Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

FAIRWINDS: PRIVATE, LUXURIOUS VILLA PANORAMIC VIEWS, LARGE TILED POOL, 3 BIG BR

David Giuliano

Advertiser since: 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

David Giuliano

Advertiser since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
March 4, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

FAIRWINDS: PRIVATE, LUXURIOUS VILLA PANORAMIC VIEWS, LARGE TILED POOL, 3 BIG BR

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Overview

Northside Villa Rental Photos and Description

3 large BR suites 3 1/2 baths ideal 3 couples/families

Exclusive spacious hilltop villa offers breathtaking views of the aquamarine Caribbean from Puerto Rico to St John and the BVI's. Enjoy warm sun or cool shade any time of day from Fairwinds expansive decks, a perfect wedding site. All 3 bedroom suites feature large baths and private balconies with serene views. One of the largest pools of any Villa. Close to all the duty free shopping and Island amenities

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
David Giuliano (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
March 4, 2015
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.4
based on 7 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Fairwinds: Private, Luxurious Villa Panoramic Views, large tiled pool, 3 big br
average rating of 4.428571 based on 7 reviews
1

Dump

  • 1 of 5

My family booked this villa for a 5 week stay and ended up leaving early, even though we couldn't get money back, because it was so bad.The owner was there when we arrived and was nice enough to leave a sink full of dirty dishes for us to wash, and a fridge that needed to be cleaned out. Also, almost every single screen in the house was either too small for the window, or full of holes so there were lots of bugs getting in. The main part of the house has no air and was typically in the upper 90s. We couldn't open the windows because of the holes and gaping openings because then the house would be full of mosquitoes. We ended up going to Home Depot and buying a bunch of duct tape to tape up windows, which took a full day for my husband to do. We also bought some fans but with the lack of air conditioning and sky lights in the place, it was like a sauna. A lot of the windows wouldn't open because the handles were broke and falling off the wall. The pool was the only relief. However, the tiles in the pool were coming off, leaving sharp edges that cut my children's legs so badly, we stopped going in. The dishwasher was broken and we had to wash dishes by hand the entire time, so don't count on having a dishwasher. There were roaches in the house and at one point a rat, who came in through a torn screen, chewed through a plastic container I purchased to store food in. This was evident by chew marks on the container and rat droppings on the counter. The owner decided not to disclose that the main bedroom (the only one with working air) is in a completely different house than the rest of the house. A great set up for couples, but not for a family with two small children. My 5 and 7 year old would have had to sleep in a different house than us, and walk around the pool to get to us. For this reason, we all slept in the main bedroom together. Not that the other 2 bedrooms were able to be used since the air conditioners in both rooms didn't work properly and the rooms were upper 80s at night. This is such a shame because the house has such potential, but the owner has let it go. He has plenty of excuses (he was sick, had a sick family member, etc..) but with so many other amazing villas being offered on the island you'd be best to just skip over this one, save yourself from the sob story and actually enjoy yourself on this beautiful island. There were many other problems in the home that I haven't mentioned, but I am out of space.Wish I could add pics to this.

  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The C's were relocating to St. Thomas for a job,and left Fairwinds early not because it was “so bad”,but because they reneged on a house closing, opting for a yearly rental, available sooner. They e-mailed for a refund for unused days and listed problems, undoubtedly to justify breaking the lease, initially 4 weeks, then 5, then 4 again. When their belongings did not arrive on time, they emailed again saying they were staying “until further notice.” Fairwinds is a weekly rental; we made an exception and offered a very reasonable monthly rent including utilities. They ran up a $2,000 electric bill, roughly 30% of the rent.I lost income from potential weekly rentals during this period.I waived the restrictive pet policy for their 2 dogs.The security deposit was returned in full;a rebate on unused days was settled to the satisfaction of Mr.C but apparently not Mrs.C who previously threatened a bad review if I did not refund unused days;obviously, she wrote it anyway.In my opinion,she was under stress, understandably very protective of young children,and struggling to adjust to the Caribbean. Nevertheless, it is uncalled for to refer to my home as a “dump” and my medical problems as a “sob story,” inferring I was fabricating excuses. Granted, there were some problems (since corrected) because I couldn’t oversee local maintenance until I got the Dr.’s travel OK. I’ll briefly address specific review points, some exaggerated,some inaccurate,some justified.Yes,I inadvertently left a few lunch dishes in the sink while awaiting them. I left some water and condiments in the clean refrigerator for them. 5 out of 50 screens had holes. AC worked in all bedrooms before and after their stay.Maybe timer was confusing. Running our ACs and 2 rentals ran up an exorbitant electric bill instead of them benefiting from tradewinds. When we knew of a pool step tile problem, crew did a temporary but unfortunately inadequate solution. ASAP between rentals, pool was drained and steps refurbished, a 6 day job. Dishwasher works if filter is cleared of debris. Appliances work if instructions in the guest binder are followed. We use professional pest control year round; rodent traps were removed for dogs’ safety; droppings were likely common lizards. That I “chose not to disclose” the main bedroom is separate implies that I purposely withheld information. My Website+VRBO photos show two pavilions, common in Caribbean houses. We welcome questions to ensure guests needs are satisfied.
5

Fantastic and spacious property

  • 5 of 5

I stayed here for a week in late April, and it was a really beautiful time to come! OK – about the house. The positives (and there are many): There is a lot of privacy; you won’t see or hear, or be seen by, any neighbors or passers-by. There is an unobstructed, gorgeous view of the ocean and neighboring islands (St John and one of the British islands, I think) from the back porch and the guest bedrooms. The kitchen is open and airy, and fully outfitted with everything you’d need to cook anything. I like the laid back, Caribbean colors and style—it makes me feel like I’m in St Thomas rather than some anonymous hotel that could be anywhere. There’s the large pool, in which you can swim actual laps. And lots of seating and a poolside grill that worked the great the night we used it. Plenty of fins and masks, so if you go snorkeling you won’t have to rent equipment. The negatives (and there really are just a few): although the house was clean, there are some run-down areas – a few cabinets are askew, and the deck by the pool looks a little worse for wear. Also, this is not really a negative but something to be aware of. The location isn’t walkable to any beaches, restaurants, or stores. You would need to drive 10 minutes to do or get anything. This wasn’t a problem for us, since we had most of our dinners at home on the porch or by the pool. But for people who like to go out at night, or pop in during the day, this may be something to consider. All in all, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Submitted: May 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
5

Truly our home away from home!

  • 5 of 5

The best views, the nicest bedroom suites, a hugh kitchen and a beautiful pool awaits you. It take no time to fall in love with this property! Udder Delight at the end of the street is wonderful for an alcohol infused milk shake! Quiet and charming! What more would you want from paradise!

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
5

Paradise found!

  • 5 of 5

Wow! This place was incredible. We vacationed with our family ( 2 adults and 2 kids) along with another family ( 2 adults and 2 kids). Afraid of getting in the way of each other, I was quickly relieved when I saw this breathtaking property. We all had our own separate living spaces. It was perfect. There were decks that surrounded the house, so finding a peaceful place was not a problem. The sunrises and sunsets were incredible. Great place to hang out and have drinks at night too. The pool was great for those times that you wanted to hang out. The house was immaculate and very accommodating. All amenities that you could possibly need were at your fingertips. Great place to walk or run while taking in the views of Maegan's bay, St John, the British Virgin Islands and Puerto Rico...simply breathtaking. We explored a different beach daily and found that Maegan's Bay was still our favorite. So close to Fairwinds and simply breathtaking. Fariwinds was the perfect get-a-way for our family as well as for our friends. We will be making another trip soon.

  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
5

Wonderful stay in paradise

  • 5 of 5

This was the perfect place for our family and friends to celebrate Thanksgiving. My husband roasted a turkey in the nice grill that was poolside and the kitchen was the best place to prepare the rest of the meal. We had our supper on the balcony. It was spectacular. Bernard was very responsive with all our questions and requests which made our stay even more pleasant. This was a vacation that we all needed to recover from the rough year we had all just gone through. What a perfect place to enjoy family and friends and to be refreshed and renewed. After a day of shopping or going to one of the wonderful beaches it was nice to come to our island home for a nice supper or after a beautiful supper out at one of the many great dining places and have a wonderful dip in the pool. We all loved it and would do it again in a heartbeat.

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
5

Tranquility with a view

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful spot with a very private, cozy feel. You can only catch a glimpse of the neighbor’s houses from one or two spots. The view is amazing with an almost 360 degree panorama. You can watch the sunrise from the east deck and toast the sunset over the ocean from a hammock poolside on the west deck.

With 3 bedrooms and lots of extra sleeping space in the family room there was plenty of room for our 2 families. The amenities were great. The kitchen is nicer than my own- not that I did that much cooking.

Besides the great pool, we spent lots of time at Magen’s Bay which is the most popular beach on the island and featured in all kinds of travel magazines. It’s probably within walking distance if you’re in good shape but we drove- takes about 5 minutes to get there by car. The kids loved it. The gift shop rents out snorkeling equipment, floating mats etc.

Driving to downtown Charlotte Amalie for shopping was a bit of an adventure as you drive on the left in the Virgin Islands. The trip was worth it as the shopping was great.

I'd recommend this Villa for anyone.

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
  • Source: HomeAway

Map

Nearest Airport
3 Miles
Nearest Barpub
0.75 Miles
Nearest Ferry
5 Miles
St John and Tortola
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Mahogany Run Golf
Nearest Restaurant
0.75 Miles
Magen's Point Hotel
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Magen's Bay Beach
Car: recommended

Fairwinds Villa is situated on prestigious Peterborg peninsula overlooking the British Virgin Islands on the north shore of St. Thomas,USVI. It may seem a world away, yet it's only minutes from Magen's Bay Beach, golfing, shopping, fine dining, night clubs, and all the excitement of downtown Charlotte Amalie.

The Villa offers total privacy without a sense of isolation. Because your privacy is of utmost concern, there are no owner's apartments or cottages on the grounds, unlike many other rental villas.

You may never want to leave Fairwinds Villa, but when you do, you'll find all the island's activities within easy reach.

Other Activities: shopping, fine dining, aquarium, beaches, ferries, islands

Golf: The Mahogany Run Golf facility is only 5 minutes away with its challenging 'Devil's Triangle' trio of holes on the edge of the Ocean.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $400 Per night

Northside Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter 4 People
Jan 3 2015 - Apr 24 2015
Changeover Day: Saturday
5 night minimum stay
$3,700
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $18 per night, per additional guest
 
Off Season 4 People
Apr 25 2015 - Dec 18 2015
Changeover Day: Saturday
5 night minimum stay
$2,800
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $1
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 8.0%
Notes We rent Sat-Sat, but try to accomodate other arrangements. We have seasonal and off season rates for up to 2 or 4 or 6 guests and can accommodate larger families. Please go to our website, www.fairwindsvilla.com to see all our rates as the rates shown are our 4 person rate.There are Holiday rates on our website, www.fairwindsvilla.com.
50% deposit to hold dates. Balance due 90 days prior to arrival.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Northside Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beach View ...
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Town ...
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Telescope
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom - toilet , shower
    Bathroom - toilet , shower
    Hall Bathroom - toilet
    Masterbath - toilet , shower , very large 5'x8' shower with double shower heads
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom - 1 queen , 1 child bed
    Bedroom - 1 queen
  • 3 Bedroom suites: 1 king and 2 queens: each with its own full bath. 1 child bed, 1 sleep sofa, 2 cots.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Deck / Patio
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Small Cooler
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 12 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets considered ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Gourmet kitchen; toaster; microwave, cuisinart, skylights; 2500 sq ft decks; ultimate privacy; beach floats & chairs; hammocks. Honeymoons & Weddings

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote