IKENA MAKANA AT TUNNELS BEACH, INCREDIBLE PRICE!

Enter your travel dates

Owner

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

IKENA MAKANA AT TUNNELS BEACH, INCREDIBLE PRICE!

Haena House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Ikena Makana home stay in Haena has a brand new contemporary-style interior. This three bedroom, two bath, is located in Haena (mountain side of the Road) and about a 5-7 minute walk to the main Tunnels Beach.. This home is the ideal home for those looking for a stylish & sophisticated beach home at yet a super reasonable price.

Ikena Makana at Tunnels Beach backs up to hundreds of acres of privately owned land, thus creating a beautiful backdrop and a very peaceful and serene environment. From the front deck you have a very partial ocean view and from the back deck you have the gorgeous Haena Mountains and Waterfalls...

Spend you days at Ikena Makana at Tunnels Beach relaxing on your decks with the trade winds cooling things off, or across the street at the magnificent Tunnels Beach, which has been recently rated the #2 beach in our state.

HOUSE DESCRIPTION:

We have really taken great pride in equipping our home with very top of the line appliances and linens. 600 thread count sheets, Egyptian Cotton Bathing Towels, LED TV, Top-Notch cook ware & knife set.

Bamboo-wood floors through-out the house, black slate counter-tops, Teal-colored Pebble Stone bathrooms... There is a deck at the front and back of the house for outside enjoyment.

Cable TV with 6 HBO Channels, including HBO On-Demand is also at the home for your enjoyment. There is a great Stereo system with CD and Ipod Holder/Connection for your 'tunes' and of course Wi-Fi Internet Access.

For the beach right across the street we do have the home equipped with beach towels, a few boogie boards, beach chairs and swim tubes.

Ground Floor is tenant occupied and not available with this rental.

HAENA is a small oceanfront, residential community situated about four miles beyond Hanalei. Among the most beautiful places on the planet, here you will discover waterfalls, lush green jungles, gorgeous deserted beaches, fabulous hiking trails, and colorful sunsets.

Ke’e Beach (pronounced Kay-AY) in Haena marks the very end of the road and the beginning of the world famous Na Pali Coast. Haena is the last outpost on Kauai’s North Shore, an ideal location for those seeking a property reminiscing the ''Old Hawaii'' feeling. From our Family to Yours we extend our Aloha and invite you to come stay at Ikena Makana at Tunnels Beach!

Please ask about required amount of time that you need to rent due to restrictions in the area.

Keywords: Vacation Home

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2006
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Property Reviews

12 Reviews Write a Review
Ikena Makana at Tunnels Beach, Incredible Price!
average rating of 4.5833335 based on 12 reviews
business
Ikena Makana at Tunnels Beach, Incredible Price!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p103651vb
(808) 651-6575
Haena Kauai
Oakland, CA
5

Great spot, great location.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We travel to Kauai every summer & always stay in Haena. We had a wonderful stay at the Ikena Makana. The house was very clean and fresh. We really enjoyed the simple, yet somewhat contemporary feel. The views of the Bali Hai Mountain and waterfall from the back deck is incredible! It took us about 5 minutes to walk to the beach in front, which was right around the point from the main Tunnels area, WOW, that section of the beach is magical!!! We saw monk seals almost every afternoon and swam with turtles twice! Thank you so much to the owners of this home for making our Kauai holiday so special! We will be back and hope to rent from you all again! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Ikena Makana at Tunnels Beach, Incredible Price!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p103651vb
(808) 651-6575
Haena Kauai
Fallbrook
3

Dissapointed....

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
First of all the price is incorrect, is advertized as $1800 for the past 2 years. However, when you call or request for reservations, they told me that is the old price,now is $2100 and higher. Why not change correctly. The listing description was not accurate regarding the location. It took us 15 minutes walking to the beach. The listing photos reflected the bedrooms bigger and roomier which were not. The house was infected with insects which caused my grandchildren to be bitten all over their body and were very uncomfortable. The kitchen needs at least one fan and another fan in the livingroom due to the heat that rises above since it is on the second floor. The fans in the bedrooms were covered with dirt that fell over the beds, the pillows were just lumps of material and very uncomfortable. The property was clean and well maintained. The owner was helpful in replacing a microwave, DVD player, old chairs, and boogie board that we requested due to being broken down or not working at all...... It was not worth the price that we paid.....
Owner's Response: Hello,
Thank you for your email. I am very sorry you were disappointed with the home, this is the last thing we are hoping to hear from our guests. I did want to respond to your concerns. The rate on our listing shows $1800 per week as low season, which is 100% accurate, with $2100 per week during the summer/peak season which is when you had rented.
I am not sure which beach access you all were taking to the beach in front, the closest one to the house takes between 5-7 minutes via foot, I wish we could have known this concerns, so we could have shown you the direct access. Thank you for notifying us on the microwave while you were on island, we did get this out to you the following day, so I hope did not dampen your stay too much. The DVD player was working fine when we inspected this, maybe it was on the wrong input, I apologize that you had troubles on this. We do have our home on quarterly pest control, when you were on island we were in the midst of a tropical disturbance that was blocking the usual trade winds, this brings mosquitoes, high humidity and heat... I did speak with you while here letting you know I talked to Mokihana Pest Control and they had MANY calls this same week due to the unusual weather pattern, something outside of there or our control.
In response to your concerns on the lumpy pillows, new ones have been purchased. Thank you for letting us know about this, as we want all of our guests to be very comfortable in our home. We have also recently purchases (and they were brought out during your stay), new beach chairs & boogies boards.
Thank you greatly for your time, reviews greatly help us to make our home the best possible for our guests.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Ikena Makana at Tunnels Beach, Incredible Price!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p103651vb
(808) 651-6575
Haena Kauai
Frisco, TX
5

Great vacation home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We had a wonderful time at this beautiful and clean home on the north shore. We were a little concerned about no AC since we are from Texas, but we were completely comfortable the entire week with the breezes and the ceiling fans. I actually had trouble sleeping once we got home because I missed the breeze.
The home was perfect for our family of 4, with my teenagers each getting a king sized bed. They were very excited about that! The views from the back porch were amazing. It was wonderful to sit outside with the mountain view, including a waterfall and rainbows after the rain. The road in front of the home is not busy. We walked on the grass next to the road multiple times a day on our way to the beach and sometimes didn't see any traffic. The furnishings were very nice and we felt at home. We have been on many trips to many places and this ranks up high, so fun and relaxing that for once I wasn't ready to return home. Tunnels Beach was great! We snorkeled every day and saw lots of fish, sea turtles and even a monk seal.
We also hiked 8 miles on the Napali Coast to a waterfall. It was so close to the house that we were there to start our hike as the sun came up.The only luau on the north side at Med. Gourmet is a 5 minute drive from the house. We also made a day trip to the south and west side one day for a helicopter tour and some hiking in the canyon.
The only suggestion I have is that the directions for walking to the beach be laminated and posted on the fridge. We happened to meet the lady who lives downstairs when we arrived and she gave us the easy directions. But, the road we walked on did say private road, so I would have hesitated to walk on it without instructions.
We hope to return to Kauai and this home in the future!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Ikena Makana at Tunnels Beach, Incredible Price!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p103651vb
(808) 651-6575
Haena Kauai
-
5

Perfect Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Where to begin: the house is beautiful, the view out the back was stunning, and the location is fantastic; I asked my wife what we should say in the review and she said, "I loved everything about it".

House: the house is lovely. It was very clean, the beds were big (three kings) and comfortable, the sheets and pillows were very high quality, the kitchen was modern (no dishwasher, but doing the dishes by hand actually added to the experience-I was happy they didn't have one), they had all the appliances/gadgets you would want, pots/pans etc... were all in great shape, internet access was easy, the bathrooms were nice, laundry was convenient, they provide towels, sheets, soap, etc... and they have most of the beach toys that you don't want to lug all the way to the island.

View: stunning. The best view from the house is of the mountains in the back. There is also a pasture a few houses down and the cows/horses cut back behind the house-our kids loved that. There is no view out the front, but the view out of the back makes up for it.

Location: perfect. The house is truly a 5 minute walk from the beach. If you find that it takes you longer, ask the owner or look at the directions in the guest book-the beach is across the street. We absolutely loved the North Shore and this house was a big part of why-it is everything the South Shore is not. The house was quite, there were no people (you will be one of just a few people on the beach), it is about as close as you can get to incredible hiking on the Na'Pali Coast, and yet, if you want additional things to do, Hanalei with all its restaurants and shops is a 10 minute drive.

We are a family of 4 (11 and 13 year-olds) who used the house as a place from which we hiked, snorkeled, surfed, swam (with turtles and monk seals), relaxed at the beach, watched incredible sunsets and enjoyed the relaxed life of the North Shore. If you are looking for a five star hotel with all the amenities that go with it as well as all the people, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a peaceful, beautiful house from which you can base your adventures, we couldn't recommend this house more highly.

Pros: location, location, location, nice/modern interior, sheets and pillows
Cons: None for us.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Ikena Makana at Tunnels Beach, Incredible Price!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p103651vb
(808) 651-6575
Haena Kauai
Mill Creek, Washington
2

Property looks better in the pictures then it is.

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: May 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
When we got to the property, the door was wide open. The place was super hot- no air conditioning. So be prepared for hot times. Yes it cools a bit at night, but you must leave all windows that do open wide open and there aren't many that do open. Bugs came in, so did geckos. Ceiling fan above bed was ok but not so quiet. There are no dressers , so you will be living out of suit case.there is only one tv, which was hard to figure out. Showers were small, and short. No soap and little toilet paper provided. pergo floors were hard plastic, kitchen while big, lacked spatula- and normal cooking equipment. Odd coffee pot, it had a grinder, so my ground coffee wouldnt work. Broiler didn't work. Pans were so bad that they were peeling the non stick stuff. Place needs updating. There is no safe and had to leave all windows open to try to keep it cool. Not safe for a rental property. When arriving from a long day at the beach and bags of groceries in hand,we couldn't get the door open because key box that contained key wouldn't open bottom lock.lucikly the lady who lives down stairs who has no association with the property came home about 10 minutes into trying to open door.we called the property manager but no one answered, had to leave a message, but she never came, we ended up having to take slats out of window to break into the property.
We then thought the next day someone would come and fix the lock, put back the window slats, and yet no one ever did.we had to leave the place unlocked, no safe, and a window that allowed people to come in..property in back is nice and quiet, overlooking pasture , with cows, but front is on busy hwy. birds are plentiful, but we would not stay this far down again, as the construction and traffic were awful. Property is not easy walking to tunnels beach, we tried it once and it took a half hour, on a busy road, with little side walk to safely get to the beach. Place Is roomy for families, that would be a plus but it was just two of us. We left two days early. . Deposit took 4 weeks to be returned. Wouldn't recommend this property.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car
Owner's Response: Hello,
We are so saddened to hear that you were not happy with our home. We hear your concerns, thank you! We have recently purchased new pots/pans and a new coffee maker that is hopefully simpler to use! That is true, we don't provide hygiene soap products, but we do provide toilet paper, dish/laundry soap... this is a start up supply for your stay. We understand that you had a hard time getting in and the door lock was jammed, we recently purchased a new door handle which solved this. I wish you would have called us on the best beach access!! !/2 hr, you must have gone all the way down to the beach park. There is a much quicker route kidddie-corner to our home across the street.
No A/C, but we do have ceiling fans in all rooms. The week you were visiting we had very light winds, which can make things a little warm, this is very rare for the island, with the usual trade winds that is our natural A/C....the home is built very plantation-style, so many windows to take in the wind.
We do have quarterly pest control at the home, we called pest control with your bug concerns, the little black bugs come out at night when there is no wind and they told us these little guys come out a few times a year and there is nothing we can do about them but rather wait for the trade winds to come back. Geckos are something that comes with the tropical area...
Thank you again for voicing your concerns, we really have taken this to heart!
Helpful votes: 3/3

Map

× This owner has not provided a specific location. If you would like more information, please contact the owner.

Photos

Availability & Rates

This listing does not have a published calendar. Please contact the owner for availability.

Haena House Rental Rates

Notes

  • From $1800
  • US Dollars
  • $1800--2450/Week + Tax. (seasonal rates,)
  • $250 Cleaning Fee (Non-Refundable).
  • $500 Security Deposit (Completely Refundable).
  • Please ask about discounts for couples or bookings within 30 days of arrival!
  • Also, we do have required amount of time that needs to be rented at one time
  • Please ask us about this.

Amenities

Haena House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Telephone
  • Parking Off Street
  • Broadband Access
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Refrigerator
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Cooking Utensils
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (3)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • CD Player
  • Stereo
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Balcony
  • Lanai / Gazebo
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • shelling
  • wildlife viewing
  • horseback riding
  • sight seeing
  • boating
  • shopping
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • parasailing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • kayaking
  • golf
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • basketball court
  • wind-surfing
  • surfing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • hiking
Notes:
600-thread count cotton sheets on ALL beds, Down Comforters, Egyptian Cotton Bathing & Beach Towels, Top-of-the-line cookware/appliances, Ceiling Fans in ALL rooms,