Rachel Myerowitz

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house

Contact the Owner

Rachel Myerowitz

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

EVE'S COUNTRY RETREAT

Ellington House Rental Photos and Description

4 bedrooms, 2.5 baths, sleeps 8 (max 10)

Retreat to this peaceful and very spacious country home nestled in rolling Connecticut Valley farmlands within walking distance to the green, library, and 18th and 19th century historic homes of the town of Ellington (1786). Enjoy the serene interior of this sun-flooded home, furnished with antiques. Delight in the magnificent view from the porch or patio that are surrounded by old established trees and gardens.

Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome

Rachel Myerowitz

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2009
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

3.7
based on 3 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Eve's Country Retreat
average rating of 3.6666667 based on 3 reviews
business
Eve's Country Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p101394
+1 301 704-3144
Ellington Central Connecticut
Spartanburg, SC
1

A big let down

  • 1 of 5
I did not expect to have so many major quality issues with this house. The first big disappointment was learning that we couldn’t open the sliders (and see through the scratched screens) from the living room to get some fresh air into this musty house (we purchased and used significant amounts of Febreze and deodorizer). The second surprise was the musty smell of all the living room furniture. After looking at the yard further, I realized that a large yard exists beyond the overgrown hedges and plants off of the living room patio. Then an even bigger surprise occurred upon discovering that your thermostat doesn’t work right and the vents probably haven’t been cleaned in twenty years. It took 12 hours to get the downstairs temperature down to 72 degrees and I assume that the A/C unit needs servicing.

The Wi-Fi instructions do not exist as specified and because I am technically inclined, I figured out how to connect to the network which is just a little faster than an old dial up modem (400 kbs/second) and I waited for minutes to load up a web page. The next surprise was discovering that we couldn’t call out locally as specified in the lease. You shouldn’t advertise telephone or internet access, since both are severely restricted and/or inferior. Then I discovered your antique analog TV, with it’s digital converter box and no instructions. You also shouldn’t advertise that you have a TV, since it is very substandard as televisions go.

Overall cleanliness of ythis house was poor and some of the blankets and bed covers are stained. We have also found large carpenter ants in the bathrooms. If it weren’t for our need to have a family gathering spot for my mother-in-law’s funeral, I would have locked up and we would have stayed in a hotel.

We did not expect that we would have to wash sheets and towels at departure, or understand that we also were expected to be the cleaning service. No proper cleaning supplies were provided. At least do proper maintenance (Washer & Dryer, bathroom showers leak, Doors...) and provide the services that you advertise. This is the worst property I have stayed at since we began using VRBO.
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This review was part of an email that I received from this renter two days after his arrival. However, he failed to mention that I immediately emailed back and offered a full refund for the remaining 5 days of the rental agreement, recommended an inn close by that might be more to his liking and offered use of the house without charge for the day of his family gathering. Strangely enough, this renter refused my offer and stayed. I have rented this property for 14 years and in all that time only received compliments (see reviews) about the beauty of this spacious, mid-century, custom built, sun flooded home, furnished with antiques and with more windows than walls. Only once did renters request to leave the property and that was after a severe winter storm which left the neighborhood and this home without heat and electricity for a week. I might add that most of my renters are repeaters and most seem to take delight in the country charm of the house rather than play building inspector and spend a vacation checking the interior of the heating vents, speculating when the air conditioning was last serviced, counting scratches on screens and measuring the height and width of the gorgeous rhododendrons, azaleas and rose bushes in the vast back yard. But there is one in every crowd!
business
Eve's Country Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p101394
+1 301 704-3144
Ellington Central Connecticut
5

Thank you from Wellington, FL

  • 5 of 5
My family of six recently visited CT to celebrate our parent's 60th Wedding Anniversary. Eve's Country Retreat was quite lovely and very spacious for all of us. As family members arrived on different days from Florida, we had to drive back to the airport for pickup twice. The house was located not far from the airport and the drive through the county roads was beautiful.
We want to Thank You for sharing your cozy home with our family. We have wonderful memories and photos to remind us of the great time we had in Ellington. It was nice to have our "home away from home" and was fortunate to find Eve's Country Retreat. The home appears exactly as it shows on the website, but is even cozier in person. You surely provide the comforts of home with the bedding, towels, kitchen and laundry facilities, and so much more. We greatly appreciate everything and will keep Eve's Country Retreat in mind for our next visit to CT.
Warm Regards and many Thanks from our family in Wellington, FL
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Eve's Country Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p101394
+1 301 704-3144
Ellington Central Connecticut
Phx, AZ
5

Depositing a Legacy

  • 5 of 5
We were there to have a family reunion back home in Enfield so it really worked out well because my brothers and sister were 10 to 15 minutes away.

We were able to visit friends in New Hampshire and then even a trip to the beach in Old Lime, CT

The location of the house was ideal and as for its conveniences I could haved golfed, gone to the lake and fished everyday or even if time had permitted just relaxed in the backyard with a good book to read.

The house was very spacious I had my four adult children plus my son’s wife and two grandchildren with me and there were times I still found myself sitting in the living room or even in the shaded back yard on patio furniture by myself.
Yet in that same living room we all played UNO with thirteen of us, what a great time!

If you are looking for a 21st century home with all the modern amenities like Cable TV or Internet you better bring your own, but it was so nice to not have it for six days and to actually interact with my children.

One last thing if you are looking for a place to relax and get away you wont be disappointed with the memories you will have of Eve's Elegant Retreat.
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Bradley International Airport

During the Fall season enjoy the environs that are cloaked in color. In Winter relax fireside apres ski in the foothills of the Berkshires. Minutes from tennis, golfing, fishing, horseback riding, antique shopping, and swimming in a lovely lake. Visit Old Sturbridge (40 minutes), Foxwoods Casino (25 minutes), Mystic Seaport (1 hour), University of Connecticut (25 minutes), Tanglewood Music Festival (1 hour). This home is ideally located 20 minutes from Bradley International Airport and Hartford, 1.5 hours from Boston, and 2 hours from New York City.

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Ellington House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
all seasons
Jul 25 - Jul 25
1 night
$129
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $0
Notes $900/week, $3000/month
$900/week
$3000/month
Inquire about weekend rates.
Available year-round.
$900/week, $3000/month
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Ellington House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Village
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Family
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Alarm Clock
  • Heating
  • Parking
  • Garage
  • Air Conditioning
  • Linens Provided
  • Fireplace
  • Washing Machine
  • Internet
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Ice Maker
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Grill
  • Toaster
  • Refrigerator
  • Freezer
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • Child's Highchair
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • Toys
  • Books
  • Games for Kids
  • Ping Pong Table
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Radio
  • VCR
  • CD Player
  • Stereo
Outside:
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Bicycles
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio
  • 8 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • library
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • recreation center
  • autumn foliage
Leisure Activities:
  • gambling casinos
  • antiquing
  • walking
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • swimming
  • golf
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • tennis
  • hiking
Notes:
1 king, 1 double, 4 twins, 1 sleep sofa. Table tennis, many books.
Email Owner Contact Me