Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

PERIOD COTTAGE IN PRETTY VILLAGE IN THE HEART OF THE COTSWOLDS

Simon Duggan

Advertiser since: 2012
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage

Simon Duggan

Advertiser since: 2012
Speaks: english
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

PERIOD COTTAGE IN PRETTY VILLAGE IN THE HEART OF THE COTSWOLDS

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage

Overview

Overview

Kingham Cottage Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedroom Period Cottage

2 Bedroom period cottage with an abundance of period features, including fireplace, beamed ceiling, flagstone flooring and exposed stone walls. The cottage has two double bedrooms (plus single occasional bed), bathroom with bath and shower, fully equip kitchen with dishwasher and washing machine, central heating and comfortable Living room with TV, DVD, CD, radio WIFI, there is a small paved garden to the rear of the property with table and chairs.

The cottage can sleep four/five people plus there is a child's cot provided, beds are made up before arrival and towels are provided. The cottage is located in a classic Cotswold village surrounded by beautiful country side, the village has a local store/post office, a 2 renowned gastro pub and restaurant/bar, all with a short stroll from the cottage, the village green has a play area for young children and there is a railway station with services to London and Oxford and a bus service to the local market town of Chipping Norton, near by is Dylsford organic farm and being in the hart of the Cotswold, attractions such as Oxford, Stratford Upon Avon, Chelteham, Woodstock, Burford, Chipping Campden are all with easy reach and it is perfect for long country walks.

Suitability:
  • Singles
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Simon Duggan (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2012
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english

Why HomeAway

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.6
based on 5 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Period Cottage In Pretty Village In The Heart Of The Cotswolds
average rating of 4.6 based on 5 reviews
business
Period Cottage In Pretty Village In The Heart Of The Cotswolds
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1019307
+44 -07983220380
Kingham West Oxfordshire
3

Full of Character, Not Heat

  • 3 of 5
It would appear from some of the other reviews that the central heating has been fixed. When we were there in April, the only heating was four electric heaters, and these were not cozy. The central heating did not work, and we were not told this by the owner ahead of time. It was only after we tried repeatedly to get it going and had emailed and called him that he said it was not working. He send he would send someone to repair it, but no one appeared. The gas heater in the living area was also out of fuel. Positives: the cottage is charming, full of character, and interesting artwork. The owner left wine, milk and bread for us. There was always parking available outside, and the village was quiet and we walked around it many times. There is a local shop, The Plough (we would not recommend), and the Mill Restaurant (we would recommend). On our walks we often chatted with locals who would not recommend The Plough. One fellow invited us to for a drink at the British Legion where he said we could "meet the locals." Negatives: dirty shower curtain, the door to the washing machine does not open all the way, seating in living area is shabby and uncomfortable. At the time we were there the outside space did not look inviting. And the owner, nine weeks later, has still not returned our damage deposit. Our experience may have been different if we had been warm. As Canadians we are used to the cold, but not on holiday. I would recommend the cottage to friends, but only if the heating worked and they were aware of the negatives.
  • Submitted: May 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry you stay was not as you expected, however, I would like to address you issues, your deposit has been refunded back to you, in full, and was not done so any earlier as you were traveling and had not left me your bank details, this we requested a number of time via e-mail.

The cottage has 2 independent heating systems with radiators in all rooms, both for the oil and electric, the oil systems gives off a noticeable whiff when turned on, thus we have provided electric heaters as an alternative, there are in fact six electric radiators not 4 as you have said, there is also a gas fire if needed and was not out of fuel as you have mentioned, there is a spare supply which would have been very obvious to you.

The sofa and chairs in the livingroom are no more that year old and are very comfortable, the shower curtain is only 2 month old is not dirty.

The outside space will not, as in deed any garden in April, be as inviting as in the summer months but it is well kept all year round.

The door to the washing machine opens adequately, the cleaner launders all the bedding and towels in it.

The Plough was not recommended by me but by other guests, it is a Michelin star, gastro pub featured in the Times and Telegraph, as you did not actually visit it, not sure why needed to criticize it. But there are other establishments in the village and I am pleased you found one to your liking.

