SANIBEL SEPTEMBER SENIOR OFFER – CLAMSHELL BEACHFRONT TOWNHOUSE

Tom Bachman & Carolyn Bachman -- CyberRentals members since 1996

Speaks english
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Tom Bachman & Carolyn Bachman -- CyberRentals members since 1996

Speaks english
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

SANIBEL SEPTEMBER SENIOR OFFER – CLAMSHELL BEACHFRONT TOWNHOUSE

Sanibel Island Townhome Rental Photos and Description

- 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 4 max

From Aug 30 – Oct 4, we are offering Clamshell for rent to a senior couple (over 50s) for only $1,495 plus FL tax per week (normally $1,850+/wk.) Email us for other September offers – when you may well have the pool and 100 yards of beach all to yourselves. If you are coming to Sanibel without children and are looking for peace and quiet and your own private townhouse, then Clamshell is the perfect retreat. Clamshell sits directly on the beach, secluded amid natural vegetation with glorious sea views. We are five minutes from shops, restaurants and golf courses, but you'll never know they are there unless you want them. This quiet exclusive 6-unit complex of townhouses, with no one above or below you, boasts 300 feet of beach front. Our guests appreciate the luxury and attention to detail which Clamshell has to offer, and that is why they return year after year, (almost 90% of our rental days are with repeat renters) to the best vacation rental on Sanibel.

Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only

Tom Bachman & Carolyn Bachman -- CyberRentals members since 1996

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2004
Speaks english
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.9
based on 20 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Sanibel September Senior Offer – Clamshell Beachfront Townhouse
average rating of 4.95 based on 20 reviews
business
Sanibel September Senior Offer – Clamshell Beachfront Townhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100818
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Wet but Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
You have a wonderful vacation home. The views and beautiful scenery are well worth the visit. Your decorating is lovely, stylish yet comfy. We couldn't have asked for a better appointed kitchen and couldn't think of a thing that we needed that wasn't there.

We had a terrific and adventurous stay. Tho we had rain, we found lots of things (games/puzzles and books) to keep us occupied and very relaxed! Great family time. Shelling on Sanibel was as amazing as ever. We also took the Sanibel Trolley to a July 4th Fireworks Cruise! Highly recommend doing something like that.

We really enjoyed visiting off-season, it was so nice to visit a beach that wasn't jam packed, plenty of great restaurants. We missed going thru Ding Darling as we always enjoy that, but they were doing some road work ... a definite for next visit.

During our stay, a power transformer blew and quite a bit of the island was without power overnight, but we opened up the back doors and slept comfortably without the AC. The breeze and the sound of the waves just so close probably helped with that :-)

A beautiful vacation getaway!

Thanks,
David & Julie Van Dyke - Indianapolis
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Sanibel September Senior Offer – Clamshell Beachfront Townhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100818
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Clamshell

  • 5 of 5
We chose to stay on Sanibel Island because we wanted to relax without a lot of development around, and no high rises anywhere. We really enjoyed the island and it was a wonderful vacation. There are many good restaurants, great biking paths, Captiva is close by for more outdoor adventures such as fishing, boating, kayaking and parasailing; however, the true jewel of Sanibel is the glorious beach. It's clean, beautiful, not crowded, quiet, and the shells are completely amazing each day.

Clamshell was very close to the beach and we found its proximity to the Gulf to be exactly what we had wanted. There's a great pathway right to the beach and the owners have all sorts of good water toys in the storage room, which makes it easy to enjoy the beach every day without renting additional items.

The home we rented was very nice, well-furnished, and clean. We enjoyed every moment in it, and the owners were responsive and gracious, even allowing us to check out a few hours later than the contract stated. I'd highly recommend the Clamshell properties to you if you have a desire to stay in a comfortable, well-maintained, clean and pretty home, if you want to be next to the beach, and if you want a quiet atmosphere.

We were there with our daughter and her fiance, and there was plenty of room for two couples. We plan to return!

Sincerely, Mike and Jan Brown, Omaha, NE
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Sanibel September Senior Offer – Clamshell Beachfront Townhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100818
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Tough to come home

  • 5 of 5
Sometimes a vacation is just a time away and only occasionally it is truly an opportunity to leave mind clutter, tight neck muscles and "shoulds" behind. Clamshell does that for us.

Our unit was lovingly decorated, fully equipped and cared for. There was nothing missing. The beach, the view, the whole environment was like coming home - if we really lived on Sanibel.

I can't imagine staying anywhere else on Sanibel than Clamshell. You can relax or bike, or walk or swim or eat at lots of good restaurants. You can even cook up a storm if you should feel the inclination.

Oh and lest I forget - the stars are magnificent!
You won't want to go home either.
  • Submitted: May 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Sanibel September Senior Offer – Clamshell Beachfront Townhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100818
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

Open to the air

  • 5 of 5
We stayed at Clamshell E for a month and will be returning again next year. The condo is one of a very few on the island that has 2 levels, is connected to just one other condo, has parking directly underneath, and has a balcony open to the fresh air.



These were just some of the reasons we chose Clamshell. Because the condo is part of a small complex (only 6 condos) and flanked on either side by relatively small accommodations the beach felt very private. Accessed along a low boardwalk it was a cinch to go back and forth to the condo as needed.



The storage room underneath was stocked with a charcoal grill which we used almost nightly, a couple of working bikes (2 others needed new tires) and half a dozen very useful sand chairs and some other beach items like games and a raft.



We did some house hunting while on Sanibel but were unable anything to match the location and peace of Clamshell E. The 2 levels provided us with an option to open the entire front bank of sliders with a non removable screen facing the beach and have the living level open to the fresh air, or we could head upstairs to the large airy bedroom and sit outside on the unscreened porch to eat breakfast with a beautiful view of the Gulf.



The owners and Island Vacation staff were responsive and caring when asked to help with additional phone access so we could work from the condo, and a broken waste disposal unit respectively.



One added unforeseen bonus was the extremely friendly and helpful neighbors. We very quickly felt welcome with many recommendations for where to eat dinner to entertainment options.

We highly recommend Clamshell E.
  • Submitted: May 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately, one of the problems with staying at Clamshell for any length of time is that many of our renters want to buy something similar – only to find out that there is nothing else on Sanibel/Captiva like Clamshell. However, they are happy to book at Clamshell again for the same time next year - and we always give precedence to repeat renters. And thanks for the heads-up about the bicycles. So few owners on Sanibel provide free bicycles for renters that Island Vacations doesn’t include them on their standard check-out lists and didn’t pick up on this. Luckily there were only two of you and we provide four bicycles – and the tires on the other two have long since been fixed.
business
Sanibel September Senior Offer – Clamshell Beachfront Townhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100818
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Belgrade Lakes, Maine
5

We will return!

  • 5 of 5
This was our first stay at Clamshell "E". We were so pleased that we have signed up for the same month next year. A perfect location on a very private quiet stretch of beach. Great shelling for early morning walks. The decor of the condo is perfect for Sanible and the accomodations had everything that we could possibly need, including beach chairs,bikes, grill and even shelling nets.
  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
business
Sanibel September Senior Offer – Clamshell Beachfront Townhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p100818
Sanibel Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
New York
5

A memorable vacation at The Clamshell!

  • 5 of 5
I just want to tell you how thoroughly we enjoyed our week at Clamshell in Sanibel in a relaxing setting. The unit was clean and comfortable and the views of the ocean were perfect. Great master bedroom and the balcony was huge. We spent the week bike riding and on the beach. The unit had four bicycles along with all the beach supplies you'd need. We spent one week in August which is off season and as it turned out, our family was the only one in any of the nearby units. We felt we had a private pool and private beach to ourselves!

It was one of the best vacations we've had and would highly recommend it to any family who is considering coming to Sanibel.
  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Ft Myers, FL
Nearest Beach
1 Metres
Sanibel

'Rollers on the beach, wind in the pines, the slow flapping of herons across sand dunes,

drown out the hectic rhythms...of timetables and schedules.

The mind...begins to drift, to play, to turn over in gentle careless rolls like those lazy waves on the beach.

One never knows what chance treasures these easy rollers may toss up,

on the smooth white sand of the conscious mind.' —Anne Morrow Lindbergh.

If Anne Morrow Lindbergh's description of her time on Sanibel Island sounds enticing, Clamshell offers you probably the best vacation rental where you may enjoy a similar experience.

Other Activities: Ding Darling Nature Reserve covers two thirds of Sanibel Island

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Sanibel Island Townhome Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Low Season
Apr 26 2014 - Sep 5 2014
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,850
 
 
Sept Senior Special
Sep 6 2014 - Oct 3 2014
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,850
 
 
Low Season
Oct 4 2014 - Dec 19 2014
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,850
 
 
Christmas/New Year
Dec 20 2014 - Jan 2 2015
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$3,700
 
 
January
Jan 3 2015 - Jan 30 2015
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,850
 
 
High Season
Jan 31 2015 - Apr 10 2015
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$3,700
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$1,850
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 9.5%
Notes $1,850-$3,700 per week
Weekly rate:
$3,700/week Christmas, New Year, February until after Easter
$2,850/week Thanksgiving, January & end April
$1,850/week Low season
$1,495/week September Senior Special
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Sanibel Island Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
  • Water View
  • Beach
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Wireless Internet
  • Internet
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Water Cooler
  • Filtered Water
  • Laundry Soap
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Toilet Paper
  • Telephone
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Ice Maker
  • Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Freezer
  • Oven
  • Microwave
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , tub , shower , Walk-in shower
    Guest Bathroom - toilet , shower , Walk-in shower
    Exterior - outdoor shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Master bedroom - 1 king
    Guest bedroom - 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable
  • VCR
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • CD Player
  • Audio Tape Player
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Walkway to Water
  • Bicycles
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
Attractions:
  • live theater
Leisure Activities:
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • deepsea fishing
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • wind-surfing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surfing
  • pier fishing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
Notes:
1 king, 2 twins. Private stairs to beach, lanai, decks, pool, racquetball court, bicycles, beach towels/blankets/chairs, outside shower, ice maker, Circulon cookware, on-island management, water views from every room.
Email Owner Contact Me