thank you enough for this little precious cottage you have restored. We really loved to stay there, although the weather was "medium", and spent a lovely vacation we love to remember! Everything was exactly as you described it and we took advantage of many of the recommendations you gave us. Especially the Pendeen farmer's market was an event - we bought the most amazing pies there, 100% home made :-) We hope we can go back again some day and spend more time at your place!
  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Coastal Tin Miner's Cottage with sea views between St. Just & St Ives
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104
+44 (0)20 8444 0551
Boscaswell St Ives area
1

The coldest Christmas ever

  • 1 of 5
The owner seems to be a lovely person who adores this rather shabby property but if they wish to charge others to stay there needs, at the very least, to buy heaters that are not so old and tired that they no longer heat the house. The floors are granite with no substantial rugs and the walls are unlined meaning that any heating put on is instantly absorbed. In addition, when the house has been empty, money needs to be spent on warming and drying the house so that guests do not have to sleep fully clothed on a damp mattress, under damp bedding in a freezing cold room. I am sure that in the summer this house might be “quaint” and the location is great, but in the winter it is freezing! (We have lived in many old properties, some without central heating but have NEVER been as cold as we were here). The owner needs to buy 4 modern oil filled radiators, with timers so that people can at least make the house warm if they are willing to spend the large sums of money swallowed by the settings on the coin meter (it costs around £3 to heat one tank of water for a bath! And guests are expected to buy an entire bottle of calor gas if the one there runs out and as you can imagine, the granite bathroom with metal bath and leaky windows is unusable without it!).In addition a proper, usable cooker needs to be installed and the bare copper wire, wrapped around a mains cable holding up the curtain rail needs to be removed immediately! My partner, an electrician, declared this the most dangerous thing he had ever seen.The property is very small and with one 2 seater sofa and very limited space in the kitchen is only suitable for a couple. The car park is full (despite my specific question to the owner as we have a brand new estate car) and on most occasions we had to park next to a wall and merely hope that the turning bus didn’t reverse into it! I am sorry for writing this review, it really is the first negative review I have ever written about anything much preferring to take the time to say positive things, but what was supposed to have been a romantic Christmas getaway, felt like a nightmare and I do not want others to have such a disappointing and uncomfortable winter break. We seriously considered returning home after the first 2 freezing, damp nights but having paid £400 decided that we would at least see some of the area and by the time we had spent a week and a fortune on coal (£46) and electricity (£20) the place was almost mildly warm when we left.
  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are devastated to hear about this renter's disappointing trip. As soon as we heard we offered to refund the additional costs for heating and offered our apologies. Since receiving this review we have taken on board the comments and installed new wall mounted electric radiators in each room, and replaced the window in the bathroom.
We do hope that our description and photographs of the cottage are clear and not misleading in anyway. We try to replace, repair and update as much as we can while retaining the original features such as the granite walls and floor, which we see as the heart of the cottage's charm.
We would also like to reassure that the wire used to hold and repair the curtain rail is not an electrical wire, and in no way connected to the electricity supply.
We are more than happy to answer any questions you may have to help you make a decision about booking this property.
business
Coastal Tin Miner's Cottage with sea views between St. Just & St Ives
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104
+44 (0)20 8444 0551
Boscaswell St Ives area
5

The most beautiful place on earth

  • 5 of 5
We have just come back from the wonderfully relaxing, refreshing time ever. I really could have stayed forever!
The cottage was clean, beautifully decorated and really cosy. Waking up to views of the sea everyday was definitely a big bonus. We spent days out going to Sennen Cove and walking along the coastal path exploring the old tin mines. One of the highlights of the week was a long coastal walk to St Ives on Thurs which was 13.5miles and took us a total of 6.5hrs but was worth it. Such stunning scenery. After that we felt entitled to a few days rest and recuperation - reading, playing scrabble and yoga. We spent most evenings in next to the wood burning stove and eating lovely meals made in the surprisingly well equipped kitchen.
The cottage really is the most special place in the most wonderful location in the world and I feel very lucky to have been able to spend time there so thank you again!
  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are delighted with this review! Always nice to hear from people who like our special place as much as we do. We still feel lucky to have spent over 30 years coming back here year after year. And if the weather is kind which it often is there is no better place. Of all our travels in the world this is still our favorite spot.

Micheline and John Gunter and family, (who all enjoy it year after year as well as many of our repeat renters!)
business
Coastal Tin Miner's Cottage with sea views between St. Just & St Ives
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104
+44 (0)20 8444 0551
Boscaswell St Ives area
5

August 2011 - delightful

  • 5 of 5
This is a wonderfully quaint cottage, full of character and charm that was very clean and tidy throughout. The facilities may be considered limited, however, these do not detract from the holiday experience. It may prove difficult to cook full scale meals on the small cooker, however, we elected never to do so – and with a wealth of lovely and often affordable restaurants within walking distance or just a short drive away this proved to be an excellent decision. That’s not to say you can’t cook of course should you choose to do so.
The beds were comfortable and made for a good night’s sleep each night, and the cottage also offers a view over the sea from the bedroom windows which afforded us a few spectacular sunsets.
If you are used to showering, the bath room facilities may seem a little limiting. There is a shower over the bath but is simply attached to the taps and doesn’t have a riser or fix to the wall. This did not represent any difficulties for us, however, and it was quite a nice way to end a day, relaxing in a bath after exploring some of the local coastal paths or enjoying some time on the areas beaches.
There is plenty to do in the immediate area, the nearest beach we found being a small cove accessed along the coastal path. It does not have any facilities but was clean and quiet, though may be difficult to access for people with limited mobility. Having said that, there are many lovely beaches within a short drive, including Sennen which offers surfing, or the three miles of sandy beach a short drive away at Hayle.
If you are interested in sight seeing the cottage is ideally situated, being only a short drive from Lands End, Cape Cornwall and numerous tourist attractions in the area.
All in all we had a lovely holiday based at the cottage, and the owners had left a convenient store of information on local attractions and restaurants to get you started if you are not sure what to do.
I would definitely recommend the cottage to friends and would also consider returning if we were to holiday in that area again.
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Coastal Tin Miner's Cottage with sea views between St. Just & St Ives
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p104
+44 (0)20 8444 0551
Boscaswell St Ives area
Fleet
5

Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5
Very enjoyable stay in a stunning location with friendly locals - Great base for sightseeing - loved costal walks and weather was perfect - what more could anyone wish for!
  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Newquay
Nearest Ferry
5 Miles
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Penzance
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
A30
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Portheras
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
North Inn Pub, Pendeen
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Trewellard Meadery
Car: not necessary

Coastal 200 year old tin miner's granite stone cottage in a very quiet village on the north coast of Cornwall about 15 minutes drive from Penzance, and about 25 minutes drive to St. Ives (and Tate Gallery) along the spectacular north coast. The coastal path starts just near the cottage with wonderful breathtaking scenery. The location is very near the Pendeen Watch Lighthouse and some lovely secluded, usually empty, sandy beaches, Portheras being our special favorite. The Geevor Tin Mine and Cafe (good Sunday lunch!) is a short walk away and has fascinating tours underground and a museum. Boscaswell is a peaceful, friendly village and Pendeen a short walk away for some good basic shopping, and two nice pubs. Lovely Sennen Cove is a short drive away through the charming village of St. Just. The wonderful Eden Project is about 45 minutes drive away. Also there are many National Trust Gardens to visit including the Lost Gardens of Heligan and many activities for children in the area.

Other Activities: spectacular coastal walks

Golf: Golf Courses are available.

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Boscaswell Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
High
Jul 19 2014 - Sep 5 2014
7 night minimum stay
£560
£2,000
 
 
Winter
Sep 6 2014 - Dec 19 2014
3 night minimum stay
£60
£320
£1,100
 
 
Winter
Dec 20 2014 - Jan 2 2015
7 night minimum stay
£400
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee £50
Returnable deposit £50
Notes There is a wood burning multi fuel stove in the granite stone fireplace. It has glass doors and a fire guard if needed for safety. Wood and coal is easy to pick up at the corner shop in Pendeen and there is usually enough in cottage to start you off. Heather and Chris Weeks can help you with anything you need. Please sign our guest book when you leave and leave your cottage keys in cottage! Thanks
Electric coin meter takes £1 coins (1 or 2 per day) which heats the water and radiators. The living room radiator can be left on and is at owners expense. Payment can be made in Sterling or US Dollars. 25% deposit secures your booking and not returnable unless cottage can be let. The balance is due one month before your holiday
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Boscaswell Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage (terraced)
Accommodation Type:
  • Bed & Breakfast
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Village
Theme:
  • Romantic
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Heating ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Fireplace
  • Local Maps
  • Basic Soaps
  • Iron & Board
  • Hair Dryer
  • Paper Towels
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
Kitchen:
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Oven ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Stove ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Freezer
  • Lobster Pot
  • Stove
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Toaster
  • Kitchenette
  • Grill
  • 2 Ring Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Dining
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - toilet , tub , There is a shower hose in the bath.
  • The bath has a hose for showering and washing hair.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom - 1 king
    Bedroom - 2 twin/ single , 1 child bed , 1 baby crib , Bunk beds or side by side
  • 1 Double, 1 twin, 1 cot (and sitting room has a new double sofa bed). Double bedroom has partial view of the sea from the window, chest of drawers and dressing table with mirror and chair and a wooden arm chair, plenty of lights. Twin bedroom has bunk beds with ladder and safety bars on the top bunk (one side removable). The bunk beds can easily be put side by side. There is also a wooden cot that is easily put together and a folding cot for older child or to use in the garden. Also chest of drawers, bed side table with light and a ceiling spot light for reading in top bunk. Curtained off wardrobe with lots of hanging space and shelf with extra bedding, one electric blanket and an iron. Also has partial view of the sea.
Entertainment:
  • Radio
  • Television ...
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Games for Kids
  • DVD Player
Outside:
  • Patio
  • Tennis ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Small Cooler
  • 2 garden chairs
  • 1 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • library
  • playground
  • live theater
  • bay/sound
  • cinemas
Leisure Activities:
  • walking
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • beachcombing
  • eco tourism
  • bird watching
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
  • hospital
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • hiking
  • surf fishing
  • deepsea fishing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • sailing
  • tennis
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The living area is one room used as living/dining with sofa, TV and dining table which can seat six altogether. There is a multi fuel (wood and coal) stove in the large granite stone fireplace. There are also electric wall mounted heaters in all rooms. The bathroom also has a heated towel rail. Water is heated with an immersion tank and can be switched on for constant hot water or turned off when not needed. The kitchen is off to one side partly divided from the sitting room. All bed linen is provided but if you bring your own we can give a small discount. The beds will be made up for your arrival. Towels cost £3 each for the washing. Please let us know at the time of booking if you need linen or are bringing your own and if you need towels. Please ask for more details if required. There is an outdoor seating area (patio) with table and chairs in small well planted attractive walled garden with garden gate and small lawn with view of the sea and those wonderful sun sets!
Email Owner Contact Me