Again I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay as much as I would have liked but thank you for comments.
business
Period Cottage In Pretty Village In The Heart Of The Cotswolds
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1019307
+44 -07983220380
Kingham West Oxfordshire
5

Lovely Cottage

  • 5 of 5
We really enjoyed our stay in this cottage. It is a lovely building with some great features and plenty of space for two couples. The village of Kingham is very pretty and well located. We had a fantastic meal in the Plough in the village which I would recommend (although it isn't cheap). The other pub in the village is currently shut for refurbishment. The village is very well located for exploring the Cotswolds and Burford nearby is particularly nice.
  • Submitted: May 14, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to post this review we really appreciate it and very pleased you enjoyed your stay.
business
Period Cottage In Pretty Village In The Heart Of The Cotswolds
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1019307
+44 -07983220380
Kingham West Oxfordshire
5

Wow! Great cottage!

  • 5 of 5
The best way I can start this is to say, if we can we will stay at this cottage again!

Everything about this cottage was perfect for us. We only spent two nights over Easter break and it was VERY cold outside. Inside, we found the cottage cozy and comfortable. It was great to stay in something that is obviously hundreds of years old.

The village of Kingham was the rural type of location we desired. There are a few larger towns located nearby, we particularly liked Stow on the Wold and had dinner in a 500 year old coaching inn called the Kings Arms. While our stay was short and it was too cold for walking, I could recommend this as a great location to explore this part of the Cotswolds. Oxford is less than an hours drive away and you will pass Blenheim Palace on the way.

The cottage itself is very well provisioned and is very much like walking straight into a home and making yourself comfortable. There are printed instructions on how to work the heating, etc. as well as multiple brochures on local interests.

They left the lights and heating on for us to make our arrival comfortable. While the fireplace was not operable at the time, they did provide a gas heater that made the sitting area very cozy and warm.

The pictures are very accurate and if anything the cottage is even more charming. The booking process was straight forward and the property is very good value for the money. I would recommend this to anyone, as long as you don't want to stay when we want to book next time!
  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for this review its very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back.
business
Period Cottage In Pretty Village In The Heart Of The Cotswolds
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1019307
+44 -07983220380
Kingham West Oxfordshire
5

Absolutely beautiful!

  • 5 of 5
*Absolutely beautiful! We loved it from the moment we walked through the
front door and we instantly felt relaxed and comfortable. The cottage
itself is full of original character, which we prefer to “modern cottages”
it is immaculately clean and very well equipped. It is set in the most
beautiful village. It’s also within driving distance to the Cotswold
Wildlife Park as well as the Cotswold Farm Park which are ideal if you have
children. We would thoroughly recommend this cottage and can’t wait to book
again. This cottage was a real find and excellent value.*
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for such a great review, were very please you like the cottage and the village and were looking forward to welcoming you back in February.
business
Period Cottage In Pretty Village In The Heart Of The Cotswolds
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p1019307
+44 -07983220380
Kingham West Oxfordshire
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
Perfect cottage. Bags of character, beautifully clean and the most well-equipped cottage we've stayed in. Village is a joy and the Kingham Plough is a definite find. Can't recommend highly enough for a perfect get away.
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
  • Source: HomeAway

Map

Map

Car: not necessary

Period 2 bedroom cottage in the village of Kingham, in the very heart of the Cotswolds, an area of outstanding natural beauty and steeped in history, the village is surrounded by beautiful country side and was voted 'England’s favorite village' by Country Life magazine and one of England's best village to live by the London Times. The village is a short half hour drive to Oxford and is in easy distance to Cheltenham, Stratford upon Avon as well as the local towns of Stow on Wold, Chipping Norton and Moreton in Mash, the village has its own railway station with services to London (90 mins) Oxford (30 mins) as well as to Great Malven and Herefordshire.

Photos

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rates & Availability

From £120 Per night

Kingham Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
seasonal price
Nov 5 2014 - Dec 23 2015
1 night minimum stay
£120
£650
£1,800
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £10 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
£120
£650
£1,800
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee £0
Refundable damage deposit £50
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Amenities

Kingham Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Basic Soaps
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking On Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , bidet
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double , 1 baby crib
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
  • Each bedroom has one double bed, fitted wardrobe and chest of draw, there is also a child's fold down cot in bedroom one and a single occasional bed in bedroom two.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Binoculars
  • Golf
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Yard
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Singles
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fly fishing
  • golf
Notes:
Smoking is permitted in the garden

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote