LA POSTITA - ENJOY OUTDOOR ADVENTURE WITH ALL THE COMFORTS OF HOME.

Enter your travel dates

Carl F. Maxwell

Speaks english, spanish
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

LA POSTITA - ENJOY OUTDOOR ADVENTURE WITH ALL THE COMFORTS OF HOME.

Turrialba Cabin Rental Photos and Description

2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom, kitchen, decks (400 sf), trails, sleeps 4 comfortably

Explore the ancient and majestic volcanoes; arrangements for whitewater rafting is only half-hour away; take trails from the cabin and explore the Flora & Fauna on our 7 acres and protected forest beyond. Arrangements for horse back riding available nearby. It's a lovely place of peace and quiet with a magnificent view of the valley lake, rolling hills of coffee where one can relax on the deck and listen to the wind whisper through the sugar cane fields nearby. La Postita uses environmentally friendly, renewable, clean and sustainable solar/wind energy and is handicap friendly. At night the stars are brilliant with the night lights of Turrialba sparkling like diamonds.

La Postita environs: The tastefully furnished cabaña is nestled among the coffee plantations and volcanic peaks of the region. For our guests who just want some rest and relaxation-this is the place away from it all where you can walk in the peace and quiet of trails that meander though our 7-acre or just relax on the deck and enjoy the spectacular countryside and lake below.

Location & Transportation: La Postita is located a short 1 -1/2 hour drive from the national capital of San Jose. Arrangements can be made to meet you at airport and drive you to the cabin for a reasonable rate. When you arrive, a hot shower is waiting for you, and if you wish, Antonio our experienced chef, can prepare a wonderful hot meal in your kitchen.For the nature lover or lover of relaxation, this is paradise!

Note: There is no phone at the cabin, but a cell phone SIM card can be purchased at airport; chip for GPS available in-country.

Activities: It's easy access to the many natural wonders of Costa Rica-where you can explore the enormous diversity and abundance of flora and fauna including fun activities such as bird watching; white-river rafting; horseback riding; volcano hiking; ocean beaches; fishing; wildlife photography and end your day with a nice bottle of wine complimenting one of your favorite dishes or a specially prepared meal.

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible

Carl F. Maxwell

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2009
Speaks english, spanish

I was born in Alaska, grew up in Oregon, and have traveled the world as a foreign service officer for the United States Agency for International development (USAID). I am a Civil Engineer and will receive my Masters degree in Natural Resouces Sustainability in June 2013 from Marylhurst University in Oregon. We currently live in Tbilisi, Georgia of the former Soviet Union.

Carl F. Maxwell purchased this cabin in 2000

Provide a sustainable livelihood for La Postita farm employees to provide fun and safe environmental educational opportunities for visitors and the community in harmony with the natural resources and ecosystem, following the principles of the Natural Step Framework, to earn an ethical return on investment through agricultural development activities and cost-effective living facilities for visiting travelers.

I fell in love with La Postita because of it's peace and quiet and expansive view of the valley, lake, and mountains beyond. It's a place where you wake up to the sound of birds singing and feel the gentle breeze, and hear its rustling sound of the sugarcane nearby. It's so nice to sit on the deck a watch the sunset with a nice glass of Clilean wine. From here I can walk our trails or visit the tourist destination sites or take a river rafting trip. It's a lovely place to get away from it all.

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Property Reviews

La Postita - Enjoy outdoor adventure with all the comforts of home.
average rating of 2.6666667 based on 8 reviews
business
La Postita - Enjoy outdoor adventure with all the comforts of home.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250712
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

It was perfect!

  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Review by Anna of La Postita January 2014

Hello Carl, ?We are back in Montreal and it's very hard to get back to everyday life after a lovely vacation in Costa Rica. ?We enjoyed very much stay in La Postita, it was perfect, the views are wonderful, we were up before sunrise waiting for the day light, and the view, what a way to start a day, thank you very much for the stay in your house. ?Btw Antonio was very nice and very helpful. ?We had a great vacation, the weather was perfect, few days on the beach Qahuita, Punta Uva and the beach after Uva that goes forever and there is almost no body especially during the weekdays. Few days in the mountains were perfect as well, we visited the volcanoes and farms, and your house was a perfect base.
business
La Postita - Enjoy outdoor adventure with all the comforts of home.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250712
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

La Postita

  • Submitted: May 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Estimado Señor Maxwell:

Finalmente logramos acordar llegamos sin problemas a la Finca La Postita.

El lugar es maravilloso, la cabaña es preciosa. Ciertamente es como estar en casa, con todas las comodidades de la ciudad, pero metidos en la montaña, con toda la paz y la tranquilidad que solo el campo y la naturaleza dan.

Nos encantó el lugar, quedamos enamorados de la cabaña y de los alrededores, hay mucho que ver y mucho que hacer en este lugar. ya queremos volver, pero ojalá por al menos una semana. Caminamos mucho, conocimos lugares y paisajes preciosos.

Don Antonio, el administrador nos trató de excelente forma, a pesar de que todo fue con muy poco tiempo para coordinar. Es una persona muy amable y servicial. Además cocina excelente, contratamos el desayuno para los dos días que estuvimos y todo estuvo genial. Muchas gracias por la recomendación.
Estamos recomendando el lugar a nuestros amigos, que de seguro les encantará.

Mi esposo y yo esperamos volver pronto y quedarnos al menos una semana para aprovechar el lugar.

En nuestro facebook (Lucrecia Navarro, o Frank Chavarría) puede ver nuestras fotos. También le puse un link en su página de Facebook de La Postita, para que pueda usarlas como publicidad si lo desea.

Muchas gracias por compartir este hermoso lugar, realemnte nos encantó y la pasamos de maravilla en La Postita


Saludos cordiales,


Lucrecia Navarro Vargas.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
La Postita - Enjoy outdoor adventure with all the comforts of home.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250712
4

A special place that stuck with us

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
My husband and I stayed in La Postita in January 2010 for 4 nights. I looked up the listing today to recommend it to a friend, and was surprised to find a negative review.

The cabin itself is simple, but it was adequate for our stay and clean. We fell in love with La Postita for the location. This little cabin has a million dollar view. Turrialba has a lovely local market where we did most of our shopping. We enjoyed our hikes that began from the front door, and it's a great jumping off point for white water rafting. Overall, I would recommend it as a great place to decompress and relax before traveling to another place in Costa Rica. It provided us with an authentic look into Tico culture before jumping in with the throngs of tourists in Manuel Antonio and the Nicoya Peninsula.
Owner's Response: It makes me feel great that La Postita lived up to its expectations. Thank you very much. Carl Maxwell (Owner).
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
La Postita - Enjoy outdoor adventure with all the comforts of home.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250712
3

La Postita

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
La Postita is a comfortable home on a working plantation. One can watch ox teams plowing the fields from the front porch. The setting is a spectacular one and very photogenic.

It's also very remote with an approach road that would be a threat to the undercarriage of a Sherman tank. I'd suggest it for couples and small families or as a retreat site. Best to stock up on groceries and the like before your arrival. Also, don't try to locate it for the first time alone. Contact Antonio and have him lead you there.

Best to have your own vehicle (4X4) for exploring the province. Check the weather before driving to Irazu Volcano; the summit could be fogged in.

One of the best things about La Postita is that it comes with Antonio. He speaks very little English but will bust his butt for you.

Any questions, give a holler.
Owner's Response: What a great review! I like it. We are neigbors with the sugar cane fields and when they go to harvest with their big tractors and trailers they tear up the roads. We invested $6,000 in road repair and a new layer of gravel last year--that helps but as you note in the review we still have problems this time of year. Thanks, Carl Maxwell (Owner).
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
La Postita - Enjoy outdoor adventure with all the comforts of home.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p250712
south carolina
1

Not as listed

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We ended up coming home early, that's how much I disliked this place. Somethings have been changed in description but not all. NO WASHER or DRYER, NO INTERNET, NO BBQ, couldn't find toaster or coffee pot, whats the point of a garage if it's not for us to use?? Yes you need a car, this place is on top the mountain, we were the chauffeur and no staff on site, oh and guard on site? It was a dog, that surprised us!!! The place was very dirty, some type of hairs on the couch, mildew in the fridge, dirty mats, I was sick to my stomach. Yes I got a hold of owners, yes they emailed me back, but what can you do when they are thousands of miles away? What can they do when their description of place was a lie? They sent their guy out to us once I emailed them, but what could he do? Was he going to clean the place? No! Could he give me the amenities that were not available as listed? No. He did give us a laptop to use though, which we needed for my daughters online schooling. As amenities listed internet, we believed it and had our tablet to use for her schooling, but there was none and could not use it. Yes Turrialba is a beautiful place with plenty to do, but I recommend staying closer to town, NOT here!! I am sure the owner will respond to this, but NO, did not, could not take care of the situation, and can not use rental policy as an excuse as they sent me one in the beginning and then when tried to use that on me with sending me another one, they were 2 different policies. There is nothing that can be said by them to put them in the right, to them they will try to justify, but we know the truth!!
Owner's Response: We believe the problems resulted from a breakdown in communications, guest notification arrival at the last moment, and insufficient detail in the website. Upon hearing of the problems our manager, Antonio was given instructions to correct them immediately. Following are comments on the complaint items:
Coffee Pot: Our Rental policy and Agreement letter includes a statement: "including coffee maker (local: conical bag pour & drain type)."
Toaster: Our solar panels cannot support the electric load of the toaster and an alternative Toaster grill is provided for use on top of the stove.
Refrigerator: The manager informed us the refrigerator was thoroughly cleaned and ready.
Washer & Dryer: The new washer and dryer are available (in cabin #2) or as another option: to send laundry out—this is explained in our rental agreement.
Internet: The internet via a USB WiFi-type connection is provided upon request as well as a computer if one is needed.
Arrival protocol: Antonio’s cell phone number is provided to all our guests prior to their arrival and advised to contact him if any help is required.
Garage: La Postita has a one-car garage that is available for the guest vehicle.
Security: There is a guard on site with dog from sunset to sunrise, 6-days a week.
BBQ: There is a BBQ with charcoal briquettes available on site.
Main entrance mats: The mats do get dirty especially after rain showers.
Chauffeur: A vehicle with driver is available upon request as indicated in the website.
Amenities: Amenities are provided and listed in the website and agreement letter. Sometimes an item may be overlooked in an inventory check during the cabin “make ready” in preparation for new arrivals. If the staff is informed: missing items will be replaced.
DVD: This item is not available and was inadvertently checked as avilable when it should have said a “CD player” is available. Item corrected.
Rental Policy: The La Postita rental policy and agreement is a work in progress and as we learn from our tenants the policy is amended accordingly to reflect their good ideas. For example, since Home Away has recently offered a a damage insurance program, we have changed our policy accordingly. Our intent is to improve and make things easier for our guests. Any changes made after-the-fact of course would not be imposed on our guests after their deposit has been received and rental agreement letter signed.
Helpful votes: 9/11

Map

Nearest Airport
100 Kilometres
San Jose Int'l
Nearest Beach
70 Kilometres
beach
Car: recommended

Fully-equipped and furnished cabin in the hills overlooking Turrialba valley lake. Trail system. River rafting available thru office in Turrialaba. River is 30 min, drive from cabin. Bird watching (at cabin) and volcano trekking (1 hr. drive). Horse back riding can be arranged through Hotel Turrire (20 min, drive).

Other Activities: bird watching, speed walking, hiking.

La Postita can arrange through our tour partnership program to provide:

River Rafting: $ 85 per person includes transportation and Lunch on the river Pacuare, minimum 2 persons.

Canyoning and Canopy tour is $75 per person: Rappelling and descending cliffs and waterfalls within the canyon with guide will explain the course and the equipment ensuring you a safe and fun experience. No previous knowledge or experience is necessary.

Biking: Another option is the Mountain Bike in CATIE Botanical Garden; the price is $60 (Minimum 3 people). CATIE stands for, Tropical Agricultural Research and Higher Education Center. This garden is given the upmost respect from people all around the world as members work hard in preserving plant species that are not only native to Costa Rica, but tropical areas worldwide.

Please note: Tours are set up with our local partner tourist organizations in Turrialba. Prices can change as La Postita has no control on their operations.

Photos

Availability & Rates

This listing does not have a published calendar. Please contact the owner for availability.

Turrialba Cabin Rental Rates

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $20

Notes

  • A cleaning fee of $20 is additional to rental rates for less than one week stay
  • Another cabin for 4 is available at lower rate if needed. Cleaning is provided once per week and is included in weekly rental rate; a cleaning fee of $20 is additional to rental rates for less than one week stay. Pets considered with additional $10. A $100 security deposit is required to hold your reservation. Please note the deposit can be applied to the rent. Payment in full is due upon arrival. We accept cash, travelers' checks, and payment through Paypal. All deposits must be made through Paypal. Vehicle w/driver available for $50/day plus fuel. Short trips w/driver for shopping: $10.00
  • Rental is for 4 persons or less. Your deposit will be forfeited on all cancellations as a cancellation will result in a cabin sitting empty. Upon receipt of your $100 deposit, a rental agreement will be sent to your email address. Note: Rental rate for 1-person is the same as for 4-persons.

Amenities

Turrialba Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 54 m²
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain ...
  • Lake ...
  • River ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Family
General:
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Internet ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Firewood
  • Laundry Soap
  • Basic Soaps
  • Toilet Paper
  • Backpack
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Parking On Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Parking ...
Kitchen:
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Kitchen ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Stove ...
  • Freezer
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Stove
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Oven
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Dining ...
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Shower has private window with view of flowers and grounds.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 4 twin/ single , 2 Bunk beds in room can accomodate 4 persons
  • Master BR has queen-size bed. Bedroom two has 2 bunk beds (one bed above the other). Cabin 2 - Has 1 queen-size bed.
Entertainment:
  • Radio
  • Games ...
  • Books ...
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Barbecue
  • Binoculars
  • Small Cooler
  • Patio
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Balcony ...
  • 2 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible
Onsite Services:
  • Chauffeur
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • ruins
  • forests
  • botanical garden
  • rain forests
  • volcano
  • restaurants
  • churches
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • bird watching
  • sight seeing
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • equestrian events
  • rafting
  • cycling
  • freshwater fishing
  • whitewater rafting
  • fishing
  • hiking
Notes:
Coffee Maker: This is a typical Costa Rican type called a 'chorreador'--a conical shaped fabric that strains the coffee. It is put on a stand and container for coffee underneath.. Internet access: Access is through a USB WI-FI stick that connects to your computer. It does not work for Apple computers. A computer or USB Wi-Fi stick is not furnished--Arrangements for stick available in Turrialba located 30 min. away. Note: there is no T.V. or DVD--there is a CD player on the radio. Toaster is screen with handle placed on burner to toast bread.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website: